Drop Dead Fred

Drop Dead Fred

Director: Ate de Jong Cast: Phoebe Cates, Rik Mayall, Marsha Mason

DVD

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Drop Dead Fred 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
goodgirl2 More than 1 year ago
a cute movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting for this to come to dvd for quite a while! Will order today, has been one of my absolute favorite movies of all time. Is perfect for anyone, no matter what age.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like the other reviewers, I loved this movie. But I don't think it IS a comedy--yes, it has funny bits, but it's not about schizophrenia for laughs. It's about Multiple Personality Disorder. The bad mom is not just bad, she is abusive (although the movie wisely plays that fact lightly so you can focus on survival, not what messed Lizzie up). Carrie Fisher is especially good as a truly helpful friend who understands what Lizzie must do to move from surviving to thriving. I saw this movie, by the way, with a therapy group for women survivors of child sexual abuse. We laughed, but not a lot. There is much more to this movie than most reviewers seem to know, especially the commercial (as opposed to viewer) reviewers, who seem to think it is kind of dumb. Not so! Beyond heartwarming, it is truly therapeutic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I watched this movie in my early twenties and fell in love with it immediately. It is a touching story about re-discovering your self, almost a re-coming of age movie. Elizabeth's battle with low self-esteem is fought on a subconscious plane aided by her outrageous imaginary friend. He says and does the things that she may think of doing, but is too fearful to do. The over the top way that these funny, yet destructive scenes are played out are representative of the exaggerated way surpressed emotions will often surface and present themselves in passive-aggresive acts of rebellion. All this deep psychological undertone is played out in a ridiculously funny manner, which while touching the heart, heals with it's humor. I just introduced my 10 year old daughter to the movie and was surprised by her reaction when it was over. It is the same reaction that I had to it in 1991. "I miss Fred! Can we watch it again and again and again?" She started to cry because the movie has to go back on Thursday. (It's now Sunday) So we are buying it. It's a great movie to watch when life is crushing down on you and you feel overwhelmed and afraid to be who you are. It's a beautiful film, hidden behind a caliope of the colorful and ridiculous, in much the same way as Frank L. Baum's Wizard of Oz, only much sharper.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Phoebe Cates is a very good reason to watch - mostly cause of looks. But, she also plays a good foil to Rik Mayal's outrageous character's pranks. Message about growing up with enough little child left in all of us to make adulthood still fun! Carrie Fisher is in it too. Buy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Drop Dead Fred is a funny movie It proves that you can have an imangery friend that will alaways be there for you Elizabeth is the only one who can see Fred but she soon has to move on Now Mikey Buns a friend of Elizabeth has a daughter Natalie who has Fred as her imangery friend
Guest More than 1 year ago
its the best movie i have ever seen, and thoose who havent seen it should.!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the funniest yet heart warming movies of all time. A true classic about the need for childhood imagination in dealing with your problems be you a kid or an adult. Rik Mayall gives Jim Carrey and Robin Williams a run for their money in being the funniest comedian on this planet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is funny, great, happiness,lovable, and laughter.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just saw this movie for the first time after hearing about it from a friend. It is halarious! i recommend this movie to anyone who needs a good laughing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is awesome. It was forever since i have seen it,but i just saw it again. I would say this is one of THE BEST movies out there
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this movie because I used to watch when i was younger. It is a really good movie and it is hilarious. It is a little boring though in the begining
Guest More than 1 year ago
yeah, there aren't enough stars to give this movie. i'm pretty sure it deserves about 10-a million. yeah. rock my face.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fred rulz! There is NO better movie out there. I saw it when I was little... just saw it again. I laughed my butt off both times. It's definitely a favorite; Fred is so cute!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i saw this movie eight years ago, but my roommate and i had a really good conversation about it tonight, when we should've been doing our homework. i like kool-aid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been watching this movie since it has come out and it gets better every time I watch it. This is the most amazing movie for any kid or adult for that matter to watch. Pheobe Cates and Rik Mayall are the perfect duo. I totally recommend this movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED DROP DEAD FRED! IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE. It's soooooo funny. You will laugh through the whole movie, the worst part is at the end its sooooooo sad ! but i think everyone should go out and buy or rent this movie ....u wont regret it
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is one of the greatest of all times! it reminds me of my childhood and my imaginary friend Bob!! If yuo havent seen it buy it or rent it. It's great and full of laughs! (SNOTFACE)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this movie. I just saw it recently for the first time with a friend who used to watch it every day when she was little. This movie is true and funny and super sweet. The only part I don't like is the way it ends..DDF shouldn't be passed around to a whole bunch of kids...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Drop Dead Fred is now the most popular movie of its time! It made 999.9 Million dollars on its first day!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Drop Dead Fred is a great movie. I watch it almost every day. There are happy, sad, and funny parts. The only thing I don'tlike is How Elizabeth's mom treats her. I love how Fred isn't afraid of her.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Love Drop Dead Fred because it reminds me of the funtimes that I had in my Childhood. Even though I do not remember having an Imginary friend when I was little. What I did not care for in Drop Dead fred is the way that Elizabeths mom treated her.