Devotion: An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice

Devotion: An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice

by Adam Makos

Paperback

$18.54 $20.00 Save 7% Current price is $18.54, Original price is $20. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Devotion: An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book ! Tom passed away at the age of 93 as I was reading it. May God bless all of those who are depicted in this book...
Anonymous 12 months ago
great+book+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent book by Adam Makos.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like nonfiction and are interested in the Korean War this is the book for you. It is the personal element in the way this book was written that really keeps your attention. If after reading this book you cannot appreciate what our service men and women do for each one of us then maybe it's time for you to live in a third world country.
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
I was thrilled to receive an ARC copy of this extraordinary history from Transport Specialties, Int'l, Ballantine Bantam Dell, and Adam Makos on September 29, 2015 as a Goodreads Giveaway. Thank you all so much for sharing you work with me. What a fascinating history! This was a book I was literally not able to put down until the end. Adam Makos follows the crew and pilots of the USS Leyte, an aircraft carrier deployed to Korea in the early days of the Korean War. The 'Forgotten' War. as we have come to call it, occurred between June 25, 1950 and July 27, 1953. The primary characters of this great story are Lt. Tom Hudner, a white New England boy with a background of sailing and golf with the privileged few, and Ensign Jesse Brown, an African American sharecroppers' son from the great state of Mississippi. It certainly doesn't end there. The support and, yes, devotion, of the men of the USS Leyte and the crews of Fighter Squadron 32 is an amazing thing, one we as Americans divided need to observe and consider. The love and support from 'home' is also a thing to be admired. This book goes a long way toward an accurate and authentic picture of the Korean Conflict. A United Nations action, most of the major allied countries had troops and equipment dedicated to support the democratic South Koreans, in a battle which should have been limited to south verses north Koreans - until China got involved. Please read this book. Let's don't let this happen, again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Devotion is a must-read, not only for history buffs, but for the American people in general--it's time that our country pays its respects to The Forgotten War. This book is as heartwarming as it is educational, thanks to the compelling storytelling of Makos. This book should be in every school across the country!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful, fast read that had me in tears at the end. Just as good as Unbroken if not better.
ItalianNana More than 1 year ago
What a tremendous read- easily one of the best books of the last decade, and I was hesistant to pick it up because of the topic. I don't know much about Korea, nor do I gravitate towards stories based on that topic, so this read was eye opening. This book follows the Navy airmen who flew air support, and the Marines on the ground (living through hell), and specific stories interwoven. I really recommend it and hope that others give it a chance like I did- you won't regret it!
Frank-and-Jeanie More than 1 year ago
This is easily the best book I’ve read in 2015, and I expect it to beat most of 2016’s releases as well. I had read Makos’ Higher Call and really enjoyed it, as did my wife, and we have eagerly been awaiting his next story. He did not disappoint. Pro’s for this book- Makos has an easy to read, and visualize, writing style. I literally have a movie running in my head with dialogue, set scenes, etc.. Another is that there are photos and maps throughout the book, not just in the two photo sections. It’s so unique to see a photo in front of you while reading about that character. In terms of the story itself- this book truly had it all- amazing flight sequences, heroic Marines in fighting scenes, a love story between Jesse and his wife- it appealed to my wife and I equally. And the fact that it’s a true story just makes it all the more incredible, and it sticks with you for hours after putting it down. It reads like it should be fiction but it is up by thousands of hours of interviews and documentation. And the icing on the cake for me- seeing Jesse’s last letter to Daisy in the back. You can’t read it without getting emotional. Con’s for this book- I wish the photo captions were larger font and the paper was white instead of cream. The cream doesn’t set the photos off as well as white would have. I really have nothing to say about the content- these men (and woman) were amazing heroes and their story was shared brilliantly.
Holly More than 1 year ago
Devotion is the true story of Lieutenant Tom Hudner, a white New Englander who was part of the country club scene and Ensign Jesse Brown, a black sharecropper's son from Mississippi. They may have been worlds apart but they were good friends in a time that was frowned upon. During the Korean War, they flow in several missions risking their lives only to have one mission that would change their life and all those who loved them forever. The book also follows other co-workers and Marines that were part of the Korean War and blended them all so well that it made the book what it is, it's not just Tom & Jesse's story but all the ones that they had a hand in their short career together. I like reading about history just to get a sense if we are not careful, we could very well be repeating what happened in the last 100 years. I had family members being in the military during that time and I could only imagine what they went through and this book brought a whole new understanding of what this war was like for them. Thank You to Adam Makos for telling Tom Hudner's and Jesse Brown's story and all those who served during the Korean War. I received this book from the Goodreads Giveaways in exchange for a honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story