Eragon

Eragon

Director: Stefen Fangmeier Cast: Michael A. Mehlmann, Ed Speleers, Tamás Deák

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eragon 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 114 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It may not be anything like the book but the purpose is to entertain us and this movie did its job. It is in fact a great movie to watch! I can not wait until its out so i can buy this movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 8 yo loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must say that if you have never read the series, this is very enjoyable. The acting is good as well as the special effects. As a fan of the series though, I was expecting a lot out of this movie, and I was a bit disappointed. They got the majority of the plot points but left out crucial ones that would have to know if they were to make the next movies and others they failed to elaborate (Angela's scenes and the prophecy). Plus, Galbatorix, frequently shown in the movie was not even described to us until the last half of the fourth book. They left out Elva, who helps drive the series in book 2 to the end, and they got the location and death of Brom wrong while forgetting to introduce to us a main character: Orik and another important character Jeod.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FallOutBoySucksForever More than 1 year ago
this movie is amazing and i wish they made the rest of the books into movies because i seriously enjoyed this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
SMeyerSucks4Life More than 1 year ago
this movie diffrs from the book but i love how they made it they should have made eldest and the other two books into movies as well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the worst waste of film ever created! It completely tarnished the original story because it changed the plot of the book, resulting in an absolute horrific abomination that will stain the reputation of the film industry forever. The script was very poorly edited and did not stick to the book's plot. The overall film was way too short and did not give the audience a prolonged sense of excitement that an average film would give. Also, John Malkovich did not give the best impression of being Galbatorix, who was considered to be the greatest evil in the whole series while the guy who played Durza gave a more convincing evil demeanor. The acting was also terrible despite the fact that the film had an all-star cast. They should completely redo the movie so that they get it right next time, but Mr. Paolini does not lift a finger to make the movie as it should have been. I would highly recommend the books, but not this movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just like most fans of the book...I was angry at how different the movie was than the book. To hammer home the point...a lot of sub-plots were either changed or deleted altogether. To a point, the similarities between the book and movie are a boy named Eragon and a dragon named Saphira. However, if you can detatch yourself from the book and watch the movie for the movie it is pretty cool. Movies rarely - if ever - live up to their book, why should this one be different? If you want to "see" the book, then re-read it...I have - many times - and still enjoy it...but don't blame the movie. The movie is not the book and the book is not the movie. My final stand = good movie, better book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mendra More than 1 year ago
The acting was terrible, the plot was stupid, an they totally changed everything that was in the book. Well, except that there was a boy who rescues a dragon. Plus, Saphira looks somewhat like a giant blue chicken. The book, however, is amazing. So just forget the movie, read the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The sword fighting and the fighting scenes were fantastic!!!! They were fast and interesting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film shamed its source material, I came out of Eragon with great joy. But that was the book. I came out of the movie with the feeling of indigestion and the notion that I was a very pretty girl. This is the effect bad movies have on you. I was really very surprisd at how much I hated this film. It had Oscar winning and nominated actors, some good CGI, and a great story, what went wrong? The trailor. Trailors can be decieving. This movie only looked good because the trailor included every good part in the movie. Everything that wasn't in the trailor basically sucked. Don't buy it. Rent it only if your a die hard Paolini fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was so good and the movie was so rushed! I didn't even think that the characters followed the same personalities as in the book. And things were different and weird, like with Arya! What's up with that?? Some parts were the same but overall I was really disappointed. I guess if I hadn't read the book then maybe my opinion would be different, but to anyone who read the book and is a die hard fan, I'm not sure they should see it. I was yelling at the TV before Roran even left!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have never read the book, Eragon was just barely an OK movie. The special effects were impressive, but the acting was very wooden and two dimensional. If you have read the book, this movie will be a huge disappointment. The plot had very little to do with the book, other than a boy finds a dragon that hatches. Many things about the plot were changed - they even changed the reason that Galbatorix has his black dragon within the first five minutes of the movie, and there was no reason to change that. I can understand leaving some things out of a movie from the book, because movies would be five hours long if everything was included, but that does not excuse rampant altering of the storyline. Do yourself a favor and just read the book instead of wasting your money on the movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this movie and i do hope they decide to make a sequel. I never read the book, but the movie was definetly enjoyable. It ws fast paced wich i thought was great, alot of movies today tend to run for hours on the first scenes. I do not how the book was but, the movie was definetly good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was amazing. The movie, personally I hated it. It didn't follow the story line at all. Of course, its a must-see for all Eragon fans, but it is disappointing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was So pumped About going to see the movie but after I got out of the theater I was like why did I pay money to see that horrible addaptaion of the book. I love the books but don't waste a dime on the movie. YUCK!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was without a doubt, one of the worst movies i have ever seen in my entire life. It was nothing like the book, the fight scenes were lame as well as the acting, and it totally bit off of LOTR.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked the movie, but it did skip a lot of things that they shouldn't have. The acting was fine, and I loved the special effects. Over all I liked the movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would have to say I was very disappointed with the movie. That fact that it rushed through and skipped some of the most important parts was horrible. The worse thing was some of those parts were supposed to set up something for the next book. Like Eragon getting the wound on the back and Murtagh apparently being dead. However, ERagon is Eragon and as a die hard fan of the book I would still get the movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a fan of the Eragon novel, and the Inheritance Cycle, but this movie was a horrible adaption to a great book. Sure the fighting is decent, and the visuals are pretty good, but that's about all. They changed way to much from the book, making it nearly impossible to make a good sequel. In my opinion they need to try making Eragon again, then get going with the rest of the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
They really should have stuck to the book a little bit better. They left out Katrina, which I think was a vital character in the beginning. I enjoyed it, though. The part where Saphira grows up in, like, five seconds is a little out there, but hey, that's what they did. I also think they left out quite a bit, which considering the length of the picture, wasn't at all necessary. It was good. I would have loved it, I'm sure, if I wasn't expecting it to live up to the book. Overall it is well worth seeing.