Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb

Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb

Director: Stanley Kubrick Cast: Peter Sellers, George C. Scott, Sterling Hayden

VHS

View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first saw Dr. Strangelove in the local movie theater when it was released in 1964. I was eight years old, and I thought I didn't understand what was going on, because I didn't think grownups made movies like this. Since then I've come to realize that Dr. Strangelove is the greatest black comedy of all time, lampooning the paranoid anti-Communism and the repressed sexuality of America of 1950s and early 1960s. But strangly enough, the film also pays admiring tribute to the SAC bombers and crewmen that it satirizes. It also has one of the great iconic moments in all of cinema history, when Slim Pickens rides down the H-bomb like a rodeo bull.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stanley Kubrick's classic 1964 satire on militarism and the Cold War specifically. So close to the reality of the time that the humor of the movie lies more in how closely it reflects the political and military thinking of the Cold War: hence the satire. Sterling Hayden delivers an impeccable performance as General Jack D. Ripper, the psychotically paranoid Air Force general who orders a preemptive nuclear strike by a B-52 squadron on the U.S.S.R. Peter Sellers is brilliant in his triple role as the U.S. President, Dr. Strangelove, and Mandrake. George C. Scott also tops the cake in his over-the-top caricature of the Pattonesque General Buck Turgidson. It's hard to describe all of the nuances of this film on such a short review: you have to see it for yourself. Although the film will certainly have more of an impact on those who are old enough to remember the Cold War and all its tensions: there's a universal message in this satire that isn't bound to just that period of time. As a side note, this film isn't far from the truth as the Soviets had, by 1964, indeed developed a doomsday device. Under Stalin's rule, the USSR was planning to dock several grounded tanker ships filled to the decks with nuclear material. The ships would automatically detonate and consume the earth in radiation once they detected a level of radiation that could only be present as a result of nuclear war. Horrified by the possibility of accidents and human error, Nikita Kruskev ordered the project scrapped and it was never implemented.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mmmm... that's good satire. What can I say? This is the epitome of ironic commentary on just about everything wrong with militarism, government, power, and people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
DR. STRANGELOVE is one of the greatest satirical movies ever made on any subject. It raises some very frightening questions which are still pertinent. Is it possible for one mad general to trigger World War III and a nuclear holocaust? Are there any idiots in positions of power at the pentagon? At the time the film was released in 1964 the Cuban missile crisis was very much in the public consciousness and an affirmative answer to the above questions seemed possible. Hopefully there have been enough safeguards put in place to prevent any such catastrophes from ever taking place. In a movie filled with stellar performances Peter Sellers manages to stand out. He plays three very different roles as the former Nazi scientist Dr. Strangelove, a British officer and the American president. Pay attention because you may not recognize him as President Merkin Muffley. In the role of Captain Lionel Mandrake he serves as an aide to Brigadier General Jack D. Ripper. Sterling Hayden is brilliant and hilarious as the insane Ripper who launches his bombers for a nuclear strike against Russia. Slim Pickens is superb as the hawkish Kong who pilots the B-52 which manages to penetrate Russia's air defenses. The film received Oscar nominations for Best Picture, Best Director (Stanley Kubrick), Best Actor (Peter Sellers) and Best Adapted Screenplay. The competition for awards was intense in 1964 with MY FAIR LADY winning the Oscar for Best Picture.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I rented this film once, and I have to say it is one of my all time favorite classics. ITs one of Stanley Kubricks all time greatest films. The story was really good, and it was a great satire on the cold war. Peter Sellers does a fantastic job at acting in three roles. It has some of the greatest movie lines of all time. Well, thats all I have to say about this, so watch it as soon as possible.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is just one of several memorable quotes from this spectacular comedy! Where do I begin the writing, casting, direction, editing, and cinematography are all first rate. Peter Sellars should of won an academy award for playing 3 parts and George C. Scott is unbelievable for playing General Turgidson (even better than Patton). All the other supporting actors are also superb. Do not miss renting/owining this movie!!!
Dave-BN More than 1 year ago
Came within 2 days of placing the order online. The Criterion DVD came complete with a plethora of bonus features, a stylized booklet on the movie, and the marvelous film itself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stanley Kubrick's best. Peter Sellers best too (along with the Pink Panther stuff).  George C Scoot is great also.  The movie and humor hold up today better than a lot of flicks this old.  Strangely relevant today, not so much from the earth annihilation thing but the ridiculous power spanking conflicts and fear that still exist between cultures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The film Dr. Strangelove is about a nuclear war. The nuclear war took place during the Cold War period. This movie shows how the government of the United States and the Soviet Union are trying to create a war filled with hatred and pure destruction. The film also goes to show how the scientists and the generals are creating weapons that can be used in this war. The Soviets also created a specific weapon, which will destroy the world if they should be attacked. When my professor first put this film on and I saw how the film was completely in black and white, my first thoughts were “this movie is going to be so boring.” I honestly began to think that I was going to be falling asleep throughout the film, but I was wrong. The film kept me on my toes throughout the entire film and had my full attention during the entire movie. I did not think a movie about war could ever be portrayed in a comical way. It also seemed strange to me that a war film, which is so horrifying was turned into a good comical movie. Not a lot of movies are able to take such a deadly serious subject and position it with comedy. This movie turned war into a laughing matter, but it wasn’t in a bad way. As soon as the movie began, I could not stop laughing. I definitely think I could watch this movie on various occasions and honestly enjoy it each time without getting bored or tired of it. The movie is filled with so many funny parts that I can't even begin to mention them all. There were also many good parts in the movie and I don’t think I could pick out a favorite. From the scene in the “war room” and in the bomber plane there are many unforgettable scenes. The actors are also what made this movie fun and easy to watch. The characters were all great, everything was just excellent. I can honestly say I don’t have one bad comment about this movie. The humor was outstanding as well as the acting and I enjoyed it fully. I don’t think this movie will never feel outdated or too “old fashioned” to watch. Forty years from now, I think this movie will be hilarious and just as good as it is now. The movie gives an excellent insight about the absurdities of war and politics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago