Crossed Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #4)

Crossed Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #4)

by Carolyn Haines

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crossed Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #4) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was easily hooked on the Sarah Booth Delaney Series. She is such a likeable character,along with best friend,Teeney.Great detectives figuring out each case at the very end of the book.One cannot ommit the resident ghost,Jitty,who appears to Sarah Booth with advise,sometimes needed..other times only to be ignored.
SummerH More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth is at it again! This time she is hired to defend a man who is being charged in the murder of a blues club owner and player. She is quickly told by Scott that he doesn't want her help but being that she wasn't hired by him, she continues on the case, only to find herself falling for this man, yet having stronger feelings for the sherrif. The town of Zinnia is about to fall apart with all of the racial activities, but in the end everything comes back together and Sarah Booth is again left alone with no man. Like the other books, this one will leave you suspecting quite a few people of this murder to only be surprised at the end to who it actually was. Every book leads me to wanting Sarah Booth to fall in love with a certain man, but I just can't stop wanting her to be with the sherrif even though he is married, but not happily.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Mississippi Delta and her home Dahlia House are in Sara Booth¿s Delaney¿s blood. She will do almost anything in her power to keep them both, even work as a private detective. Almost anything excludes marrying a man from her social set and letting him take care of her even though Jitty, the ghost of her great great great grandmother nanny, wants the last Delaney married. Sarah Booth is enjoying the land, her house and her dog when she is dragged into the homicide investigation of the famous blues musician, Ivory Keys. His wife Ida Mae Keys wants Sarah Booth to prove that while blues singer Scott Hampton didn¿t kill his friend and employer Ivory. The two men met in prison and shared a vision that music could be the bridge between the races. Circumstantial evidence points to Scott as the perpetrator and if Sarah Booth doesn¿t find the real perpetrator soon, the town of Zinnia will erupt into violence. CROSSED BONES is a well-written colorful mystery that gives the reader some terrific insight into the workings of a small southern town. The heroine is strong, independent and straightforward, and not your typical southern belle; while her partner is all those things and lends a sense of comic relief to the plot when it begins to boil. Sarah Booth is attracted to the bad boy musician but not enough to give him her heart while the man she really wants reconciles with his wife. Readers will empathize and sympathize with the heroine, hoping she will get the perpetrator and collect her fee. Harriet Klausner
jepeters333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Southern belle and amateur sleuth Sarah finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation.
Squeex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
CROSSED BONES is now my favorite of the Mississippi Delta Mystery series. Granted it's darker than the ones I've listened to previously, but it still maintained the touches of humor and had the wonderfully written characters, especially Sarah Booth, Jitty, and Tinky who have become friends I've grown to love and look forward to hanging with each visit.Another part that made it such a great listen is the blues music that threads throughout. I don't know when I started listening to and loving the blues, but it's been a huge part of my music collection (and part of what brought DH and I together). So that added magic to the listening of this book, too. In the description from the back of the audibook, it says that this is an amateur sleuth mystery. I disagree. Sarah Booth and Tinky have moved way beyond amateur. They are proven private investigators with a fairly solid track record. And they get paid! Not amateurs any longer. If the series requires a label, it's a suspense mystery with humor tucked in. Five not amateur anymore beans.....
tulikangaroo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The thing I enjoy most about these books is that Carolyn Haines thoroughly conveys the mood of the Delta - the land, the history, and the people. It's such a pleasure to go on a journey with Sarah Booth and her quirky friends (alive and otherwise). Good stuff.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the fourth in the "Bones" series and these books just keep getting better and better. The characters have developed personalities of their own and I have a hunch that Ms. Haines has quite a show going on in her head while writing these books. They just have the feel of something that takes off on its own and goes where the characters want to take it. All Haines has to do is pay attention and write everything down to share it with the world. Excellent story, terrific characters, easy flow to the book -- what's not to love? This series is one of my favorites. 5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago