A Dog's Purpose

A Dog's Purpose

by W. Bruce Cameron

Paperback

$11.99 $14.99 Save 20% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Dog's Purpose 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1458 reviews.
NEBooknote More than 1 year ago
Come to think of it, though, considering the time and effort we humans spend trying to figure out "who we are" and "the meaning of life," and given our delight in anthropomorphising animals (especially those we love), I suppose sooner or later someone would come up with the idea of a dog searching for his meaning in life. Mr. Cameron has the imagination and the talent to pull such a story off with style and panache. The dog's story, divided into a series of separate lives, comes together at the end with inevitable and still surprising results. I don't know when I've enjoyed a book so much. I found it nearly impossible to put down.
HEDI09 More than 1 year ago
AN ABSOLUTE TREASURE! Not being able to do this book justice, may I just say, a dog lover or not, 8 years old to 108, buy this book! You will not regret it! What a story! What we would imagine the thought processes of our dogs, the author portrays beautifully and makes the reader think about the role we play in our pets' lives, good and bad. There are many uplifting moments, as well as tearful ones that are from a dog's perspective that will totally humanize the main character. Not a boring cookie cutter formula read; totally unique, and others I recommend are BEAUTIFUL LIES, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and CUTTING FOR STONE.
BookWithTruffles More than 1 year ago
Once you begin reading this book,you will not put it down! Cameron gets you into the mind, heart, and sould of man's best friend! This is now one of my all time favorite books!
literatissima More than 1 year ago
What if animals were able to reincarnate? W. Bruce Cameron explores this question in A Dog's Purpose, a novel about one canine soul embarking on a journey to last more than one lifetime. The novel presents many different situations, but the universal thread weaving them together is the circle of life and the interconnectedness of humanity and species. For me, it was an emotional journey, with laughter and tears. And it made me remember to stop and appreciate my dog all the more. I never want to take a second spent with her for granted. This book is a love letter to the four-legged variety that populate our planet and I recommend it to those that have ever been touched by a dog's purpose.
Joost More than 1 year ago
Flat out....one of the best books I have ever read. Such a novel idea and a teriffic ending. A must read for every dog owner.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this as a paper copy as a small child. I reccomend it to anyone at all, even if you dont like dogs. This book will grab your heart and will never let go
Kaitlin Besselman More than 1 year ago
this book was in my magazine the at my book fair so i got it and this book was glued to my hand it was shocking haert braking and haert warming i did cry so if u lost a dog reacently dont read but other than that 999,999 out of 10 stars
justlainee More than 1 year ago
WHOEVER GAVE THIS BOOK A BAD REVIEW IS OUT OF THEIR MIND. My mom gave me this book for christmas one year to read becuase I recently lost my best friend who yes, was a dog. He was very young and it is one of the worst experiences I have ever had in my life. This book helped me so much through the struggles I was going through. It made me laugh out loud, cry, and have hope. If you have a dog....you need to read this book. It is one of my favorite books of all time. There is nothing better then this book.
bobbewig More than 1 year ago
To start off, I won't say that A Dog's Purpose is one of the best books I've read in a while. That wouldn't be close to expressing what a wonderful book I think this is. To be more accurate, I'd say that A Dog's Purpose is one of the top 3 or 4 books I've ever read in my over fifty years of being an avid reader -- and possibly my all-time favorite! Summarizing the plot even a little bit won't be fair for the potential reader because you'll want to experience every aspect of this terrific book without any advance information of what you will experience as you read it. I think the following information from the jacket cover pertaining to the essence of A Dog's Purpose should suffice. This is a remarkable story of one endearing dog's search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another charming dog story, A Dog's Purpose touches on the universal quest for an answer to life's most basic question: Why are we here? A Dog's Purpose is a heartwarming, insightful and funny story of a dog's many lives -- but is also a book that you'll need to have a box of tissues close by as you read it, as your reading will make you come face-to-face with all of the emotions associated with life (and death). Further, the book is a dog's-eye documentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend; and, at its highest level, attempts to teach that love never dies, that our true friends are always with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose. Well, that's all I'm going to say about this very, very memorable book, which hopefully will be enough to motivate you to read it. I know you'll be very happy you did. Now, I have to go hug my dog, Luigi, tell him what a good boy he is and give him all the love he deserves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I smiled and cried at all the right places and then some. I have responsibly raised poodles for 54 years; bred, obedience-trained and showed in the ring. Dogs have always been a big part of my life--raising 5 children along with them. I now have my last standard poodle, because he is 12 and I am 82. I loved all the reincarnations of Bailey-- feeling all the feelings he felt. I am tearful as I write this to thank you for a Dog's Purpose. I have just finished my first novel---it is about a person I loved as much as Bailey loved his master.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Makes me sad, happy and mad.
NYgrl1914 More than 1 year ago
This may be a work of fiction, but there isn't anything more real than the love between a dog and their human(s). This book is heartwarming, well-written, and will awaken something deep in your soul. Buy this book now, and then pass it on to a friend. We can all benefit from the love of a dog.
Katie_K7 More than 1 year ago
Great book for any dog lover!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It's about the many lives of a dog, and how he will find his purpose in the world. I would check it out.
Leatherneck More than 1 year ago
The book is difficult to review without spoiling the story for readers. It is a story premise I'd never encountered before. But throughout, it offers thought-provoking ideas and a few "That's right!" moments too. After reading, I was left with the same comfort people get following a good sermon or a well-played symphony.
hfreaney More than 1 year ago
Makes you think about your pet and where in their journey are they. It's a great book. You fall in love with the dog, every time he's reborn.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To say that this book is awesome would be an understatement. It is (excuse my language) FRI.NKING AMAZING!!!!! I have read (and loved and cried about) Marley & Me, Old Yeller (who hasn't?), Where the Red Fern Grows, A Dog's Life, and countless other dog books that would take 50 reveiws to name, but A Dog's Purpose stands high above the rest. No wonder, too: I have a 10 month old German Shepherd who is literally my best friend, and being able to see the thoughts she might be thinking at this very moment is nothing short of AMAZING. Every dog lover must read this book. It will make you rethink everything about that pooch in your life, whether he is a naughty puppy, an equally naughty middle age dog, an old "man", or even recently passed away, this book will tug your heartstrings till they break and make you laugh so hard you spew milk out your nose. If you're considering buying this book, or even if you're rping (I do it too sometimes, I won't snitch), let there be no maybe in your mind. You will love, love, love this book. Trust me. Now, if you'll excuse me, I just heard a crash. My dog must want her ball. Goodbye, and happy reading! ;p
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't want it to end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! I'm only in the sixth grade and already have read it all, and sobbed throughout the whole book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not necessarily a 'dog person' but was taken by the cover so bought it. I loved Cameron's ability to write this as the dog. The whole story was soo wonderful. A must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the flow of this book. It was a little predictable, but still a wonderful story that was beautifully written. Prepare yourself for many tears.
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book that I highly recommend. Even if you're not a dog lover, you will enjoy this. A story of life, death and purpose as seen through the eyes of a dog. A poignant novel which touches on the entire spectrum of emotions. The premise of the story is a dog who reincarnates again and again until life finally brings him full-circle and he has discovered his true purpose. Whether or not you believe in reincarnation, this book is an excellent read and makes us humans think about how we may be perceived by our 4-legged companions. There is some violence and animal mistreatment portrayed as well. No foul language. Well edited. A real gem of a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What is not to like about a story you read that makes you love dogs even more?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed and cried. I would stop reading to hug and pet my Border Collie. I had a sweet chocolate lab before that lived 18 years. It was a terrible loss and we still miss Carmen to this day. Percy is now part of our family and we love Percy dearly. This book touched my heart deeply. I definitely recommend reading it.