The Drifters

The Drifters

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.51 $18.00 Save 8% Current price is $16.51, Original price is $18. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Drifters 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For anyone wanting to understand life in the counter culture world during the Viet Nam conflict this is a must read . The discriptions of the locations and the attitudes of the characters are incredible . I know because I spent two and a half years in Europe during that time . This is by far the best book written of that time period .
Guest More than 1 year ago
James A Michener goes to many places in this book and has a wide variety of characters to get interested in.Michener describes how the draft dodgers of the 60's were compared to the underground railroad.He tells much about different lands,cultures and events throughout europe.He covers everything from drugs, to wealthy women , to airplane mechanics who all develope a friendship in their travels, and Michener deffinatly keeps it interesting by switching up who is actually narrorating the story.'The Drifters' is a great book to get into, even though it seems like a huge book at first, but as soon as you start reading you are never bored with the actions taking place in the drifters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This an awesome book. Michener did a fantastic job writing this book. If you like adventure you should definitely read this one. It's also great for young adults or college students. With every new character introduced it brings the book more alive. Each new character brings the story together. Each adventure they take makes you want to be there with them. With each turn of the page, the excitement builds. If you want to read a book and live it read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After nearly two decades of non-reading, I have rediscovered Michener. I originally read this novel in 1980 (or was it '79?). I was a sailor aboard a submarine going to the Mediterranean. This book influenced my life --- I bought a backpack and did a quick two-week jaunt around parts of Europe. Two years later; when getting out of the Navy, I bought my own ticket to Europe, and backpacked for a month. This book truly opened up some new and awesome experiences for me. I am indebted to Mr Michener for that. I truly enjoy his storytelling 'style' and the way he weaves his made-up characters into historical times and settings.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was unsure about this book because I grew up after the time period. However, Michener came through again. Six 'lost' young people in 1969 come together. They all have their problems and their own identity questions. Michener gives us plenty of reasons why we should and should not care about these people. This book is not thematic in approach (like The Source and Chesapeake). Still, Michener reminds us that throughout history young people have had trouble realizing who they are and what they stand for. A bit slow at first as Michener brings his characters together. In the end I did not want to put this book down and I never wanted to finish this book because it was too good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lived the years in which this book was written. I so enjoyed the story. Obviously there was a lot of research done by Mr. Michener on the book before it was written. The books are long but well written. There is history within the storyline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. James Michener does an incredible job. The charactar development and the story itself is fascinating. This book makes me want to pack my bags and go on an adventure. I would reccommend this book to anyone who likes adventure.
Siobhon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I first read this book when I was 14, in the 70's and I love it even though I cried at the end.(I cried at the end because it was THE END) Gretchen, Joe, Cato, Britta, Yigal and even Monica were my friends, I loved them and hated them, I wanted to be there with them, one of them....and then the book ended and my friends were gone.I started reading it again twice more but never finished...I know the end, I know my friends will be gone, and...times have changed, eh. BUT this book sits taped together on my bookshelf, although I'll never read it again, because when I was 14 this book moved me in such a way that no other book had done before.If you are a child of the 60's and/or the 70's I highly recommend reading this book.
Iudita on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this book because I thought it really captured the essence of the time.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Didn't much care for this Michener effort. Not the typical Michener historical fiction novel.
jpsnow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Different from the model of his other works I've read, what I like is that it really gave a balanced, in-depth portrayal of a generation before me (or more properly, the extreme members of it). The aging narrator also gave some personal insight into Michener.
rampaginglibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
James Michener does hippies--in a nutshell. I wanted to love this book~it being Michener~me being a born again, wannabe hippy. Michener wasn't a hippy though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Babysoft More than 1 year ago
Spellbound.  Hated when it was over.  Have always wanted to travel to Toremollinoes, Spain since reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great novel for any Michener fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Drifters is a very interesting tell of six people that meet up, and go on an adventure. For myself I really didn't like the book too much, because I would get lost during the book. Then I would understand later on in the book. When following the six characters I would get mixed up, and just confused, so I didn't enjoy reading this book. On the otherhand, the book is an interesting tell of these six character. The book is long, and can go on for something of less importance along the way. I would recommended this book to someone who enjoys adventure, and a complex book dealing with many people and situations to keep track of.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Drifters is an awesome journey of a group a kids who 'find' themselves by running away from home. For the most part I enjoyed the book. I learned a lot about the precious time of the late sixties that I never knew of before. I recommened this book to anyone who wants a free trip to Europe. This book however is long and can wander around a little. But for the most part it is an awesome book and I would personally recommend it to anyone who is the mood for adventure, and history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for somebody who enjoys reading about adventures. It follows 7 people on journies through Europe and Africa. It has a great story line and evaluates key issues of the 1960's and 70's. If anyone is looking for a book that has actual issues mixed with adventure and struggle, this is the book for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a good book, very adventurous. This book is about seven people who roam around the world. They are kept up in dreams, pleasure, and drugs. I recommend this book to everyone. This book is exciting and keeps you interested throughout the whole story with all the different characters and their different personalities. The story is so alive. You would never know that it is non-fiction.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The drifter was a good book i thought it was a little long and drawn out ,but for the most if you like a book where you can get to know your character before the journey start it a great read ,and if you like to learn about other places and different time periods of this world. The best part for me was it was about young adult like my self.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like this book becuase it thought me a lot of things about life especialy about kids who run away from the draft. I did not know it was people who was out in the wourl that would help you run away from the draft. Also I lke this book because it show how teenegers can go to Spain and live their lives and enjoy their life also.