Dead Center (Andy Carpenter Series #5)

Dead Center (Andy Carpenter Series #5)

by David Rosenfelt

Hardcover

$29.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dead Center (Andy Carpenter Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this on a trip with my sisters. After relating some of the funny things in the book my sisters demanded daily updates on the story. They all had to know how it ended. Entertaining and intriguing. Thoroughly enjoyed this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Come along for a fun ride, wherever you start this series. Witty, charming, well- paced and -plotted. Nice to re-read too. Glad I bought these.
Guest More than 1 year ago
David Rosenfelt gets better and better. His characters are so real you think you know them. His sense of humor comes through in every book so that it's so much more enjoyable to read his books than ones with gross murder after murder after murder. I will remain his number 1 fan for a long, long time!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just love Andy Carpenter, the New Jersey lawyer with the self-deprecating sense of humor and a huge inheritance that allows him the luxury of working - or not. When his ex-girlfriend Laurie calls to say she thinks she's arrested the wrong guy for murder and needs some help, Andy and his beloved dog Tara are on their way to Findlay, Wisconsin to lend a hand. Laurie dumped Andy and moved back home when she was offered the job as Findlay Chief of Police, but Andy still has feelings for her. Nevertheless he gets to work, investigating the victims who were both members of a religious sect called the Centurions. Smart, engaging characters, lots of laughs, some nice plot twists and simply superb storytelling make Dead Center irresistible.  
nbmars on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is book #5 of the stand-up comedy/mystery/dog-related legal procedural series featuring lawyer Andy Carpenter and his golden retriever Tara.In Dead Center, Andy¿s girlfriend Laurie Collins has left Paterson, New Jersey to take her ¿dream job¿ on the police force of her old home town in Findlay, Wisconsin. Although she hasn¿t seen Andy in four months, she calls and asks him as a favor to come out there and defend a friend of her family, Jeremy Davidson. Jeremy has been charged with the double murder of his girlfriend Liz and her girlfriend Sheryl. The bodies were found in a shallow grave on his property. Blood flecks were spattered in Jeremy¿s car. Jeremy¿s guilt seems so obvious that ordinarily Andy wouldn¿t take the case, but he wants to see Laurie again, and so he and his golden retriever Tara make the drive to Wisconsin.Liz and Sheryl were members of a bizarre religious cult located in Center City, about ten miles from Findlay. The people of this faith have no desire for interference from, or information sharing with, the outside world. Thus, Andy needs help, and he brings some others from his team up to Findlay to help out. Soon they are all in danger. On the bright side however, Laurie seems more conflicted than ever about whether she really wants to live apart from Andy.Evaluation: One gets the impression that this plot was designed to showcase funny remarks about Wisconsin, and if you¿ve ever lived there (as I have) you will get a big kick out of this book. Even aside from the jokes about winters and cheese, however, these humorous mysteries from Rosenfelt never fail to entertain me. I don¿t see a Pulitzer in the author¿s future, but I do see a lot of loyal readers like myself who love having a witty, diverting read.
judileaming on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
David Ronsenfelt possesses the ability to combine great suspense with great humor and come up with a winner every time. What fun to read his books ... and to be challenged by his "song-talking".
WeeziesBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dead Center by Rosenfelt is a story told by Andy, a lawyer from New Jersey. Andy is in love with Laurie who has left Andy to return to her home town area of Cheese County where she is now serving as the acting Chef of Police. This is a light mystery with a touch of cultism in ¿The Centurions¿ a town and religion that controls the inhabitants and excludes any outsiders. Following an unexplained death, the twists and turns of investigations bring Laurie and Andy back together to solve this local mystery. The story was short and light and mildly entertaining. I gave it the book a 3 star rating because 2.5 was not available and I felt it was better than a 2 out of 5.
Tangen More than 1 year ago
laugh-out-loud, law-enforcement, snark-fest, snow, lawyers, culture-shock, cults The mystery tale is creative, and there's the issues between Andy and his ladylove, but that's not the best of it all for this Wisconsinite! It's all the frozen tundra snarks and the foodie fun! No way does Wisconsin or its people come off badly. Unless, of course you object to our winters, potluck suppers, or basic kindness. I loved it! Grover Gardner really shines as narrator.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are great and work well together.
Jani8 More than 1 year ago
You might say that there is a change of venue in this book. It takes place in Wisconsin where Laurie is now working instead of Paterson, NJ. She asks Andy to take a case out there. A young man is charged with killing his girlfriend and her friend and Laurie’s sure he didn’t do it. So, Andy goes to the cheese state to see what he can do. They still have incredible attraction to each other along with still being in love. The case is interesting. Some attacks of violence and a few more corpses turn up so they send for Marcus, a mountain of a man, for protection, and the case picks up speed. I enjoyed Mr. Rosenfelt’s take on the Midwest. I’m originally from Minnesota and he pegged it pretty well, along with some errors. Again, I love the character of Andy Campbell so much because of his sense of humor and his love for dogs. I hope Mr. Rosenfelt keeps writing the series forever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am from Wi, nailed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago