The Dangerous Alphabet

The Dangerous Alphabet

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dangerous Alphabet 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Neil Gaiman writes a phenomenal book. Those that have known well enough to crack one of his titles already know this. And this book is no different- it is told wonderfully. And the greatest thing that could have happened to Gaiman's words is Gris Grimly. Each page is saturated with fantastic illustrations to look at. There is so much detail on the page, it made my mind boggle. Whether just a child, or an adult, this one is for you.
LisaBohman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a fun story about two children who go on an adventure and come across scary things along the way. The story is told alphabetically. The colors of the illustrations are dark and dull, creating a scary feeling. Many skulls and unusual creatures are found throughout the story. This book is a good teaching tool for when students are learning the alphabet and the basic letters. This would be a good story to read around Halloween.
cassielanzas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Dangerous Alphabet is a pirate ghost story set told in the format of an alphabet book. Each pages represents one letter through illustrations and a rhyming couplet. The book also contains a "dangerous flaw" for the reader to find. The illustrations are scratchy ink filled in with watercolors. Many of the illustrations contain graphic and potentially disturbing images. I would use this with older students as a way to introduce atypical narrative formats in an English course.
ekstewar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: This is an ABC book with a pirate ghost story mixed in. Genre: ABC BookPersonal Reflection:Concept: This could make a cool bedtime story to have a single child get the time to really look at the detailed drawings on each page. That is, of course, for an older child because of the graphic and kind of scary illustrations.
raizel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A creepy, disturbing---but not necessarily in a good way---alphabet book. Two children take an underground journey and manage to survive, but others like them don't escape. Very detailed pictures. Good for Neil Gaiman fans who will see connections to his other work.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Virtually a poem written in rhyming couplets this alphabetical (A is for...) verse tells the tale of a journey two children take looking for treasure. The poem itself is vague but it is the illustrations which bring the story to life. Extremely detailed with many events happening on each page, one lingers looking deep inside each picture before turning the page. The illustrations add to the text by showing a story of the brother and sister traveling through an ancient sewer-type of environment and the sister gets kidnapped by some ugly looking dudes. The brother then follows them trying to be a hero and rescue his sister. Not recommended as an ABC book for young children as, for one thing, the alphabet is not entirely in order and the author uses creative licence for what the letters stand for such as "Y's your last question", "U are the reader" and "L is, like 'eaven...". Also the pictures are quite creepy with very creepy creatures, skeletons and lots of bones. For the appropriate age it is a fun book with especially fun illustrations.
sheherazahde on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A ghastly abecedarian book containing a "dangerous flaw". This thin volume chronicles the piratical adventures of two small children and their pet gazelle.The letters are not always represented in the text i.e. "C is the way that we find and we look". But you can have fun finding how many things beginning with each letter are in the picture. i.e. cat, clocks, candles, corpses, cauldron, calamari.Recommended for ages 5 and up.
cbruiz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this picture book, the alphabet takes one on an adventure through the strangely conceived illustrations of Gris Grimly. Here, A is for always, B is for boat, C is a metaphor for seeing, D is for Diamonds, E is for Evil, F is for fear, G is for Good, H is for help, I is for I am the author, J is for Joke, K is for kiss, L is for leavin, M is for mirrors, N is for night, O is for ovens, p is for piracy, q is for quiet, r is for river, s is for somewhere, t is for treasure, U is for U are the reader, W is for warnings v is for vile deeds, x is for marks the spot, y is the last question, and z waits alone. The artwork in this book is phenomenal, beautiful conceived in an abstraction of a dark, surrealistic, dream reality, with a cartooony twist. The intensity and substance of the artwork is of great importance to the creativity of this book, it makes it. The storyline on which the pictures follow is touch up; the art definitely makes this book.
skyekat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As these two children set out to follow their treasure map, they find a sinister world beneath the sewers. The young boy and their plucky gazelle must discard the map and fight past evil pirates and nere-do-wells to rescue his sister who has been snatched away.Told very simply, in 13 rhyming couplets, coinciding (almost) with the alphabet, you are guided through an underground realm filled with traps and tricks around every corner. The beautiful illustrations give substance to the sparse prose, and adds character to Gaimain's words. Interestingly, many of the background items on each page correspond to the letter being illustrated. For example, on the page for L, there is a ladder, llama, ladybug, lamp, and a ladle. A clever way to backup the alphabetical backbone of this cautionary tale.This book feels very Edward Gorey to me, in the best possible way.
DGibson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dangerous Alphabet is an "A-is-for..." Alphabet book with a picture-driven plot and the text written in verse. The poem itself is adequate but the illustrations are where the books shine, being interesting and crammed with detail, yet probably too detailed, subtle, and dark for many children. There's so much going on it might be hard to focus. As mentioned - despite very much being a children's book - it is dark and creepy, and should probably only be purchased for children with a taste for the macabre. For most of the letters there are related animals, objects, and small details (such as llamas for L, and apples for A) but these are buried under other details. With so much going on the picture's plot is often obfuscated.The actual poetry is fun, with the letters often standing for concepts and verbs instead of objects (A is for Adventure).
TheDivineOomba on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked the book. But I was a bit disappointed to find a few inconstancies between drawings and the text, along with with the sister not doing a whole lot to save herself. I suspect the tween crowd will love this book.
anadvornik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably not the best book if you are just learning to read.
However, if you are a bit older and like Neil Gaiman and/or things that go bump in the night...this is the alphabet book for you.
kayejuniper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The creepiest alphabet book I've ever seen. Gaiman's picture books tend to redefine children's literature. This book has a dark, twisted little plot with strange, spooky illustrations. All's well that ends well, but it certainly makes for nightmarish bedtime reading. I absolutely recommend this book--think of it as a modern Grimm's (and I mean old school Grimm's full of demons and gore).
Wosret on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love this book! Creepy and weird, with great illustrations. Not your typical ABC, and that's a good thing.
mojacobs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had expected more of this little book because of the praise lavished on it by other Shelfarians. Nice enough - not for small children though.
tapestry100 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Told through 13 rhyming couplets and accompanying illustrations, Neil Gaiman and Gris Grimly's The Dangerous Alphabet is a delightful (if suspiciously inaccurate) study of the alphabet. We follow the adventures of 2 children, their pet gazelle and their treasure map as they travel underground, on adventures both macabre and perilous, as the alphabet is presented in conjunction with the story. The story is fun and the rhymes imaginative, but the art is the star here. Gris Grimly's illustrations bring the story to life, and really add an element of almost the grotesque to the story. From the almost rag doll likeness of the children, to the ghosts and ghoulies that inhabit the underground, Grimly's illustration are both beautiful and disturbing at the same time. Take time to study each page, as you'll discover something new each time you look at it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fun book for the daytime. The pictures could be scary to little children. I bought the book because it was out with the Halloween books and I buy a new Halloween book each year. This is very different. The rhyming is good, but again the pictures could be scary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My Daughter Is Looking Forward To More Books Being Written In The Series! She Is 15 Years Old And Likes The Writing! I Am Her Father Writing This Review For Her As She Has Told Me About What She Liked In The Book, After Reading It!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago