Audio CD(Unabridged)

$30.14 $40.00 Save 25% Current price is $30.14, Original price is $40. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Daisy Jones & The Six 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I++expected++so+much+more.++I+could+not+get+into+the+characters.++The+writing+was+good.++Just+to+predictable++for+me++
Sonja121187 3 months ago
I fell absolutely in love with this book, and for Daisy Jones the character. Actually, all of the characters had qualities that made me want to know more about them, but the female characters in particular were the most interesting. Taylor Jenkins Reid has a way of writing women that shows them in both a very vulnerable and very strong light. They're very well rounded and fleshed out. I wanted to be them and be friends with them, and learn every detail about their lives. I enjoyed the overall plot and could not put the book down. Not only do we have a "romance" or romances I wanted to learn more about, but I also desperately wanted to know how the band formed and how they fell apart. I was all in for their wild ride and there was no getting off until it was done. I did not see the twist at the end coming, and though this book left me feeling sad, it was the type of sad that feels really complete and satisfying. Book readers are weird right? Who gets satisfied with sadness, but I know you all know what I mean. Overall I give this a double thumbs up and will certainly be recommending it to anyone who will have it!
Anonymous 3 months ago
expected more
DeediReads 5 months ago
“No matter who you choose to go down the road with, you're gonna get hurt. That's just the nature of caring about someone. No matter who you love, they will break your heart along the way.” This book sat on my proverbial bedside table for a long time — I kept meaning to read it in a given month, and it kept getting crowded out by upcoming releases, library due dates, etc. Then someone told me that the audiobook was supposedly really good — so I decided to do “read” it that way. This was an excellent decision. The book is written in the form of a sort-of script, as it’s a mock collection of interview snippets from the members of the band and their friends and families. The audiobook cast and voice acting really went above and beyond to bring the story to life. I found myself riveted, heart breaking right alongside them. Daisy Jones’ parents weren’t really parents to her, and she entered the drug scene early in her life. She found her way to her natural musical talent by accident, but her first record contract wouldn’t let her record her original songs. Meanwhile, The Six had formed, evolved a bit, and started to grow. They had their first tour, which went well for the band but poorly for some of its members. Drugs again. Eventually, they write a song that needs a female vocalist, and they find Daisy. Boom, chemistry. They skyrocket up to the very top of the rock and roll world. But it isn’t easy along the way. Love, drugs, depression, heartbreak, excitement, family, loyalty (and not) — these things take a toll on a person’s life, and on the lives of those who love them. And then there’s a great little twist at the end. What this novel is really, really about is love —for yourself, for others, for music and your own talent. It’s about people struggling all the time, and finding out which struggles are worth it. It’s about how the same situation looks different depending on whose eyes you view it through. And it’s about how you can be both alone and not alone at exactly the same time. I really liked it, and I definitely recommend the audiobook. 100%. “I had absolutely no interest in being somebody else's muse. I am not a muse. I am the somebody. End of f*cking story.”
Anonymous 6 months ago
Well done and captures the spirit of the times. I'm not crazy about the interview structure, but beautifully delved into most of the band and studio honchos. Was so glad it was being written by who it was.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Best book I've ever read! Enough said.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Great book
Kristin975 9 months ago
Daisy Jones & The Six is one of the best books I've read this year. Not only did it feel like I was reading about a real band and the trials and tribulations they went through, but it also made me feel like I was reading/watching these people's private lives play out in front of me. The emotional range I went through while reading was just plain crazy. I rooted for Daisy Jones and the other members of the band, but I also started to get frustrated with the choices being made and how little regard they had for each other when making those choices. All in all, Daisy Jones was a crazy journey through the world of rock and roll, but an emotional journey through the lives of people just trying to do what they love--make music.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Great fun, remembering rock and roll at it's best!
Sandy5 10 months ago
This was remarkable! I listened to this book on audio and I actually feel sorry for the people who read the book, I really do! With all the different individuals in the novel and how they constantly popped in and out of the conversation, I think reading this book would have been confusing to me. Whatever you do, read this book! I thought for sure, I was right back in the 70’s and thought I should be playing their record. Are we sure this story is fiction? I’m not going to rehash the whole story for you, as most of you have already heard it and if you haven’t, the deal is…..if you liked the 70’s music scene, you will enjoy this novel. It’s got music, friendships, family, passion, drugs, sex (just a bit), insecurities, heartaches, and lots of drama. It felt as if, the group occurred by accident. They fed off one another and at times, you could feel them pushing and pulling each other away. They were meant to be together yet at times, they mixed like oil and water. The sound they created was like no other, for what they played were not just words on paper but feelings that were hard to contain. I couldn’t wait to get back to this novel once I started it. As the group struggled, I didn’t cheer for any specific individual, I wanted the whole group to make it through to the top. I struggled with them through each drink, through each quarrel, and through each pill that was popped and each line that was consumed because I knew that all of these effected the group. And this group, I wanted to succeed. With each success, I was proud and couldn’t wait for the next one. I can’t tell you how many times I had to remind myself that this novel was fiction as I found myself drawn into the story, for I felt with this narration, they each were talking about their past. Go, Six and Go, Daisy!
miztrebor 12 months ago
I'm glad I listened to this book instead of read it. I don't think the format would work for me on the page, but it did in audio. With that said, I enjoyed the book to a point, but wasn't blown away by it like many others were. I feel the author did an amazing job creating the characters and the entire history of a band. But it just seemed like I was listening to a "behind the music" type documentary. Predictable seems like a strong word with a negative connotation. I think "nothing surprised me or strayed from the obvious" may fit a bit more. Again, it seemed like it was a real-life documentary of a band from that era. Not an insult at all since it can't be easy to create that from thin air, while at the same time, I've experienced it all before with real-life bands. What this book has accomplished is that it makes me want to read more from the author. If she can write a book like this, I'm really interested to see what she can create with other storylines and characters.
Bookyogi 12 months ago
The way to go with this book is to listen to it with its full cast which surprisingly, is easy to keep track. This made the book for me; I don’t think I would have enjoyed it as much if I didn’t listen to it. Daisy Jones & The Six is reminiscent of the old rockumentaries in VH1 Behind the Music. There are a few surprises but for the most part it reads as I expected as an oral history about a fictional mega-talented band in the 70s dealing with addiction, relationships and fame with what we have come to acquaint to the pitfalls of rock and roll.
Bookwormish-Me More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I’ve read all year. Yes, it’s totally hyped, but that doesn’t diminish what a great story this is. Daisy Jones is such a compelling character. She’s practically raised herself on Sunset Boulevard in the shadow of the great rock houses - the Troubador, the Whisky, the Rainbow. Daisy was born to be a star. As her friend Simone recounts in the book, “If the rest of the world was silver, Daisy was gold.” She’s who she is and doesn’t give a damn what anyone else thinks. The only attention Daisy might crave is that of her parents. But this is the 70s, and they are too self-absorbed to even realize when Daisy moves out of the house. Now add in a rock band from Pittsburgh. The Six was formed with the two Dunne brothers, Billy and Graham. Billy Dunne was born to be a star as well. He is beautiful and has the ability to draw all eyes to him. His wife Camila said, “Billy had charisma.” Along with the rest of The Six, Karen, Warren, Eddie and Pete, the band was doing well enough to start booking real gigs across the country. Eventually they moved to Los Angeles. And the rest is history. The Six hooked up with Daisy Jones. The combination of Daisy and Billy was magical. So the story goes. The format of the book was great. Relaying the info to the reader in magazine article format allowed the use of each person’s voice in an easy to follow way. The concept of Daisy as this magical waif who becomes a rock star is so possible back in those days. The Six could have been any of the bands that made it back then. I grew up in the shadow of Sunset Boulevard, so for me, this was like visiting home. While I was a good decade behind Daisy, I still have memories of visiting most of the places that Daisy visited. In this way the story became very real for me. Perhaps that was one reason I truly connected with it. I loved the Billy/Daisy story. And while Eddie felt it was all about Daisy/Billy, the novel really wasn’t. There were so many layers and characters that lent their voices to the story. Daisy/Billy may have been the headline, but there always is more to a story than just a headline. There were twists and unexpected occurrences. Surprises and not so surprising events. I truly could not put this one down. Taylor Jenkins Reid has written a novel to remember. Original review posted at http://bookwormishme.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That's right, 5 star review right here, and we don't take 5 stars lightly! Such an ingenuitive idea to write out a mock-documentary. So let's dig in. At first I was afraid this dynamic novel was overhyped and I'd been picking it apart from the start- 1. It was unexpected that it's more about The Six and their journey to stardom with a later addition of Daisy Jones to propel them 2. It started off so well written that I forgot I was reading a novel, like I was actually watching a documentary. As the novel progressed though that did fall away a bit. Understandably, the story had to build it's narrative so if the characters' proclamations were more detailed than you'd expect of a rock star that's a small sacrifice to make for the sake of the concept. I will say this, reserve your judgement until the very end. Because once u get there, any criticism u had will melt away. @tjenkinsreid thanks for making this novel so nuanced that you even included the song lyrics!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really+enjoyed+this+book%21+A+quick+romp+through+a+band%27s+trajectory+in+the+70s.+Told+in+the+style+of+Edie+by+Jean+Stein+and+George+Plimpton%2C+which+worked+most+of+the+time.+%28There+were+some+places+where+it+seemed+like+a+conversation+and+it+didn%27t+ring+through+as+an+interview.%29%0A%0AThe+distinct+personalities+of+all+the+characters+really+came+through.+Highly+recommend.%0A%0ANow+we+just+need+a+soundtrack%21%0A%0A
Doreena Silva More than 1 year ago
OMG!!!! I LOVED this book! I would have given it 10+ stars! Being the music fan that I am I could so relate to all the workings in this book. It was also awesome that it took place in the 70's my era as well! I get nervous reading a book that I read had such great reviews but this one deserved all it got and more! I love the style in which it was written not exactly sure what it's called but loved the per person point of view. I only wish Daisy Jones and the six were a real group cause those song lyrics and backstories to them are amazing! Oh and end note, I loved the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved++this+book%21+The+concept+very+interesting%21+
JMTJTC More than 1 year ago
"I had absolutely no interest in being somebody else's muse. I am not a muse. I am the somebody. End of f***ing story.” Genre: Historical Fiction Number of Pages: 368 Perspective: Multiple First Person Location: Los Angeles, CA This book takes place in the late sixties in the era of sex, drugs, and rock-and-roll. It is formatted in documentary-style transcripts and follows a band, The Six, who reluctantly accepts the alluring Daisy Jones as their second lead singer. I read this book as a part of our Judging More Than Just The Cover Book Club podcast. Check out the spoiler-filled discussion episode here: https://anchor.fm/judgingmorethan/episodes/Book-Discussion-Daisy-Jones-and-The-Six-by-Taylor-Jenkins-Reid-e3rtvn TL;DR: Fantastic behind-the-music-style mocumentary perfect for any lover of rock-and-roll. To read my full review, go here: http://judgingmorethanjustthecover.com/2019/04/review-daisy-jones-and-the-six-taylor-jenkins-reid.html
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
An accurate depiction of what fame can do to a person, to a band, to a family. Daisy Jones & The Six has been everywhere. It was chosen for Reese Witherspoon’s book club Hello Sunshine and so many of my reader friends have read it…or tried to. Not everyone has loved it, which is the way it goes when a book hits the scene with so much hype. I, however, loved it. I’ve not felt like this about a book in a long time. The story is about the beginnings of a fictional rock band called The Six during the late 60’s, well into the 70’s. Headed up by Billy Dunne, a writer and singer with talent coming out of his pores, The Six clearly has a sound that the record industry immediately notices. At the same time, Daisy Jones is this barefoot wisp of a thing. Young and strung-out on drugs, but possesses a voice and presence that is hard to ignore. Under the same record label as The Six, it’s only a matter of time before their manager tries to put the two of them together and their chemistry if off-the-charts. The crowd loves them. What happens when you put two, larger-than-life people together and ask them to share the stage? What happens to the rest of the band? What happens to Billy’s relationship with his wife and kids? What happens to Daisy as she slowly sinks ever deeper into a cloud of drugs, desperately wanting what other people have? Wow. Wow. Wow. The story started off slow but once I got into it, I could not turn the pages fast enough. Throughout the story there is this sense of doom that I could not shake. I had to know what it was. The format did not bother me. It’s written like a script so it’s not surprising that it’s slated to be a TV series soon. Reid mentioned that Fleetwood Mac might have been the inspiration behind the book. I can totally see it. What I cannot stress enough is how the story made me feel. It contains that classic mix of love and pain and recklessness and danger. Anyone who has experienced complicated love or love that makes you question everything you know to be true will get totally caught-up in this story. You don’t even have to love rock and roll to get it. This is a book you must experience for yourself. Read it. Feel it. That’s all I can say about it. Readers have said the audio book is fabulous so if you don’t like the script format perhaps that’s the way to go.
bookchelle More than 1 year ago
I have heard about Daisy Jones & The Six since before it’s release on March 5th. I also saw the multitude of bookstagram posts upon release. It was discussed by celebrities and mentioned in almost all of the relevant publications. Hype is an understatement. Daisy Jones & The Six is if Almost Famous was made with Florence and The Machines. I opted to listen to the audiobook rather than read the physical book because of the cast list. Jennifer Beals? Benjamin Bratt? I had a feeling that it was going to be an experience with such a stellar cast, and I wasn’t wrong. Daisy Jones & The Six is told in an interview collective of stories, chronologically recounting the stories of their start, their boom, and slowly revealing the secrets of their demise. As soon as Jennifer Beals began speaking, and breathing life into Daisy Jones, I knew I was hooked. Daisy’s story came to life, allowing me to become invested with this character that you yearned for. But don’t get me wrong, Daisy was not a victim. If anything, she was an inspiration and a force, giving me female power vibes straight from the 70s. The story of The Six isn’t any different. Their story was a timeline of sweat and tears of achieving your dreams. I never felt so devoted for a group of people to excel. Did I feel similar feelings when watching Bohemian Rhapsody? You bet. But The Six are a unique and special group that I had the pleasure of meeting. Reid’s writing is impeccable. I enjoyed the progression of the story and I was drawn in. All I thought about was Daisy’s story and how The Six played a part of her success. I found myself excited to get a moment of free time to listen to this amazing story. The cast was amazing. Regardless if it was told in an interview fashion, it was easy to picture these fictional characters because of how great these narrators were. I enjoyed every moment, and I’m already thinking about re-listening to the audiobook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading about a rock band would not have been my first choice but my book club was reading it and The Tattered Cover in Denver has never steered me wrong. I thought before I started it that I could be forgiven for saying this topic didn’t suit me since I am a generation older than the majority of our group. Once I started reading though it turns out that like any good story it had characters that you could really care about and a compelling narrative to tie it all together. I will definitely be looking for other Taylor Jenkins Reid books to read. She is masterful. Patricia Flach
Renwarsreads More than 1 year ago
This book is written in an interview format. I've never read a book like this before. I felt like it really kept the flow going and it was interesting to read what each character recalled, somewhat differently, than the other about their past. Following the rise of one of the greatest fictional bands of our time was such a bumpy ride, but I felt like I was there with them during their struggles and their rise to fame. This book easily conveyed how it felt to be around in the 70s and it has a little surprise twist at the end that I wasn't expecting!
cc27 More than 1 year ago
Taylor Jenkins Reid has a major hit with Daisy Jones and the Six. The format - each person's story in his or her own voice - is not my favorite, and I had anticipated not really enjoying the book. Instead, I absolutely loved it and read it in one sitting. The character of Daisy was inspired by the baby groupies of the 1970's. These young girls, ages 12 to 16, followed headlining bands to party with the band members. Although some people scream "child sexual abuse", the band members were actually victims of beautiful young ladies, who saw them as notches on a belt. Daisy Jones, at all of 16, is aging out of the baby groupies. She is a talented, although amateur songwriter, with an amazing voice. These talents land her a recording contract. Billy Dunne is the lead singer of a band called The Six. Their first album is a great success; however, the joys of a road tour - drugs, sex, and groupies - get the better of Billy. The band's second album is a struggle, so the studio forces Daisy Jones and Billy to work together This story chronicles the flaming stars of DaisyJones, Billly Dunne, and The Six as they rise to international fame, becoming , quite possibly, the greatest band in the world . Although the band is fictional, it accurately portrays a great rock band of the 1970's. It's also a realistic portrayal of the pop culture of the time, when the only things that mattered were sex, drugs, and rock and roll. This title is a walk down memory lane for those of us who came of age in the 1970's . I would highly recommend this title for anyone over the age of 16; however, parents should be strongly cautioned regarding the adult themes of the story. I cannot thank Net Galley and Ballantine Books for providing a free copy of this title for my review. #DaisyJonesandtheSix#NetGalley#BallantineBooks
CourtneyB More than 1 year ago
I picked this baby up and was filled with total sadness every time I had to put it down. (Do I really NEED my job??) I was nervous about the format of this book, as I knew it was written in interview format and I was so scared I would not be able to keep up or follow all the characters. There WERE a lot of characters to keep up with, but they're so well written. I fell in love with every member of The Six, even Eddy the Complainer. Each of their personalities really come out well, even in interview form, making it easy to follow right along. I will say the book is better listened to on audiobook. There is a full cast and it is just SO AMAZING. However, a couple times I was reading in public and it was just as easy to follow physically in the book. I found myself, more times than once, opening my Apple Music app to listen to the songs being described. I also found myself itching to Google The Six and read up on their history and all the hot gossip about them. I can't even tell you how many times I had to remind myself that these people aren't real! (It was like this for me as I read Evelyn Hugo, too. Damn you, Taylor.) It is so evident in her writing that Taylor really takes the time to do her research and incorporate as many real life references as she can in her stories, and I truly admire that. I found myself smiling so much during this book, and I believe it will stay with me a while. (I also recommend every single other Taylor Jenkins Reid book published so far. Her storytelling is phenomenal.)
LibrarianSGP More than 1 year ago
Forty years ago, Daisy Jones and The Six saw a meteoric rise culminating with one of the best-selling albums ever, then the band broke up in the middle of their tour. The reason was never known until the publication of this book, a series of interviews with band members and anyone else intimately involved with the group. It’s the classic rock and roll story: young, beautiful, neglected, rich groupie Daisy Jones hangs out at clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeps with musicians, takes way too many drugs, and dreams of a career as a singer/songwriter. A garage band from a small town with sexy, brooding front man Billy Dunne gets noticed by a big-name producer and is brought to LA to make music. Despite (or perhaps because) his girlfriend gets pregnant, Billy goes wild on their first tour, sleeping with fans and abusing both drugs and alcohol. When Daisy is brought in for one song, the chemistry between the two is undeniable, both on the stage and when writing songs together. But what happens when two uber-talented, self-destructive and volatile people have to share the spotlight? Reid has written a mesmerizing and unforgettable novel that is impossible to put down. Not only does it illuminate the exhilarating and tragic history of rock and roll, but, by calling on the memories of the characters, it also clearly demonstrates how contradictory perceptions of events can destroy relationships and drug and alcohol abuse can destroy lives. It makes your heart pound, it makes you cry, it makes you remember the magic of the ‘70s music scene. This is a tour de force! I received a complimentary ARC of this book from Ballantine through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Opinions expressed are completely my own.