The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes

The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes

Paperback(1st Vintage classics ed)

$21.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Langston Hughes has been my favorite poet since i was younger!I am only 13 but i love poety espically by Langston Hughes His Poem Dreams really inspired me the most..Hold fat unto you Dreams...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Some people can pick up and write poetry.But without meaning the words which they write are nothing.But heart and soul woven together create the poems which langston Hughes writes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am in constant awe of the words penned by Mr. Hughes. His works remain the catalyst for my writing career. He inspies me to write, and to be true in my words. I can never fill his shoes, but I gladly and humbly follow in his footsteps.
ostrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my most favorite collections of poetry. Rampersad and Roessel did a great job.
HHS-Students on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Marshaye (Class of 2010)This is a book full of different poems that Langston Hughes wrote out his life. There a lot of poems you can relate to or just enjoy.
whitewavedarling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is probably my favorite collected collection of poetry. As a whole, Hughes' work is more worthwhile and musical than any other poet I can think of, and is capable of working on the most inexperienced reader of poetry just as much as the more experienced reader. I believe anyone can find something they'll love in this book, and will have to be touched by his words and thoughts, as well as the jazz that floats throughout the whole collection. Absolutely worthwhile to add to any collection.
beau.p.laurence on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
hughes was one of the best poets of 20th century America. he combined Black slang, poetic form, and biting social commentary. an important person to have read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of Langston Hughes for a while now. The poems in this book are ones that I have read personally for years. Reading Hughes' poems it brings you back to the heart and soul of the time where he lived.  Langston predominately wrote about the hardships or what was happening during the Harlem Renaissance.  His poems are a favorite of many because it can relate to pretty much anyone. His poem Harlem could be referred to a person’s dream. He compares a dream to a raisin because a raisin is dried and shriveled up like how a dream could be if left if someone does not act upon it.  Though his subjects are still relatable now, they were made to depict the low-life that Langston knew. Langston knew that being a black was tough. So he wrote about it in a way that not just blacks could understand. His poems portrayed struggle, joy, laughter, and music. Langston had no boundaries of what he wrote about. Writing about dreams or stereotypes were not a problem for Langston. Since he was one of the few prominent black writers he was an inspiration for many other writers and even artists.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ltown05 More than 1 year ago
Langston Hughes has been a long time favorite of mine. This book evokes memories of days gone by and the innocence that I have lost since then.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Leads to those that can only acknowledge of which was. I true lover of Langston Hughes'work, I can only say you can only become enriched from reading this book and no other one will stand up to the style of composition that comes through. I could only wish other poets of this age could begin to unfold in such beauty as he has. In his time of limitations he seemed to make presentation limitless.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Words cannot begin to express how incredibly talented this man is. This collection of his poems is skillfully put together. There is a poem for every human emotion possible. It is a beautiful guide throught the history of black American life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just have one thing to say: Brilliant!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Langston is one of my favorite poets ever. His words or just the greatest. He really opens himself you and you can really feel what he is writing and what was going on. He was the first poet I really got into and like b/c before I never really liked poety. He just inspiered me in some weird way. I think he is the best.