Gladiator

Gladiator

Director: Ridley Scott Cast: Russell Crowe, Joaquin Phoenix, Connie Nielsen

DVD

$12.27 $12.99 Save 6% Current price is $12.27, Original price is $12.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gladiator 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 182 reviews.
kenKV More than 1 year ago
The movie is good.  I give five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
joet37382013 More than 1 year ago
Best Russell Crowe Action Movie Ever
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Never saw this all the way expect here and there. Finally saw the whole thing. Acting was at times over the top but still good. Setting and soundtrack was also good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this movie, I saw it three times when in came out in the theaters, and I hope I get it for Christmas. The fight scenes were excellent, and Crowe gives a great performance in this movie. Recomended Movie: Soon to come out in theaters is Crowe's new movie 'Proof of Life', it looks just as good...
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a history teacher, I was absolutely enthrolled by this film. Whether totally historically accurate who can say? No one ever knows for sure. But the fact that one is made aware of the brutally of the age, the opening battle scene depicting the Roman legions in their waning era against Germanic tribes, and the special effects of the Colliseum scenes make this an essential viewing experience for the person interested in the intrigue and collusion of the Roman Empire.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you own a home theater, you must have this double DVD set! An exceptionally fine DVD transfer and many extra features make Gladiator a spectacle that you can enjoy in your home over and over again. And what a spectacle to behold! As a film, Gladiator is outstanding in every respect. Period pieces have always been extremely difficult for directors to film because it is such a challenge to create a period piece that is convincing enough to immerse the audience in that time period. However, hats off to Ridley Scott, who is obviously a genius at directing this kind of film. His directorial talent shines through by masterfully crafting a film that catapults us into the Roman Empire in all of its splendor, glory, and political corruption - on the grandest scale imaginable. For the entire length of the movie we actually LIVE in the Roman Empire and experience the entire spectrum of emotions that go along with living life in that time. It't like taking a ride back in a time machine. But the greatness of the film itself is not the only reason you should buy this DVD. What really makes Gladiator a ''must have'' are all of the extra features. The second DVD is chocked full of amazing extras. Several major scene cuts with Ridley Scott's comments about why the scene was cut presents the viewer with over 10 minutes of amazing extra footage of this fabulous film! Also, ''The Making of Gladiator'' helps us to understand the immensity of the task of crafting this epic movie. The sets, costumes, and grandeur of the whole thing was so awesome that it completely overwhelmed the actors themselves! Finally, ''Gladiator Games: A Roman Blood Sport,'' helps us to realize the raw intensity and finality of man-to-man gladiatorial combat in the Roman Empire. This best explains the popular saying, ''no points for second place.'' I guarantee you, for the small price you pay, this DVD will bring you, your family, and your friends hours and hours of enjoyment! You won't be sorry you bought this DVD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I havn't seen the extended version, but the original is one of the best movies ever(It's in my personal top two and gaining)! It is an epic that deserves to go down in history beside Beowulf, The Song of Rolland, etc. Russle Crow is at his best with a performace that makes even the toughest movie goer misty-eyed. The plot is beautiful and uplifting, with a hero you root for and a villan that is one of the best(aka most evil) ever to grace the silver screen. The characters are consistant, never lapsing into goofy moments. I could say more about it but this review would get too long.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A remarkable film for the action genre. It develops its characters in a way that is very subtle for this type of genre. Marcus Aurelius, played by Russell Crowe, is an historically inaccurate portrait, but this fictionalized version of him is more fascinating. Great battle scenes and the perfect foil of Joaquin Phoenix makes this film irresistible. Don't forget the animals!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you watch the Insider starring Al Pacino and Russel Crowe and then watch Gladiator you will instantly understand how well Russel Crowe can act. This movie is also entertaining even though it is on the violent side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great action and emotion. Many of the weapons and armour historically accurate while the story line is not. Do not try to learn history from this movie. However, if you enjoy great action, a good story of love, passion, honory, and bravery, then this is a movie for you. The sets are wonderful and the action scenes intense.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Definitively another good film delivered by Ridley Scott, enjoyable of course but as always with a profound sense of humane nature and father-son relations, a constant in Scott's films Actors are excellent perhaps certain overacting in the emperor's character. Rome's reconstruction is a plus
Guest More than 1 year ago
Almost everything about this movie is just plain wrong. Commodus reigned for 12 years, and he did not die in the arena at the hands of a slave. The Roman Army is all wrong. The equipment, standards, tactics, etc etc etc are all wrong, wrong, wrong! The Praetorian Guard looks like Darth Vader's shoe-shine boys. Commodus does paperwork while wearing armour. The outfit his sister wore was not Roman at all, nor was it correct for the time period. Roman officers wear battle-dress and armour while lounging around at a party. I mean, COME ON you guys!!! This was just so badly done, I find myself beating my head against the wall at all these reviewers who don't know any better. If you're going to make a Roman movie, PLEASE consult Roman Reenactors and USE thier knowledge!! The sad thing is that this movie could have been so much better. But the movie isn't TOTALLY wrong, there was an Emperor Commodus and he was a real lecherous, nasty S.O.B. who loved the games. The only reason I didn't give it a single star is that the fight scenes were good and the special effects were great. But who cares about historical correctness, let's give it five stars because we're woefully ignorant! This movie is very disappointing, as well as that other travesty of a film, 'The Patriot'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Outstanding movie with terrific action scenes and rich historical content. Truly a classic ! Russell Crowe plays the part to perfection. The initial battle scene and the ''team effort'' in the Coliseum just blew me away !
Guest More than 1 year ago
Superb expierience within the coliseum!