Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Director: Alfonso Cuarón Cast: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 323 reviews.
Mhathair More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite, so far, of the movie series. The characters really develop nicely and I became endeared to Sirius Black and the injustice that life had dealt him. I am a big fan of the series, you really can't go wrong with any of these great adaptations from J.K. Rowling's books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film was by far the most well-done adaptation of any book from the "Harry Potter" series. The artistic vision of Alfonso is truly breath-taking, and makes the halls of Hogwarts seem so ancient. The movies before this one were an exact copy of the book, with lack of vision or creativity. They were just like watching the book. Yes, I realize that some details were left unnoticed, but J.K. Rowling wouldn't have let that happen if she didn't think it was crucial for explanation. Think about that. I cannot say enough about how truly amazing this film was, but it will always remain the best movie of the "Harry Potter" series.
bookhag More than 1 year ago
the best film of the series if you ask me. 
sadia465 More than 1 year ago
i thought this books was amazing and i thought the movie was fantastic..yeah they left some stuff out and they changed up the timings but overall it was a great movie and couldnt stop going back to that one scene where peter pettigrew was revealed. best part of the book and movie. i honestly loved it despite the comments below . and yes i am a die hard hp fan. im not complaining. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maddymtd More than 1 year ago
i love it..... there is just something about the way gary oldman just is such a good pick!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i thought the cinematography of this movie was awesome. harry, ron, and hermione are growing up and this movie is definately portraying just that by eliminating the storybook feel from the previous two movies. although some key parts from the book were left out, i think that one must watch this movie with a clean slate. an open mind is needed to enjoy the movie to its entirety, so i recommend watching the movie rather than waiting for things to happen. can't wait for the hbp!
Guest More than 1 year ago
O.K. The first two SUCKED! i am in love with the books (HP is my favorite book series). The biggest problem with them was their director, Chris Colombus. He was a slave to the books which might not be bad for some people, but was painful for me. Film adaptations, while being an interpretation of a pre-conceived story, do not have to be slavenly beholden to that which they interpret. The film and the book are two different art forms. Therefore, do in books what works for books (every detail meticulously laid out and described), but do in movies what works for movies (changes to make the plot more palatable visually, excitement, visible emotion,etc). Chris Colombus did exactly the opposite of what I have described. with the change in director, however, the Harry Potter movies have begun to take on a life of their own, and are beginning to resemble the cleverly disguised mature works of fiction that the books are. Prisoner of Azkaban was fraught with mystery and terror, and had those little sparks of emotion that make the books so special. All in all, this is the first good Harry Potter movie