Dread Locks #1

Dread Locks #1

by Neal Shusterman

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.67 $7.99 Save 4% Current price is $7.67, Original price is $7.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dread Locks #1 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
VampMan More than 1 year ago
This book brings back a tale as old as 4th grade. It tells of a girl who turns people to stone with her eyes, sound familiar. It is a great book to read between classes and at home on your own time. It kept me going for a whole two days. I could not put it down. It is a page to page turner about being careful what you tell people what you wish for, because some peope just might grant that wish for you, if has to do with turning them into stone and never seing them again.
MontzieW More than 1 year ago
Dread Locks (Dark Fusion #1) by Neal Shusterman is an exciting fantasy story for teens about grade 7-10 I would guess. (Although I enjoyed it too.) I bought it at a Library sale for my grand kids and thought I would read and review it first. This book combines old myths with today to make a fun fantasy. A totally spoiled, bored, rich kid gets an interesting and hot new neighbor that sets the school a buzz with excitement and strange happenings. Very good story plot, great characters, and fun twists and surprises. Kids today aren't up on myths of old so this might just teach them a thing or two along the way, lol. Enjoyed it also because I love the old myth stories. I think my grand kids will enjoy this also. Can't wait to give them their book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all of his books!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eric Maione More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of neil shusterman ever sence i read an amazing book by him called full tilt. I decided to read another by him, and picked Dreadlocks and it was an exciting book! A modern day tale of medusa. Its a quick book, but very well worth reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Olivia Gassman More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am in love with this book. It was very well written and a page-turner. Who knew that a SCIENCE fiction book could be so exciting and interesting. 'Dread Locks' has such a great storyline and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes a little scary and a lot of creepy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is about a brat called Parker meritt baer.He meets this new girl,Tara that moves next door to him. All of a sudden things strange begin to happen after he introduces people to her to people,its something to do with her eyes read this book its a fantabulous one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dread Locks is one my favorite books.Its exotic and exiting with page turning suspense you wont be abl to resist!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I borrowed this book from my school library. It is a great read for those of you who like a good mystery.P.S. may be your public library has it. Thanks for your time BYE
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
In Neal Shusterman's new DARK FUSION Series, the author takes myths, legends, and fairy tales, mixes them up with modern-day tales of teen angst and horror, and comes up with an entertaining read. In DREAD LOCKS, we get a whole stew pot full of retold stories--GOLDILOCKS AND THE THREE BEARS, MEDUSA, KING MIDAS. They're all there, and the finished product is a quick, fun, and sometimes depressing read.

Parker Baer is the type of fifteen-year old I both love and hate. He's always been given everything he's ever wanted, due to the fact that his parents are wealthy. He has an obnoxious older brother, Garrett, and an irritable little sister, Katrina. For his birthday, his brother bought him a motocross bike, and his parents gave him a statue. Yes, the teenaged Parker is now memorialized in bronze.

Then Parker meets his new next-door neighbor, Tara Herpecheveux, in the most surprising way--she's sleeping in his bed. But Tara's strangeness, and undeniable attractability, is a hodge-podge of attributes--she's exotically beautiful, has the strangest blond dread locks, always wears mirrored sunglasses, and has an aversion to the belief of personal property.

As Parker gets more and more entangled in the strangeness that is Tara, he begins to notice the ever-increasing weird behavior of the students in his school. Odd cravings, incessantly strange behavior, and a general weirdness pervade the halls of the private school for the rich. Once Parker finally accepts the truth of what's happening, it's too late.

The ending, although slightly predictable in some ways, was a surprise overall. It left me feeling sad, but then again, most fairy tales have one or more tear-inducing scenes in them. DREAD LOCKS is an interesting retelling of some notable myths, and if you're into horror stories, this one should definitely do the trick!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lolz