Death of a Gossip (Hamish Macbeth Series #1)

Death of a Gossip (Hamish Macbeth Series #1)

by M. C. Beaton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death of a Gossip (Hamish Macbeth Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
M.C. Beaton has me hooked on Hamish MacBeth and the beautiful descriptions of the Scottish highlands. This is a great and fun read with memorable pieces of writing that linger in a pleasant and endearing way.
MrsC212 More than 1 year ago
This unassuming "bobby" will endear himself to you. I'm on my 4th in the series. Reason for the 4 stars...wish each story was a little longer. A must read if you like "visiting" areas of the world filled with characters you won't soon forget.
DeeZeeCA More than 1 year ago
An interesting opening to fun series of books. Fine pre-slumber reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book a lot of going on and really question who did it. Very good read and lots of excitement. Couldn't put it down near the end. I am looking forward to the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delightful cozy series! Love that the first in the series is being offered as a spotlight special. If you are a fan of the Mrs. Jeffries series, or James Herriot - you will enjoy these well-written mysteries. Excellent character and village descriptions full of likeable people. I have read several & highly recommend. Wonderfully entertaining story telling. Gloriously free of swearing, sex and violence. Truly great books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample brought me in and the rest of the book was enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first in the detective Hamish series . I thought it was d elite full reading . I enjoyed the characters and that it takes place in Scotland . Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just reread this book after a long absence. I enjoyed as much as the first time! I have also enjoyed many of the other Hamish Macbeth mysteries, as well as other books by M. C. Beaton.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting characters. An old plot in a beautiful, quiet part of Scotland.
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
Author: M. C. Beaton Published By: Grand Central Publishing Age Recommended: Adult Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Rating: 4 Review: "Death of Gossip" by M. C. Beaton was a excellent fast pace mystery read. This is a first Hamish Macbeth novel in a series for this author. "Death of Gossip" was of a famous gossip columnist (Lady Jane Winters) who was a 'pompous, bulling gossip columist' has been murdered at a fishing school and it seems that no one is willing to talk but it looks like it is up to the local constable Hamish Macbeth will be the only one that will be able to get to the bottom of this and unveil the murderer. This gossip columnist was from a big London newspaper gathers information on the potential scandalous behaviour of other guests and manages to make everyone of them wish her dead. And now she was dead....Who had done this? How will this all go down...now, this is where I say you must pick up the good read "Death of Gossip" to find out. I found this read very interesting, funny..... and will definitely will keep you guessing to who, what, how and why of it all. This author will send you on a ride from Scotland, England and New York. "Death of Gossip" was a good murder mystery that was a fast read and yes, I would recommend this novel as a good read.
Anonymous 15 days ago
Great character. Very blunt and funny.
Fernandame on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Audiobook - really enjoyed this one - a fun murder mystery
allthesedarnbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first mystery in the Hamish MacBeth series. I loved the TV show when it was on BBC America and was delighted to find (via LT, of course!) that there were books. This first one was ok. It focused a lot on fly flishing, which I find to be incredibly boring, and it seemed very, very slow to start. Hamish himself is delightful, although I did have some problems with the way he (and the female author) talk about women. Still, it was a decent, if not spectacular, cozy, and I will probably read the rest of the series at some point to see if they get better. Three stars.
juglicerr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To be fair, most of the people I know who have read these books like them. I never liked any of them too much, but based on the enthusiasm of friends, tried several. The very best part is the evocation of the village, its people and its surroundings, but although I love that sort of writing, I don't find it worthwhile when I have to spend time in the company of the main character. Hamish has his good points, like his devotion and care for his younger siblings, but he's not terribly honest. I refer here not so much to his habit of barging in and cadging food that other people paid for under cover of his duties as a policeman, but to his habit of running up enormous long-distance telephone bills on other people's phones. Opening a phone bill anywhere around Hamish's village must involve a bit of fearful suspense. I assume that Beaton expects us to find it funny, but I don't. I assume that she also expects us to think that it's o.k. to do it to his on-and-off girlfriend's father since the man is rather a pompous snob, but I don't. Especially since Hamish feels that these little thefts are a special privilege of his, not a generousity that he would extend in his turn. As if this attitude of what is mine-is-mine and what is yours-is-mine is not bad enough, Hamish gets quite hypocritically sanctimonious at times. A policeman obviously can't refrain from arresting people because he himself has human failings. But in one book, a guest takes a bottle of whiskey from a bar accidentally left unlocked; he claims that he intended to pay for it when it checked out. Hamish in a ridiculous fit of self-righteous ire dismisses the alleged intention to pay and lambastes the guest as though he himself wouldn't have grabbed every bottle in reach if he had the opportunity, and it hadn't been his girlfriend's bar. I dropped the series in disgust.
DreamingInFiction on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story, but won't be rushing to read them all in a hurry.I found it very interesting having the setting in Scotland and the descriptions about their surroundings. I also found it interesting to read about fly-fishing, which is something I've never done.
wizardsheart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like the Agatha Raisin books a lot. This one is a fun and fast read. My only real problem is that it is told in the point of view of one of the tourists...not Hamish MacBeth. And that tourist was so irritating I wanted to rip her head off. If it had been told in a different pov, I probably would have enjoyed it a lot more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
A cozy mystery set in the Highlands of Scotland, what a treat. M C Beaton introduces her red haired, lazy local policeman, Hamish MacBeth. A husband and wife team operate a fishing school in the Highlands, but this year the catch proves hard to swallow as one of the guests is murdered. I adore Hamish and his easy going approach to life. Each of the guests hides a secret, but one of the guests uncovers everyone secret. Interwoven in the murder mystery, M C Beaton throws lessons in fly fishing. The characters present the gamut of the social scale with the rich, unmarried lady, the poor, working woman, the social climbing American couple, the young boy needing a father, and the undistinguished major. Even Hamish presents quirks such as his love for Priscilla, the unattainable flower.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
A cozy mystery set in the Highlands of Scotland, what a treat. M C Beaton introduces her red haired, lazy local policeman, Hamish MacBeth. A husband and wife team operate a fishing school in the Highlands, but this year the catch proves hard to swallow as one of the guests is murdered. I adore Hamish and his easy going approach to life. Each of the guests hides a secret, but one of the guests uncovers everyone secret. Interwoven in the murder mystery, M C Beaton throws lessons in fly fishing. The characters present the gamut of the social scale with the rich, unmarried lady, the poor, working woman, the social climbing American couple, the young boy needing a father, and the undistinguished major. Even Hamish presents quirks such as his love for Priscilla, the unattainable flower.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first Hamish novel and to my delight I have discovered a new series to enjoy. It is an easy read with wonderful characters and just a wee taste of highland humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hamish gets himself in trouble, just being a big oaf, yet he solves the crime. Love him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters were interesting. Some I hated and I was glad to see their demise. Never could figure out who did it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read several in the series and enjoyed most quite a bit. I decided to start at the beginning and read them chronologically. If I'd read this book first, I never would have read another. It 's full of profanity and foul language - and I mean full. Even if there were no foul language, this would be difficult to recommend because it's so repetitious - the same characters saying the same thing over and over. It's not much of a challenge, either: I never try to gues "whodunit" but the killer seemed obvious to me and the only reason I read the book to the end was to see if I was right - and I was. Lastly, Hamish's explanation for figuring out the killer is - hmm, what's a word for laughable without being funny?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by this author I've read . Depicts the Scottish country and people very well. I want to read more in this series. Fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago