The Death and Life of Bobby Z

The Death and Life of Bobby Z

by Don Winslow

Paperback(Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Edition)

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Death and Life of Bobby Z 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you've had it with heroes who have all the answers; tired of the same old stories with the same old twists and endings; just want to find a book you actually can't wait to get back to... Look no further!
Merlin57 More than 1 year ago
I am a Don Winslow fan. I have enjoyed all of his books beggining with the Neal Carey series, the "surfer books, and the others. He does a good job with character development, integration of humor, and is knowlegable about his topics without being a nerd or policy wank. I would compare him favorably to Michael Connelly,Nelson Demille,Vince Flynn and others. He is a bit more gritty and colorful, but has the same type of appeal
KenCady More than 1 year ago
Sure, a major motion picture, but better yet, a good read.
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
Tim Keaney is a man who strongly resembles the infamous Bobby Z. The authorites let Tim out of jail to impersonate Bobby Z in a hostage exchange. Then things go wrong and Tim escapes but he has his enemies and Bobby Z's chasing him. It was well written and never dull.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would have never picked it up to read, yet I couldn't put it down. My daughter sent it for her brother ( both avid readers). She is 24 and he is 28.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great, easy, fun read. The story is quick and read like a movie. The dialogue is written in a funny conversational tone, and I foind myself laughing out loud at times. Furthermore, the lead character, Tim Kearney spends a good deal of time trying to convince the reader that he is a 'three time' loser, and I can assure you that within 50 pages you will think anything but..enjoy, this is a fun one.
Anonymous 7 months ago
2nd Don Winslow book i have read and it will not be the last!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Fast, fun, easy read
uvula_fr_b4 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of those rare books whose laudatory cover blurbs actually bear some relation to the contents inside, The Death and Life of Bobby Z is the hair-raising, addictive and frequently funny story of ex-Marine, Gulf War vet, three time loser Tim Kearney attempting to make good on a deal from a crooked DEA agent to impersonate the deceased surfer-cum-pot smuggler par excellence named Bobby Z to escape a certain death behind prison walls following on from Kearney's neat assassination of a Hell's Angel/Aryan Brotherhood bruiser. The pitch-perfect dialogue shifts from California slacker to hard-nosed cattle rancher to pompous, self-styled hidalgo-hood with barely a bobble, and the rogues gallery is filled to bursting with off-the-reservation feds, movie-obsessed pedophiles, Eurotrash, bikers, cholos, and war vets, many of whom converge in a kind of perfect storm in the book's hellzapoppin' finale. Behind all the mayhem, buckets of black humor, jaw-dropping escapes, explicit sex and rampant profanity lurks a sweet, sentimental optimism and a message of hope and redemption that would not be out of place on the most flowery and ostentatiously religious greeting card, and it is to Winslow's credit that this comes across as part of an organic whole, not an afterthought bit of moralizing á la Scarface: The Shame of a Nation.
norinrad10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is just plain fun. It's got me scurrying for other books by Don Winslow. Again, all I can say is fun.
ktp50 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Drug dealer fiction and action. Was pretty damn good. Doesn't try to be more than it is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The lack of voca bully distracts from the interesting story. Use some other word than f@#$ing once in a while. Too many f bombs.
Lance_Charnes More than 1 year ago
The Death and Life of Bobby Z is the book that started Don Winslow on his “drugs in Laguna” series, which isn’t actually a series as much as an attitude and state of mind that led eventually to Savages and its prequel. Tim Kearney is a three-time loser who gets fished out of a certain-death trip back to prison by a DEA agent who gives him an offer he can’t refuse: impersonate legendary Laguna Beach dope dealer Bobby Z and let himself get traded to a Mexican drug cartel in exchange for a kidnapped DEA agent. I probably don’t have to mention that things go horribly wrong, and eventually much of both sides of the law in Southern California want Tim dead. Bobby Z seems to be the first appearance of what has now become the “Don Winslow voice” – crazy, slangy, attitudinal, and profane. His previous efforts (the Neal Carey mysteries) appear to be much more conventional and comparatively sedate. The characters change names but have become standards in this “series” – the loser hero, the cool-girl goddess, the psychotic killers, the megawealthy dope dealers, the massively bent cops. Here they’re in their prototype form, a little rough around the edges but still entertaining. Serial screwup though he may be, Tim works out as a pretty okay guy to hang with. The dialog (external and internal) is on the mark, the settings filled in enough to picture in the film version. The prose goes down easy and fast. As you’d expect for the start of a new adventure, not everything goes together as well as it will down the road. Here the problem is mostly one of plotting, in that too much of it hinges on coincidence or dumb luck. Tim tends to catch all the breaks and the bad guys hardly any, which can get annoying after a while. Also, Winslow hadn’t yet started imbuing his supporting characters with the same level of humanity as his lead; probably the most vivid secondary player is a six-year-old boy. Winslow had six novels under his belt when he wrote Bobby Z, but with it he radically changes not only his style but milieu (both in fiction and in fact; he moved from New York to California before he wrote it). That’s a hard trick to pull off in any context, and it seems almost churlish to fault him for bobbling it. I’d give this three and a half if we had half-stars, but we don’t, so I’m rounding down to three in fairness to the later works. If you haven’t read Winslow before, start with Savages or Dawn Patrol and backtrack; if you have, then go for it and see where those other books came from. 
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoy this writer's style of writing. I find Mr. Winslow's stories fun, entertaining, and all of them are MUST READS! Get your copy now!