Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Series #2)

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Series #2)

by Leigh Bardugo

Hardcover

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Series #2) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hands down the best two books I've ever read. No mourners, no funerals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Leigh Bardugo is a mastermind of the heist novel once again! I cannot wait to see what this author brings to life next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so worth the wait. I my thought when will Kaz get the girl
Anonymous 18 days ago
Wonderfull
Marleene 11 months ago
This is the second and last book in the Six of Crows duology and here we follow the team as they seek to get their hands on the money they think they deserve and also to push down the man that betrayed them from his upstanding position. Crooked Kingdom is a well-crafted sequel to a very good book, but I do find that it’s not as great as its prequel. Crooked Kindom has the same great cast as the first book, and Bardugo manages her cast well and gives the reader plenty of insights to their lives, their backstories and their rolls in the current heist. She had a way of making sure that the full scheme of the heist is never fully revealed to the reader, which is what makes it so interesting to read and I love when there are twists and turns that surprises me in a book like this. The fun thing about a good heist story is that feeling of not really understanding how they did it until it’s all explained afterwards, and Leigh Bardugo does this well. All of her characters are also very fleshed out and they all have backstories that makes them into who they are and who makes them feel like real people. They are not flawed and wounded, yet strong and compassionate at the same time. I rarely felt like they were stereotypes or caricatures of what a normal person would be, and I love that they are so different and yet so much alike and, in the end, forms a friendship that is hard to break apart. In this book I enjoyed Wylan's and Jasper's chapters the most, which is a bit of a surprise since they were the characters I cared the least for in Six of Crows. And I loved their relationship, the way their stories were brought to life and how I got to know these two characters even more. Kaz and Inej, however, just faded into the background and annoyed me more than it intrigued me. Kind of disappointed about that. Compared to Six of Crows though, this book lacks the momentum that I loved so much and Crooked Kingdom seems to want to do so much that it sometimes gets dragging and boring to read. There are some POVs in the story that isn’t as interesting as others here, and I found myself wanting to skip parts and get back to the good stuff. In particular I didn’t enjoy Inej story this time, she didn’t do much and her role in the heist and the story as a whole seemed to be there only to push Kaz’s story forward. And like I said, there were so many things going on here that made it hard to keep focus at times. I don’t want to go in to detail though since that would spoil the story for those who haven’t read it. And just as in the first book, this one had that weird first chapter that more or less was completely unrelated to the story and I feel like they should be cut because they don’t do anything, at least not for me. The ending for me felt a bit rushed, like there wasn’t enough space to give the ending the time that it needed. I don’t mind the ending per se, but when two books are basically wrapped up on just two pages at the end, things feel a bit forced and it was hard to really believe what was happening. But still, this is a great book and one that I recommend to anyone looking for a good heist novel with complicated ad morally gray characters. I’m giving it a solid 3.5 stars out of 5 and I also want to end by saying that I personally love the way Leigh Bardugo writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's written so well. I laughed, I cried, and I'm amazed at how much I loved this book, and I'm so sad it's ended
Evelina_AvalinahsBooks More than 1 year ago
Point #1: Crooked Kingdom is awesome and totally deserves a longer review. Point #2: But it's also a sequel, and who likes reviewing sequels? Also, you've probably all read it already, so I'll be preaching to the choir..? For me it's especially hard because I bought the book straight after finishing Six of Crows, and they sort of translated into a single book for me. So there's not much more I can say about Crooked Kingdom that I already haven't said in my Six of Crows review (minus the spoilers, maybe.) I just know that I hope there WILL BE a third part! Because I simply cannot deal with that ending regarding some of the characters which were unjustly eliminated!! The things I loved best in this book, ordered by importance: - Inej - Inej and Kaz - Inej though. - How fleshed out Wylan was!!! And everything about him! He was the characters most overlooked in the first book, and I was so happy that he got so much more attention in this one. - Nina and Matthew's relationship and all about them as well – it made up a really enjoyable part of the book for me. JUSTIFIED REVENGE. Dayum! - I'm sure I'm forgetting something. Is it Inej, by any chance..? Anyway. This is a series that is definitely worth reading, and if you haven't picked it up yet, now's your chance. I'm all for avoiding hyped books – you know me, but this one? You've got to try this one!
Jill Jemmett More than 1 year ago
This book is another amazing story from Leigh Bardugo! Leigh’s writing is amazing. I felt immersed in the world immediately. And the story started right away. Kaz was in the middle of a heist when the story began. The end of the book returned to that first mission, so the story came right back around. I love that the stories are complex. When things went wrong in Six of Crows, it seemed like a mistake, but Kaz had planned it. When I read these stories, I can’t imagine the planning Kaz would have had to make. And in reality, I can’t imagine how Leigh writes these complicated stories. I just love them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Crooked Kingdom gets a very quick start as Kaz and his crew come up with a plan to save Inej, who at the end of Six of Crows was taken hostage by Wylans father Van Eck. There is a clear cut line of good and evil in Crooked Kingdom with Kaz, Nina, Matthias, Jesper, Wylan and Inej all cast on the side of good, even though they are the best of the worst part of Ketterdam. Van Eck is an easy villain in comparison with Wylan who is the angel among thieves, and the easiest to identify with in the crew. Kaz, as the mastermind behind all of their plans plays puppeteer to all of their marionettes. Even as I tried to figure out the plans direction and guess as to the outcome it would change on a dime and I would try to read faster to play catch up. Crooked Kingdom had a beginning, middle and end I just didn’t end up where I thought the path was leading and it was wonderful! Crooked Kingdom showed an advancement in the relationship of all of the players. Kaz and Inej, Wylan and Jesper, Nina and Matthias all grew as individuals but also as couples. There wasn’t any time for more than a kiss here and there but the emotions behind those kisses were long drawn out and well thought. I was not disappointed in the final outcome to any of these players parts, although I did have a couple of teary moments. We got to know each of them and their reasons behind their actions so that even if I didn’t agree morally with what I thought they were doing I did understand why. Bardugo did a great job of making a band of miscreants honorable and likable. I rooted for them to outsmart their opponents and enjoyed the exchange of wits. I know that I have not said anything about the plot of this book. I really feel that whatever I have to say can not do the intricacies of this plot any justice. All I can say is that I loved getting to know all of these characters and enjoyed reading their story. One last thought on the city of Ketterdam. I am glad that it is a fictional destination. I would fear for any tourist who docked their ship in the bay where a sign reading Enter Ye At Your own Risk No Mourners, No Funerals greets their gaze.
Tesa Kizziar STUDENT More than 1 year ago
Shawscribbles More than 1 year ago
Leigh Bardugo is solid in this sequel to the Six of Crows. Interestingly, even though I didn’t read the first book (my only Bardugo novel was Shadow and Bone, which I loved), I was completely engaged with Kaz’s story. For me, Bardugo writes the kinds of books I love: strong characters, fast paced action, and plot lines that are intriguing. Both books I’ve read by her have fallen into the “can’t put down” category. Looking for an entertaining and engaging read? Crooked Kingdom will definitely meet your needs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A special treat for me. I really enjoyed the time it took to read it.
DarqueDreamer More than 1 year ago
Crooked Kingdom is the epitome of a perfect book. This heart racing sequel to Six of Crows will have you you the edge of your seat. Praise is well deserved for this action packed adventure! The Plot: In the aftermath of "the impossible heist" things continue to turn dangerous for Kaz and his crew. The deadly group of misfits must overcome more obstacles to re-unite and escape the world of hell that is raining down on them from all corners of the kingdom... Oh, the feels!! I never thought I would be calling a sequel my new favorite book, but...Crooked Kingdom is my new favorite book! Leigh Bardugo has delivered perfection. Yes, it is a sequel, but it honestly reads well enough that you don't necessarily have to read Six of Crows (though I HIGHLY recommend reading it, as they are a pair and Six of Crows was fantastic). The author has done an incredible job with catching you up in the beginning of the story so, no matter how long its been since you finished book 1, you don't feel like you need to re-read it to be kept up to date. This story holds laughter, sadness, pity, admiration, fear, action, adventure, justice, revenge, and death. The book quickly jumps in to action, as there is never a dull moment. We learn more about the characters through flashbacks that are both relevant to the current story and a perfect length as to not digress too much in to the past but still help us learn exactly who they are. The characters are further developed with astounding backstory and we grow even closer to each one of them. There is so much emotion in the heartbreaking stories of each character that drives them to be the exceptional criminals that they are. The plot twists of the story are amazing. Bardugo does an exceptional job with keeping us guessing at every turn. Just when you think Kaz has been out-schemed, he pulls another scheme out of his sleeve! Each situation has a surprising, unexpected outcome that still fits and makes sense in hind sight. This duology has ensured the fact that I will read every book by Leigh Bardugo that I can get my hands on, no questions asked. Crooked Kingdom gets all the stars and moves to my number 1 read for 2017! Don't miss out on this amazing adventure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookWorm221 More than 1 year ago
I have so many mixed feelings about this book, I mean I loved it because of course I did buuuuut there were some things that I didn’t quite liked and I can’t talk about them because SPOILERS! But if you’ve read this book you know what I’m talking about, I was so very disappointed but at the same time it made some sense for it to happen. The writing was as superb as the first book and from page one I found myself completely immerse in the story and the characters. It seemed like there was always something going on, each chapter ended on a cliff hanger and it was impossible to not turn the page and keep reading even if it was really late and I needed to go to sleep. The character development for Kaz in particular was very well done, his progression was very slow and you can tell he still has some work cut out for him but I’m glad for him at the end of the book. This world was one that was easy to get lost in and I’m now wondering if I should have read the Grisha Trilogy first because I’m afraid this book does spoil some things from those book and I’m not sure if getting lost in the story is going to be easy knowing what I think I know, so please let me know if I should give the trilogy a chance.
booknerd09 More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best written book by this author. Incredible character dev; very immersive story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story. How could I expect less from such a great author? This book truly puts you into another world full of adventure, suspense, and excitement. Probably the most impressive part was the large quantity of unique characters, each to which I loved and connected to. Highly highly reccomend!
Morgan_S_M More than 1 year ago
Truly some of the best world building, best plotting, and most complex, interesting, weirdly likable characters I've ever read about. I think I liked Six of Crows a teensy bit more but this was a masterclass in scheming and plotting, and seeing it all come together as things fell apart was mind boggling. There is nothing I love more than a good reveal scene in books and movies. And the friendships! And the ships!! These people shouldn't have been friends in any sense but they were and it was real and I loved that. This book gave me a lot of Feels and a few teary lumps in the back of my throat while keeping up with awesome banter and black humor. I also thought it was left in a really satisfying place but because you can imagine these characters' lives, it would be easy to hope for another book in the future someday. Now excuse me, I have some tumblring to do.
BookandSword More than 1 year ago
It is hard to write a book review when your personal feelings about it scream injustice. But I am going to try. There is always a speculation about reading Grisha trilogy before the Six of Crows duology, but I will say that you don’t have to. Not reading Grisha before Crows does not spoil the experience of it, however it does give away some of the events that happened in Grisha trilogy. I liked six of Crows fourth of a star more than I liked the Crooked Kingdom, so my rating for this book is 4.75/5. Don’t get me wrong, this book is flawlessly played – the plot, the twists, the humor, the characters, it’s all quite spectacular. I just didn’t feel like the justice was delivered to those who deserved it the most, and that left me a little bitter. Okay, maybe more than a little! Bardugo must be a ninja of writing, because I did not see any of her twists coming. At one point I literally stared at the page not believing what I was reading. Also if somebody told you that this book is full of merchant’s talk, political conspiracies and business strategies, you might think that it would be very boring. Well, it’s anything, but boring! Takes a skill to write about such dull things in such an edge gripping manner. Altogether this was a perfectly executed fantasy, with twists and turns that always kept me on the edge. Kaz’s brilliance and the way he always was ahead of a game, even when it all seemed lost, was invigorating to read. He is truly one of the most dimensional and badass characters ever created. None of them was a “hero”, they just were a bunch of hurt, but talented misfits, and that made them all very lovable. Together those two books make a perfect set worthy of an "all time favorites" shelf.
pineappletop92 More than 1 year ago
Once again, Leigh Bardugo's characters are what make this book shine, despite its dark grittiness. The depth and the anguish and their individual flaws and hidden pains all mix together to create characters that feel alive on the page and almost so real you can believe they are not. I thought that most of them had already gone through their character growth arcs in Six of Crows, but of course that is wrong because they all still had so much more to overcome. And in this book they blossomed and grew, revealing even more about themselves and discovering more too. The story itself felt like it moved in fits and starts, with action happening one moment followed by planning or preparing for the next move, and for some reason this felt very up and down in terms of the pace and movement of the book to me, like someone constantly hitting the accelerator in a car and then letting go of it, only to hit it again a second later, and just keep repeating. There were some excellent moments of course, and I still enjoyed the complexity of all the schemes that appeared throughout the book, but for some reason I did not feel as excited as with Six of Crows, perhaps because it was one thing right after another. Overall, though, this was an excellent sequel to Six of Crows, it rounded everything up wonderfully (although I am still not sure how I feel about Matthias at the moment), and just cemented into my heart how much I love the complexity of these characters.