Dexter Is Dead (Dexter Series #8)

Dexter Is Dead (Dexter Series #8)

by Jeff Lindsay

Hardcover

$5.98 $24.95 Save 76% Current price is $5.98, Original price is $24.95. You Save 76%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dexter Is Dead: A Novel 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the right people for a great read and then a disappointing ending....did not equal the quality of all the other Dexter reads..it felt very unfullfilling..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one seemed a little rushed. I didn't care for the crazily outlandish situations in which Dexter found himself. Personally, I probably should have just called it quits after reading the book previous to this one. I wouldn't have been left scratching my head, questioning whether this book was actually even written by the same author. Blah!
Wiliam_Maltese More than 1 year ago
MIRACLES “DO” STILL HAPPEN! -- RE: DEXTER BOOK SERIES FINALE! FINALLY, I picked up a book that I actually enjoyed and had trouble putting down (lately, they’ve been very few and very far between!) Particularly, I found author Jeff Lindsay’s DEXTER IS DEAD stream-of-conscious first-person narrative especially personable and enjoyable. Okay, the plot has a lot to do with drugs, which I’m beginning to find a tad overworked in novels these days. Okay, it was concerned with children, a homo-sapien category of whom I’m not particularly fond — it helped tremendously that the protagonist seemed to have had even less concern for them, including his own, than I did. Okay, it’s but one book of a series, and since so few authors and publishers bother, these days, to number their books in a series (#1 #2 #3 would be helpful), I’m usually with a book that’s somewhere in the middle of a story-line, of which, I can only become vaguely aware by the hints dropped in the pages I’m happen to be reading; this was remedied, in this instance, by my having been an avid fan of the TV series, “Dexter”, which had been based on the books in “this” series. And since the “Dexter” TV series finale left me a little dissatisfied, I thought I’d see if the author of the book series could pull off something better, by way of finale of the book series; which, by the way, he did. If this book resurrects a psychopathic brother who I thought was eliminated in the TV series, I still can’t remember how and when he died on the tellie, so I was easily able to accept the fact that he was alive, active, and back. If Dexter was incarcerated in a Correctional Facility at book’s opening, and he was, I assumed I could become more fully enlightened about the “why” of that by reading the preceding book DEXTER’S FINAL CUT (which, by the way, I immediately put on my to-read list); in the meantime, the author provided more than enough background to fill in enough of the pieces for me never to become completely lost because of information unavailable in the book I was reading. I wasn’t exceptionally pleased that the Dexter in this book seemed a tad dumbed-down than I remember from TV, his mind not working nearly as sharply, quickly, and as rationally, to meander the labyrinth with which he was presented, as I would have liked; and at times he seemed to border on the emotional when emotions, in his mental state, weren’t supposed to be in play. Nor was I pleased that his sister Deborah seemed a tad more scatter-brained, out-of-sorts, irrational, and unreasonable than I liked, even though, yes, I suppose, not a serial killer herself (in fact, a member of the police force), she might have had some misgivings and qualms about her brother having killed, and still being out to kill, a good many people (the good majority still the bad guys, of course). And I found it truly disconcerting that so many people in the police force, many of them with whom Dexter had worked, his sister included, had apparently so easily turned against him. But, all in all, I loved the book and am determined to begin at the start of the series with DEXTER DARKLY DREAMING and follow up with the final five preceding DEXTER IS DEAD. A progression I’d highly recommended to any reader, whether familiar with the TV series or not. Bravo Jeff Lindsay!
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
As “Dexter Is Dead” is the last novel in the beloved Dexter series, and I have seen reviews that contain massive spoilers, I am going to keep this review brief so those of you who haven’t been so rudely spoiled will stay that way. “Dexter Is Dead” is the perfect ending to a wonderful series. The characters, as always, are well-developed. The plot makes sense. Everything comes to a logical conclusion. The only thing left to say is this: Thank you, Mr. Lindsay. You’ve given all of us the true gift of an incredible character that graced the pages we read and the television screens we watched. We’ll miss you, Dexter. This review is based upon a complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and good closing to the series
rleibman More than 1 year ago
meh... if you're the kind of person who needs to continue a series once they start it, my advice is: don't. The first book was good, then it went downhill. And this latest one is the worst of all. I really want to cheer for Dexter, but I just can't. And the ambiguous death at the end is worst... I was really hoping this one was the last. The writer is good, but this is not his best work. At least he doesn't fake his own death and become a lumberjack (or does he?)
AshleeT More than 1 year ago
While I love the series, I often feel as though it is over written. There are so many analogies, weird capitalizations, and overall 'wordy-ness' that I can lose my place and have to reread it just to remember what was being talked about. The book, however, had an ending that I think was appropriate and closed out the series well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ha ha, I really like that show! You did a pretty good job with it all, pretty good indeed! Keep goin' please.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Repost here)