Darkness Unknown (Paladin Series #5)

Darkness Unknown (Paladin Series #5)

by Alexis Morgan

Paperback(Reissue)

$23.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Darkness Unknown (Paladin Series #5) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the woods next to her farm, Gwen Mosely saves Jarvis Donahue¿s life when she pulls his unconscious body from a stream, which keeps him from drowning. To her surprise, his wounds heal immediately although she has seen her teenage half-brother Chase pulls off the same effect. She hopes the stranger will be able to answer questions the siblings have about Chase¿s previously thought of unique skills.

Jarvis is shocked when he awakens to find his nurse easily accept his recovery ability. However, what truly stuns him is when he sees Chase; he could be the identical twin of a dead Palladin. As Jarvis and Gwen fall in love, he knows the teen also will soon become a Palladin, which means he must mentor the lad to fight against the Others for the rest of his life.

After starting another ¿dark¿ saga (see DARK WARRIOR UNLEASHED) Alexis Morgan returns to the Paladins of Darkness universe (see REDEEMED IN DARKNESS, DARK PROTECTOR, DARK DEFENDER and IN DARKNESS REBORN) with a strong entry. The romantic fantasy contains two intriguing lead characters and in many ways an even more fascinating support player whose healing skill comes between them. The story line includes the dark battles between the Palladins and Others, but it is the triangle relationship that makes this a superb thriller.

Harriet Klausner
shellbell001 More than 1 year ago
Wow, I can't say how disappointed I was with the last book. It was missing the excitement of the "Others" (pun intended). It was really
just the story of Gwen and Jarvis - no real meat to the story, no blue
gems - I really just ended up skipping through because there was really
no substance. Hoping the next will be better! I have really enjoyed
the Paladins in the other books.
emilyjo2001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was frustrating to read because the action didn't get intense till the very end. I would have liked more connection to the previous books in this series also. I liked how the heroine is into knitting. :)
ladycato on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Gwen finds a handsome man injured and conscious behind her alpaca farm, her life begins to change. To her shock, the man's wounds begin to heal on their own--just like her younger brother, Chase. Gwen has sacrificed everything to keep her younger brother home and secure since their mother died. The injured stranger, Jarvis, noticed Chase's skill and offers to train him in martial arts to help control his temper, but that's not his only reason. He's attracted to Gwen, but he knows he can't tell her his secret: that he's a Paladin, fighting off alien invasions on a regular basis, and that her brother shares the Paladin genes--and is doomed to die again and again and recover from his wounds.I've wanted to read this series for a few years, and I was disappointed. Perhaps my expectations were too high, or I entered the series on a wrong book. From the beginning, too much was assumed that I knew what was going on in this world. Large tracts of the book weren't about romance, either, but focused on Chase as he trained and learned about the Paladins. Actually, Gwen wasn't even part of the dramatic climax of the book. It just didn't grab me. At the very least, it was a quick read.
HEABookNerd More than 1 year ago
Finding a wounded man in the woods behind her house is not what Gwen Mosely expected but when she discovers the mystery man has the same quick healing ability has her younger brother, she decides to hold off on calling the police. Paladin Jarvis Donahue is grateful for Gwen's help and when he meets her brother, Chase, he realizes the teenage boy is also a Paladin. Now he has to find a way to recruit Chase without letting Gwen know the Paladins and Regents deeply held secrets. We met Jarvis back in book two of this series so I was happy to see that Darkness Unknown was his story. Jarvis is a lot like the Seattle Paladin leader, Devlin Bane, in that he's levelheaded, calm in a crisis, and a natural leader. Those skills have led him well but he's on uneven footing with his attraction to Gwen. Things are even more complicated because he needs to help Chase control his aggression and come into his Paladin status but he knows that if Gwen ever discovers he's training her brother to be a killer she'll never forgive him. I liked seeing the recruitment of a Paladin and though Chase starts out as an angry 17 year old, you can tell he wants to do better but he just doesn't know how to control his emotions. Jarvis quickly becomes like a father figure for Chase, along with another Paladin, Jake, and the bonding moments between the men were really sweet. Each book has featured a strong and outspoken heroine and Gwen fits right into that category. She gave up everything to take care of Chase when their mother died and she's fiercely protective of him; with 10 years between them she's often more of a mother than a sister to Chase. But raising Chase and running the family farm as left Gwen floundering when it comes to relationships so when Jarvis continues to come around she sees how good he is with Chase and how flirtatious he is with her. Gwen can't resist Jarvis even knowing that he's keeping a ton of secrets. I do feel that Gwen put blinders on pretty quickly and didn't question Jarvis's secrets; she pretty much trusts him and assumes he's one of the good guys right away. I really enjoyed that Gwen is strong and independent but she's also incredibly forgiving and caring and she has just the right soft touch to be a welcoming home for Jarvis. He doesn't show it very often, but Jarvis has accepted that he'll remain alone and Gwen shows him that that doesn't have to be the case. I really enjoyed them together, especially the way they bring out a more playful side in each other. It was nice to finally see Jarvis let go and fall in love. The mystery of the blue stones and the traitors in the Regent organization is still on-going and I'm dying to know who all is behind it, though I have a few guesses.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like Jarvis and Gwen but the ending was so disappointing. It ended abruptly, the brother came across as having an about face that was almost unbelievable, and there was big loose end with how the Others were escaping. I liked the story but needed a lot more from the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
walshrus More than 1 year ago
ALL paladin warriors are hot and interesting to read about BUT Jarvis finds he is NOT immuned to a woman and Gwen gives him a run for his money, especially with her bro in tow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tx1babe More than 1 year ago
Wow! Jarvis can count my freckles anytime! This was the best one of the series, so far! The books have all contained the right amount of humor, action and sex!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago