Eating in the Light of the Moon: How Women Can Transform Their Relationships with Food Through Myth, Metaphor and Storytelling

Eating in the Light of the Moon: How Women Can Transform Their Relationships with Food Through Myth, Metaphor and Storytelling

by Anita Johnston, Ph.D.

Paperback

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eating in the Light of the Moon: How Women Can Transform Their Relationships with Food Through Myth, Metaphor and Storytelling 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you've always beaten yourself up about your apparent lack of willpower with food, this book is for you. You don't have to have a diagnosed eating disorder for this book to help. It's for every woman who's known in her heart that food and her appearance holds too much power over her. It's a beautifully written book full of eye and heart opening words of wisdom.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a female struggling with an eating disorder, I cannot even begin to put into words how much this book means to me. I truly feel that this book can help every woman that struggles with eating and body image. Anita is a wonderful guide through the recovery process, and she will provide you not only with amazing insight, but also with compassion and encouragement through the difficult process. Please read this book, I promise you will not regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I struggled with eating disorders (mainly complusive/binge) for 11 years, and in addition to psychotherapy, this book is what helped overcome it and still does when I find myself slipping. It's not about body size, weight, or a 10 step program. That's what I love about this book. Of all the books on eating disorders that I own, this was the greatest and most inspiring. Please buy this book if you or someone you love has an eating disorder of any kind- it will make the healing/ curing process that much easier and beautiful!
mroman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have read about Eating Disorders. It combines storytelling with metaphores involving women, food, weight and ones body.
the_hag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting book, quite true to its name, Johnston uses myths, metaphors and storytelling to help illustrate some of the core "problems" with women's thinking regarding food and eating habits. While I definitely do NOT have problems on the level of examples used in this book - I do not now, nor have I ever been anorexic or bulimic or had any medically treatable eating disorder...I do make "bad" food choices and eat for reasons that are not related to physical hunger...so I got a lot more out of this book that I thought I would based on the target audience alone. I am very glad to have read it...but realize that for the intended audience, this should probably be a STEP with it also being necessary to consult a doctor to really resolve the issues behind their "disordered eating." I think I've found my own "core" problem and that was largely due to the impact of a couple of the stories/myths used in the book...but the info that Johnston uses in conjunction with the myths/stories is interesting as well and very useful I think, for anyone with poor body image and/or "disordered eating" habits. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only issues is the spelling errors and organization,but it is forgivable because the content really resonated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book whether you are strugging with an eating disorder or supporting someone who is. The stories are new and rich with metaphore that applies to ALL OF US. It is a wonderful bridge for opening the heart and being authentic about a disorder that is still a "secret" for many who experience it. As with all addictions, it is never only about the addiction. It is about going deep and feeling your experiences. These wonderful metaphores make it easy to open discussion about the subject. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The easy-to-read book has helped to transform the way I see myself, inside and out. Wonderful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emi13 More than 1 year ago
Johnston's book really is what it says - a mixture of myths & storytelling. Its focus on the feminine mystique and experience definitely won't be for some readers, but it would still be an interesting read for many. The stories are intriguing, and once you do find a story that stands out, it does lead on a journey of some self-exploration as you try to find out why that story became a focus for you. Unfortunately, at some points the organization is confusing, leaving you to wonder why this story fits in with this chapter's topic. It seemed as though she was trying to find some place to fit the story & just stuck it anywhere it could possibly make sense, even by a long shot. I did like the stories, however, so I didn't mind too much. It was just hard to let the story speak to you when you were trying to figure out what the story was supposed to say, since the chapter's title obviously wasn't really on topic. For anyone working with those with disordered eating, it's a good book to have in your repertoire. It's not very didactic, which makes it easier for some to pick up. Overall, a good book that I would recommend to a friend, but with the caveat that it does have a very strong mystical, feminine component.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
An absolute must for the woman who struggles with disordered eating. Wonderfully written. A book that can really hit close to home....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eating in the Light of the Moon is an inspiring, creative, and gentle book that I highly recommend for ALL women,of all ages, not just women with disordered eating. I also recommend this book for parents raising daughters. We need more resources like this...Hopefully Dr. Johnston will continue to offer her insight to us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book supplied the inspiration necessary to break free of an eating disorder. It is truly incredible how the author weaves modern issues into traditional stories. This book is a must for anyone struggling with an eating disorder, body dissatisfaction, or anyone who knows someone with these issues.