The Russians Are Coming, the Russians Are Coming!

The Russians Are Coming, the Russians Are Coming!

Director: Norman Jewison Cast: Carl Reiner, Eva Marie Saint, Alan Arkin

DVD

$19.12 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.12, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Russians Are Coming, the Russians Are Coming! 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only 20 years old, and maybe a little unusual in my appreciation for history, but I have always adored this movie, even when I was younger than 10. Not only is it one of the funniest movies I have ever seen, but it's so incredibly human and touching. The actors, whether they actually learned Russian or spoke lines phonetically, speak amazingly well, far surpassing many attempts at foreign language in other movies. Not only is the movie enjoyable, it is so believable, and quite an astounding statement to be made during the Cold War. It was based on a book called ''The Off Landers,'' next on my reading list if I can find a copy. If only modern movies could be half as good as this wonderful film, I would stop wishing I was born into the wrong era.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
we grew up with this film, we introduced it to our children at a young age and now they request it for birthday & Christmas gifts. Great acting by all. Jonathan Winters and Ford are too funny.
Happy_Gardner More than 1 year ago
For those of us that remember drills at school of ducking under desks in case of attack by those bad Russian Communists, this movie hits the spot. Not intellectual, but fun to watch with the family. For what it's worth, even the Russian spoken in the movie is really quite good linguistically (including some swear words:^) And there's nothing like a happy ending. Alan Arkin, Brian Keith and Jonathan Winters are great in this.
DrGuam More than 1 year ago
My family lived next door to a movie theater for several years and this was one gem of that era that I have never forgotten. A few times in the intervening decades I've had the chance to see this and tried to never miss it. Now that I have a copy I can laugh again and again at will. If you can find my 'Aunt Olga' (a Russian speaking family friend) she will happily sit with you and translate the Russian if see doesn't break down laughing hysterically! The townspeople dealing with their own private invasion, Brian Keith trying to keep a lid on the chaos you know is coming, and Jonathan Winters, well being himself all are just incredibly effective humour. Watch with friends and be prepared to watch it again! A cold war classic that for all the right reasons ranks alongside Dr. Strangelove!! A must have for film buffs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Truly one of the funniest movies ever made. You can't help but laugh at a film that makes so much fun of the human condition. Of course, this is much funnier to someone like myself that remembers the cold war; it makes the situation of a Russion submarine stuck on a sandbar of a New England island just that much more hilarious. Carl Riener, Paul Ford, Brian Keith, Jonathan Winters, and of course, Alan Arkin are all in top form. When you look up the word ''comedy'' in my dictionary, there's the poster to this film.
sadie_leona More than 1 year ago
Have you got a few extra hours? No? Then make some time. Watch this movie! Inexplicably hilarious. Takes a bit to get going, but it gets there!
pjk9999 More than 1 year ago
A great cast and plot that moves well, and takes you for a great ride. It is hard to find a real villian in this film, though there are one or two. A bit dated, but a comedy that the whole family can watch. A real blast for the babybommers who lived through these times. Hard to believe it was made during the cold war. Just a fun one day romp on a small island getaway. Not a deep movie, just a fun one to watch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I lived through the cold war and this movie captures its insanity and silliness with no apologies and none necessary. I loved it then and I love it now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the funniest movies ever made.
Guest More than 1 year ago
no subtitles for when the men who are talking russian want happen that part was to be subtitle,, in overall it is a funny movie but disappointing that when the men talked russian you had no Idea want was said and I think that part would have been good to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is one of the best movies i have seen. The humor is second to none, and the quirky small town could be anywhere and anytime in recent history. Everyone will remind you of someone you know. A must see!