Eden Close

Eden Close

by Anita Shreve

Paperback(First Edition)

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eden Close 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading The Pilot's Wife, Where or When, and Strange Fits of Passion, all by Anita Shreve, I bought the rest of her books and started flying through them. This one in particular is a gem, with romance, murder, and a mystery that keeps you guessing and pondering until the very end.
DEVILICIOUS More than 1 year ago
Two childhood friends, on the brink of romance, find themselves there again nearly twenty years later. The undercurrents that run throughout the book add intrigue. Eden is blind a result of a tragic shooting in her teens and together they must reveal what has been hiding in the darkness all these years. While the circumstances surrounding Eden's blindness were tragic, to see one character struggle to care for another out of pure love was a pleasure and heartfelt. A lovely story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it, Loved it, Loved it! I could not put this one down! It was a page turner from beginning to end. I highly recommend it for any Anita Shreve fan. The climax of the story was not what I thought it would be at first but made absolute sense. A story within a story, splendid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great story, a page-turner, a few surprises. I think this would make an excellent movie!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an exceptional novel, particularly conveying the atmosphere of small town upstate New York over a young man's lifetime, as he reminiscences and acts in the present. The characters were very interesting, and well drawn. This is the best American novel I have read since Peter Straub's ''Ghost Story'', although different in genre, also set in upstate New York.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first book I read by Anita Shreve was 'The Last Time They Met' and I found it so intriguing that I had to read her other books. 'Eden Close' is a book that really stood out among the ones that I have read. I just found that the story encompasses so many things I had been looking for in other fiction that I have read. I look forward to other works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put the book down. In all honesty, the reason I bought it was because I had to read an outside novel for my EN 448 class and picked the book up because 'A Novel' is written on the front. Its the first book I have read all the way through without having to get an online summary. The imagery made me feel right in the story and the suspense was riveting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As I read through this book, I felt an emptyness, the author's style of writing was void of any real emotion on the part of the characters. They were like robots. They all seemed to have a sadness about them. I did like the plot and story line, but I think the author could have given this story a litle more suspense and given the events a lot more drama. The events just seemed to be too matter of factly. The story did have a good ending. I recommend this book. This is my first book by this author, maybe I just have to get used to her style of writing.
irinka87 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite Close novel, but it was a good read. Slow at times, but the plot still stayed interesting once you get past the tedious details!
RoxanneNagy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can say maybe this book is also a bit contrived, but less so than A Wedding In December and I enjoyed the characters much more. Its maybe a tad unbelievable, but the affair was lovely and the ending was uplifting. I would probably recommend this.
mazda502001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is Anita Shreve's first novel. She makes readable novels from difficult subjects - powerful reading.Back Cover Blurb:When Andrew returns to his hometown in upstate New York for his mother's funeral, he does not intend to stay. But the dreams and memories of seventeen years ago persist, and in the darkened farmhouse he relives that hot, bloody night when Eden Close was blinded - by the same gun that killed her father. Eden and Andrew had been childhood companions - smoking, fishing, skating and fighting - until the day that the tomboy turned temptress. Now Andrew is drawn again to this lost, blind girl of his youth, drawn to save her from the cruel neglect she has endured for seventeen sightless years without him. But first he must discover the grisly truth about that night.....
SilversReviews on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A little disturbing how things turn out during the entire story. It IS interesting, and you get caught up to try to find out what really happened to Eden Close to cause her to be in the circumstances she is in.My friend recommended the book...you sort of get caught up in it and need to finish it...not that it is bad and you wouldn't want to finish it, it is just a little sad.
Evynrude on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lyrical. The pace of the book surprised me, it was slow and descriptive in a very good way. This is not generally what I default to, but my mom reads a lot of Anita Shreve and I was curious and this one caught my attention.
lina_em on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
very disappointed for a southern gothic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PagesofComfort More than 1 year ago
This is the first Anita Shreve book that I've read and I have to say that I loved it! I had read a few other reviews about the book before I read it and they were pretty mixed, so I didn't know what to expect. However, I already had a copy of the book, so I figured I would give it a try rather than just let it sit on my shelves unread. I was very pleasantly surprised! I love Anita Shreve's writing style in this book, and I'm its just as good in all her others! This was such a compelling story. Something about it just made me keep wanting to read more; I could never put it down! I loved the two main characters, Andrew and Eden; they were so easy to relate with and understand. I was rooting for their relationship the entire time! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
SuseNJ More than 1 year ago
Good book but not as good as most by Shreve; more forgettable.
majorbookwormRE More than 1 year ago
this was a great book that i happened to pick up at a used book shop. anita shreve's writing will captivate you into the complex plot that is completely unpredictable. believe me, you will not be able to put this book down!! and also, considering how interesting and the fact that anita used 3rd person and bits of 1st person for Eden's voice, it would make a very good movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mariah Brown More than 1 year ago
"Lend me" has terrible quality w/ spelling errors. Lovely, haunting book, but the experience dimmed with the vast number if mistakes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago