Crown of Feathers (Crown of Feathers Series #1)

Crown of Feathers (Crown of Feathers Series #1)

by Nicki Pau Preto

Hardcover

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crown of Feathers (Crown of Feathers Series #1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
taramichelle More than 1 year ago
I read Crown of Feathers last weekend and I couldn’t put it down. I was completely enchanted by the story, the characters, and the writing. Crown of Feathers was told through two different points of view. I absolutely loved both of them and thought that they were equally engaging. It was fascinating to see how both main characters developed over the course of the novel. I thought that Nicki Pau Preto did a fantastic job of creating multi-dimensional characters that were all well developed. This book seriously had everything I love - spies, court politics, hate to love romance, sister relationships, found family, and magical beasts. The phoenixes were one of my favorite parts of the book! I’d highly recommend Crown of Feathers if you’re looking for a YA fantasy or going through Fantastic Beasts withdrawal. This is one of my only five star reads this year that wasn’t a reread. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
BeautyBookCorner More than 1 year ago
This was such a wild ride (pun intended). If you read the synopsis and was attracted to the concept of Phoenix Riders, you won't be disappointed. The animals are described with such power and beauty. The whole lore of flames and resurrections are also critical to the story as well. The book switches POVs between three characters: Veronyka, Tristan, and Sev. The story is also told in two settings. One takes place at the Phoenix Rider camp with Veronyka and Tristan. The other setting is with the empire soldiers where Sev is. For a good chunk of the book, you don't really see any connection between the two. There aren't any overlapping characters taking part in either setting, but it all comes together later. Veronyka is definitely the main character of this book. And she is ambitious, honorable, and brave. Her older sister, Val, is also ambitious, but with a cold ferocity that drives all her decisions. She speaks, attacks, and loves viciously. I found their dynamic really interesting and it definitely seems like things will get even deeper in later books. I found the world building to be pretty good. There is a lot of info dumping at first so I recommend that you flip to the handy dandy timeline and glossary at the back of the book. There aren't any spoilers for the story and may give you a clearer sense of the world. Between most chapters, there are pieces of information from past historical documents or letters between the two queens (who caused the civil war in the land) that give you a better understanding of the political climate or magic. In the present time, those who control animals (these include the Phoenix Riders) are living as slaves of the empire or in secret. A small group of Phoenix Riders have banded together to recruit and train male animages to become Phoneix Riders. Veronyka joins this group after leaving Val, but disguised as a boy. Phoenixes, dragons, and other magical animals have never been a big draw for me. I have always been more attracted to witches, sorcerers and more elemental magic systems, and any magical animals were a pleasant addition to the story. However, I really enjoyed the concept of animages and phoenixes having a deep soul bond, and how in this world, they become fierce warriors together. They feel each other's emotions and physical pain. I found myself becoming really emotional when reading about Veronyka and her bonded Phoenix. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters, magic, and land. If you love epic high fantasy, I don't think you will be disappointed. **Thank you to Netgalley and Simon Pulse for giving me a digital arc of the book in exchange for my honest review.**
ChristinaMarieReads 3 months ago
This book was absolutely amazing! Nicki Pau Preto created exactly the kind of world you'd want to get lost in and characters that are so easy to fall in love with. I cannot wait for the next installment!
CurrentChapter 3 months ago
This was AMAZING. I really didn't expect to love it this much, but OMG! I still don't understand why she needed to dress as a boy, but whatever, that isn't that important. I guessed two things in the book (which made me more excited about it), but I could have never guessed the twist in the end, and although this wasn't a thriller, it was more thrilling and unexpected than all thrillers I read lately. The characters were so different and so real, Veronyka is a perfect combination of fierce and vulnerable, Val is a twisted girl with complicated feelings, Sev is so precious, he wants so bad to do the right thing, but it’s hard for him, all of them have personal issues and that made them so real. The phoenixes were a different creature than what I expected, they are also so complicated and smart, I could feel their pain/frustration when people just couldn’t understand them (because humans are stupid). The pacing and the chapter cliffhangers were perfect, I was never bored. There is so much worldbuilding in this book that I feel like I could read a 10-book series on it, and a prequel, oh I want a prequel! And I need Heart of Flames now!! And I need a huge poster with a more detailed map! And more phoenixes, give me all the phoenixes, I’d love to read from a phoenix perspective. If you like YA fantasies, don’t delay reading this book any longer!
AFCTL 7 months ago
Um, Wow!? I was - no, am - so impressed with Nicki Pau Preto’s Crown of Feathers and I can honestly say that this book has ranked itself on my bookshelf both digitally and (soon to be) physically alongside ACOTAR and White Stag. I was captured from the first few pages, feeling a very similar relationship between Val and Veronyka as I did between Agatha and Sophie from School of Good and Evil, but that’s where all relations with other books finish. Crown of Feathers is a book like no others, and is pure genius. I was extremely impressed with the ease that I read the different POV’s, for each character had their own unique voice. It can be quite hard to do, for a lot of authors fall into the trp of using too similar mental voice and actions, and only changing their speaking style. I found no trace of these problems, and I was able to form my opinions of the story and characters very quickly, which did change with the story. I felt like a sprinkling more of foreshadowing would have really enhanced this story, and that I wish the suspense had been cut down slightly, but other than that I have no problems with Crown of Feathers. In fact I would say that I have the same agonising wait in front of me that I suffer with waiting for a new Shadow Hunter installment (which I may, or may not be, watching the Netflix adaptation of as I write this review :P). I will admit though, I am pretty sure the suspense issue is just me being impatient.
taramichelle More than 1 year ago
I read Crown of Feathers last weekend and I couldn’t put it down. I was completely enchanted by the story, the characters, and the writing. Crown of Feathers was told through two different points of view. I absolutely loved both of them and thought that they were equally engaging. It was fascinating to see how both main characters developed over the course of the novel. I thought that Nicki Pau Preto did a fantastic job of creating multi-dimensional characters that were all well developed. This book seriously had everything I love - spies, court politics, hate to love romance, sister relationships, found family, and magical beasts. The phoenixes were one of my favorite parts of the book! I’d highly recommend Crown of Feathers if you’re looking for a YA fantasy or going through Fantastic Beasts withdrawal. This is one of my only five star reads this year that wasn’t a reread. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
FadedPages More than 1 year ago
5/5 Stars I loved this book with my whole YA fantasy and mythical creature loving heart! It was everything I needed to pull me out of a mini reading slump. The story begins with the history of two sisters, one born without magic and one an animage and phoenix rider. Both sisters were fighting for the right to rule the kingdom until they tore it apart. Years later, two animage sisters, Val and Veronyka, are fighting as well, but to survive in a world where animages are imprisoned or enslaved and phoenix riders are something of legend. Veronyka ends up being betrayed by her sister and leaves to find the phonenix riders that she still believes exist. The overall story was complex, historical, and beautiful. I loved the inserted bits of phoenix legends and history here and there that truly added to the overall story and world building. It was pure fantasy magic! The reader really gets a sense of the diverse world through the stories and the many different points of view. I completely fell in love with the characters and creatures in this story. I loved the main characters and each point of view presented including Veronyka, Tristan, and Sev. The little bits with Sparrow really had me wanting a happy ending for her as well. She was just this little character that kept popping up and I absolutely loved her personality. I also enjoyed every single scene between Veronyka and Tristan. There was definitely a hate to friendship story going on and I loved that the author took the time to develop it. There was definitely several twists, lies and betrayals that unfurled along the way in this story that I didn't see coming. This book ripped my heart out in the beginning with the certain betrayal scene hinted at with Veronyka and Val. It's been awhile since I had to put a book down from reading an emotional scene, but I definitely had to at that point. I felt it went beyond backstabbing. The villains in this book were truly hate-worthy even if some are slightly gray area in the morality department. It took me awhile to pick the story back up after that scene, but it completely set everything in motion. The pacing of the story was good, but I felt it went faster after Veronyka goes in search of the phoenix riders. Overall, I loved this book and believe it will easily be one of my favorites I read this year! I highly recommend this book if you love phoenixes, mythical creatures, sister rivalry stories, girls in disguise, a little hate to love romance in your fantasy, LGBT side characters, stories within stories, history with your world building and multiple POVs! Thank you so much to Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing for allowing me the chance to read this ebook through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I truly appreciate it and will be waiting in fiery anticipation for the sequel!
shahnachristine 3 months ago
I really really liked it. My emotions hurt. I don't want to wait until next year for book two. *cry face*
Anonymous 3 months ago
I fell so madly in love with this book and Characters, the world and the magic. There we’re so many times I thought I knew what was going to happen and then I was like oh dangggg!!!! She created a one of a kind world for you to get lost in!
KatsNook 10 months ago
4 Stars for Crown of Feathers Crown of Feathers is the stunning debut from author Nicki Pau Preto. Get ready for an exciting adventure with action, friendship, family drama and magical phoenixes! What did I like? • I was drawn into the story from the first chapter. Veronyka and her sister Val are war orphans and have been surviving by hiding their true identities. The sisters are animages, people with the power to control and communicate with animals. Veronyka has idolized the legendary heroes, the Phoenix Riders, and dreams of becoming a rider. But Val doesn’t agree with Veronyka’s hero worshipping. Right away you sense the tension between the sisters and this drama is what kept me engaged. When Veronyka is betrayed by her sister she begins a journey to find the Phoenix Riders. But joining the heroes comes with a price. Girls are not accepted as Phoenix Riders and Veronyka disguises as a boy to follow her dream. As Veronyka tries to deceive others I couldn’t help but anticipate trouble and the author fulfills it with interesting twists. Even though it became predictable I still enjoyed the suspense of her secret being revealed. • The story is told in alternating POV’s and I enjoyed viewing the subplots come together. Besides Veronyka’s POV, readers meet Tristan, the son of the leader of the Phoenix Riders, and Sev, an Empire soldier hiding his animage abilities. • The world building is exciting and imaginative. I’ve always loved phoenixes and I enjoyed how the author depicted them as intelligent, loyal and affectionate. • The diversity in characters is always great to see. What didn’t I like? • The pace of the story is slow due to a lot of information and the alternating POV’s. But the final chapters are filled with action and everything comes together. I am still surprised with the ending. Overall the Crown of Feathers is an impressive debut and beginning of a new series. I can’t wait for the next book!
HugsandKissesforBooks 10 months ago
Great beginning to a new fantasy series! Thanks to NetGalley, Edelweiss and Simon Pulse for the opportunity to read and review Crown of feathers by Nicki Pau Preto! Val and Veronyka are sisters who can communicate with animals (animages) and convince the animals to do their bidding. The sisters also have that same effect on people (shadowmages). The law prohibits this behavior, so the sisters are in hiding and they have been for years, alone and on their own, moving from place to place to survive and hunt for Phoenix eggs to rejuvenate the Phoenix riders. They discover two eggs and one hatches; the Phoenix chick chooses Veronyka instead of the elder sister Val. Sev is a soldier by choosing service instead of punishment for his crimes. He accidentally sees Veronyka and her Phoenix, Xyphera, while Raiders are attacking her cabin. Sev and a prisoner help her escape the notice of the raiders. Later, Val kills Xyphera because she thinks Veronyka has raised her poorly. This breaks Veronyka’s heart and she leaves Val behind to search for Phoenix eggs and Phoenix riders on her own. During her search, Veronyka meets Sparrow, an animage with a bird companion named Chirp. Tristan is a Phoenix rider who’s afraid of fire and he feels like he’s a constant disappointment to his father. The group of Phoenix riders that Veronyka finds only accepts boys and Sparrow gives her the idea to pose as a boy, becoming Veronyka’s “brother”, Nyk. Nyk meets Tristan, the son of the Phoenix riders’ Commander. They have a tumultuous relationship for a while because Tristan is under his father’s thumb. Everything comes to a head when Nyk sees Val in the crowd! Veronyka’s life becomes much more complicated after Val shows up and many truths are revealed, leaving Veronyka questioning everything about who she is. 5 stars for this complex and unique fantasy! * I received a complimentary copy of this book for voluntary review consideration and all opinions and thoughts are my own.
OpinionatedTurnip 11 months ago
What I Liked The start of this book took me a second to get my head around, but once I was in, I was IN. This fantasy kingdom is very well laid-out and there's some incredible world building moments in it. Veronyka's kindness juxtaposed to Val's controlling coldness is very well done, and Val's manipulation is characterized so well I found myself getting SO ANGRY AT HER. The other POV characters, Sev and Tristan, are done very well. I kinda like Sev more than I like Tristan, but hey, maybe that's just me. What I Would Have Liked to See Like I said, the beginning was sort of choppy trying to catch the reader up on the deep history of this world. I think upon re-read, I'd like the beginning a lot better. My Favorite! The history of the Phoenix Riders, and the history and heritage of this world altogether. It's gorgeous and so imaginative! I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE SECOND BOOK! TL;DR The legendary Phoenix Riders are attempting to rise from their own ashes and retake their kingdom, and a war orphan of mysterious lineage might be the champion they need--if she can survive the empire that wants them all dead. P.S. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for my honest review. All thoughts are my own!
Anonymous 3 months ago
This is honestly one of my favorite books of the year so far. I received it in the February Owlcrate box but didn't actually pick it up until end of April - and boy am I glad I did! Phoenix Riders, Strong Female Leads, a 'mulan' ish plot, LGBT+ romance, and TONS of plot twists. The first bit of the story is a heavy info dump, but I thrive in that kind of world building and detail so I was hooked from the start. The plot twists were expected, but also not which was fun to try to piece together. The characters were incredible and I just need more! Absolutely a 5 out of 5 star read for me and one of my all time favorite books!
Anonymous 12 months ago
This was awesome.
eclecticbookwrm More than 1 year ago
This book was a bit of a slow burn with a slow start that took me a while to get into. But once I got into it, I was 100% there for it. I adored the ending and cannot wait to see where Pau Preto takes things next. The world and characters and phoenixes are so excellent. If you a fan of epic historical fantasies with intricate world histories, this is the book for you. .The ending was action packed and held more than a few surprises. I highly recommend it for fans of Brandon Sanderson and the like.
Littlebookqueen More than 1 year ago
When I first read the synopsis for Crown of Feathers I thought it sounded amazing and just knew I had to read it and from the very first line I was hooked. The whole concept of phoenix-riding warriors sounded epic and the fact that the main character had to disguise herself as a boy was also really intriguing to me. There are two alternating story lines that take place throughout the novel and they are so intricately woven together. The way that Nicki connects the two is so clever and when you see some of the connections revealed, they’re shocking but make sense when you look back at them. This story really sets itself apart from other YA fantasy. I got major Tamora Pierce vibes from it and it is the kind of quality story that seems to be missing from this genre now days. So many YA books consist of the same tropes and cliches but, Crown of Feathers is in a league of its own. It’s heartbreaking, inspiring, heartwarming, and downright amazing! My emotions were all over the place with this one. You don’t get the corny insta-love relationships that are rushed and so often don’t seem genuine. The relationships are built over time and express more by what isn’t said. The chemistry between both sets of characters is done very well and you can really see how these characters and their relationships grow throughout the story. And can we give a huge round of applause for POC main characters AND LGBTQ representation! Veronyka was a great main character and I loved seeing her character growth throughout the book. No matter what obstacles she encountered, she didn’t let anything stand in the way of her dream. Not to mention her magical powers were bad ass and I may or may not have been jealous of a fictional character. Plus, she was bonded to an adorable phoenix! Sev (the other main character was written very well also. Like Veronyka, he wasn’t going to let anything stand in the way of what he was trying to accomplish. For him, this meant doing whatever it took to survive, even going as far as hiding his powers when arrested in order to become a soldier as opposed to a slave. Veronyka’s sister, Val was purely evil and manipulative, creating the perfect villain that you love to hate. Towards the end of the book I still found that I despised her yet, I am very curious to see what role she will play in the next book. The world that Nicki has created is utterly amazing and I adored all the small details and history built into the story. She has created characters that people will fall in love with and a story that will ensnare readers everywhere. Overall, I felt that Crown of Feathers is a one of a kind tale and I just loved everything about it. Rating: All the stars in existence (but, seriously this book is amazing!)
bookchelle More than 1 year ago
My friend Mary told me about Crown of Feathers, when it was first announced. She said, and I quote, "If you don't love this book as much as I do, then we can't be friends anymore." That is high praise for this book, so I knew it was going to be a win-win reading situation. Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto is fantasy, through and through. We have a hidden society, missing heirs, and a magic system that has been banned from life. Did I mention that there are phoenixes AND phoenix riders? Yup. Fantasy, through and through. The story of two sisters, that are the light and dark of a bond already sold me. Meeting Veronyka and Avalkyra Ashfire has been one of the most interesting things that has happened to me in the fantasy world. This story is epic, filled with adventure and wonderment, but above all, the story of love and all that it has to offer and take away. Pau Preto's writing is wonderful, and such a great fit for this story. I loved the prose, the nuances, and the dialogue used when telling this tale. I loved Val, and had the softest heart for Veronyka. Did I love and hate? You bet. Was I afraid and cheer? Definitely. There is darkness in this book. Mentions of death, bones, war. It is important to the story, but this is a warning to you. It's a fantasy book, and Pau Preto doesn't hold anything back. You're going to need this book in your life, and then once you're done, you'll cry for the year until the next book comes. But it's worth the tears, because your heart will feel stronger from it. *Thank you to the publisher for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.*
Anonymous 16 days ago
4 stars! I love the idea of pheonix riders, and I love the character and the plotlines twining together. The atmospheric writing, the twists and turns of the story, all drew me in. The pacing fell a bit short for me and the book seemed to drag in the middle. I really enjoyed the relationship that Veronyka and Val struggled through, and the ending was great! Can't wait for book two!
TheGreatBookEscape 25 days ago
Easy 5⭐️ Book for me; it was both Fiery and Addicting. Could not put this book down! I have not had a book hangover like this is a while. To be honest, the last time was after reading my favorite book series for the very first time. I COULD NOT touch any other books for what felt like forever. This was that for me. I took me weeks before I was able to even open my heart to new characters. This writing, the action, intrigue, magic, mystery, feelings, it was everything and it was perfection. The characters to be are so intriguing and their arcs in this novel was well done. I can't choose one over the other because they all grabbed me. That ending though!!! If you're interested, you can find my mind all over the pages of my book, because it was blown. What a way to keep a reader hungry for more with-out completely torturing them. My ONLY problem now is that I have to wait for the second book and can’t immediately dive back into this craziness that is Crown of Feathers. Well done Nicki Pau Preto, well freaking done. Thank you for this
xLizaMarietVS 26 days ago
What an amazing ride! Nicki Pau Preto has built an incredible world that you can get lost in. Her characters are interesting and I found myself wanting to know everything about them. From the moment I saw a quote from the book I knew I needed to read it, and I am so glad I did! This book is absolutely incredible, and I could not put it down until it was done. You should definitely check it out if you are a fan of Game of Thrones. You won't be disappointed!
Niffler_Reads 26 days ago
4.5 This book is huge, it’s four pages under 500 pages so I buddy read this with the lovely Lau, we read 100 pages a day This book is done from three points of view, Veronyka, who is our main character who wants to become a Phoenix Rider, Tristan an apprentice Phoenix Rider and animage and lastly Sev, a military solider for the empire whose a secret animage. Veronyka is surviving with her sister Val, on the search for Phoenix eggs, they are both animages and shadowmages but when Veronyka has had enough of Val’s ways she runs off to find the Phoenix Riders to join them. I love Veronyka’s character, she’s strong and brave and I think she does what she thinks is right without being mean or demanding. When connecting with animals, she treats them more as equals and doesn’t demand that they listen and follow her orders unlike every other animage and especially like her sister. To become a Phoenix Rider, Veronyka has to pose as a boy as they won’t take girls but she finally feels at home and is making friends and making her stand along with the Riders to earn her place for when an egg turns up. Then her sister turns up and a lot is revealed about her sister. Veronyka’s chapters were my favourite ones, they held the most information and I found it was the most interesting story out of the three! Tristan’s chapters I did like just not as much as Veronyka’s and I liked reading about his story about his struggles. However Sev’s chapters I wasn’t overly bothered about, there weren’t many chapters of Sev’s but his chapters do add a little bit to the story and some backstory, but I do hope if he’s got points of view in the next book that they’re more interesting and more between him and Kade I found that the blurb gave away the main plot reveal that happened at the end of the book, I don’t want to say what it was exactly in case no one else guesses it, but all I’ll say is I knew throughout the entire book about Val. So this and Sev’s chapters are the only reason that I haven’t given this a full 5 stars! I’m really looking forwards to book two, I can’t wait to find out what happens in the next one, this book was incredible and engaging, the plot was good and I didn’t find that there were too many dull moments, like I said the only bit I found a little bleh was Sev’s chapters. Anyway, not sure if you need any more convincing beyond the the fact there’s Phoenixes in it!
DayBug 26 days ago
If you love kick butt females mixed with an incredibly fantasy driven tail of siblings, love and loss than you NEED this book in your life! Hamds down one of my top reads of the year!
Anonymous 27 days ago
What an amazing find! Crown of Feathers has everything a fast-paced, YA fantasy should have. The characters are complex and relatable and the world is rich and teeming with a lush history that is wonderfully interwoven throughout the story. I felt like the pacing was just right, and I always found myself wanting to read and read until the very last page without feeling like I was being rushed or the plot was lagging in any way. The system of magic within the book itself was also beautiful, and I love the way it explored relationships between people and animals. A major theme throughout the book is interpersonal relationships both from a family and romantic perspective. I cannot WAIT to see what book two has in store. 10/10 would recommend this book!
USOM 27 days ago
(Disclaimer: I received this free book from Edelweiss. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.) Crown of Feathers is a book about sisters. It's about relationship that form you. That break you. It's a book about loyalty, about finding a cause to fight for, and people to form a community. I knew, based on that gorgeous cover, I would want to read this book. But when it was compared to Daine from Wild Magic, my favorite Tamora Pierce series, I knew I had to pick it up. I wasn't disappointed. While there's a lot of information, history, and mythology to get through (resulting in sections with lots of information), by the end you will be utterly sold.
bookishbrianna 29 days ago
Mulan meets A Song Of Ice and Fire! This book is filled with vivid descriptions and interesting backstory / world history. It’s a story about belonging, friendship, and family. This story is told through alternating perspectives; Veronyka and Tristan’s points of view are my favourite chapters. I love the bond between them and I’m extremely excited to see how it extends to their bondmates. This is one of my new favourite epic fantasy series and I cannot wait for the next book.