This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Cold Sassy Tree

Cold Sassy Tree

by Olive Ann Burns

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99 $15.99 Save 50% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $15.99. You Save 50%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cold Sassy Tree 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 172 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I have read it several times. Cold Sassy Tree is one of my favorites. The author was in her eighties when she wrote this book to critical acclaim. She started a sequal Under Cold Sassy Tree, but died before she finished it. She even worked on it while she was in the hospital. That book was finished by someone else. It was also very good. It was hard to tell where the other author started writting. I highly recommend both of these novels to all book lovers. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adore this book. I was required to read this for my Lit. class, and if I hadn't been required to read it, I would never have known the greatness of this author. This book has become one of my favorite books. ( I'm contemplating reading this again, and I NEVER read books twice; no matter how good.) This book made me laugh, cry, and ponder things in my own life. AN ABSOLUTE MUST-READ!!!!!
Karen B Hamilton More than 1 year ago
I read about 100 books a year and Cold Sassy Tree remains my favorite! I love Grandpa and the reverance he shows for Grandma......humorous but touching!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book after you get past the first couple of chapters because it seeems to repeat itself but the rest is just wonderful.
Nicole Valli More than 1 year ago
I have the paper back book given to me as a gift from my librarian. I just loved this book. It wa so sweet,loving, and of course funny. Although it was a long book it was slow at first the ending was so wonderful it made me cry. If anyone should be going throuh any difficulies and decisions i highly recomend u read this book. Some parts are a little strange fyi. I would also consider this book to be a romance novel too. If anyone reads tis and u dont mind long books read this. Oh and i almost forgot, here is a sequel to th book called leaving cold sassy which i am looking for. ALL LOVERS WHO HAVE READ THE BOOK MUST READ SEQUEL!!!!
GrammaMikkik More than 1 year ago
I loved this book...more surprising, my husband loved this book. It is filled with with the day to day small wins and losses we all understand and identify with. read it and feel good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cold Sassy Tree, although being one of the few books that I have ever completed in my life, is one of my favorites! Olive Ann Burns wrote this book based on her own family life. I enjoy books that are based on true events. Burns did an excellent job of writing Cold Sassy Tree. I felt like the charaters were speaking directly to me. She used country slang in the dialog which made me realize first off that Cold Sassy was a very small, realistic town out in the country. Every detail in this book was very clear to me. This book to me was a walk through Cold Sassy, Georgia with Will Tweedy, the character who was based on Olive's father. Will seemed like my best friend while I was reading this book. Cold Sassy, being a small town, meant that everyone in the community know all there was to know about anyone that lived there until Miss Love Simpson came to town. Love upset everyone in the community because no one could figure her out. If you love to gossip I encourage you to read this book, it will help you understand how the person with the burning ears feels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this ten years ago for my high school AP class. It was one of my favorite books. The setting is excellent, and the characters are familiar yet surprising. I would recommend this to young men and women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How i wish the amazing Olive Ann Burns could have shared more of her amazing talent with us before she passed too soon. This is one of the sweetest, most humorous books ever written.
Jennlvs2read More than 1 year ago
Book Club read. I think I may quit this book club!! I'm finding this book very hard to get though. I tell myself before reading, I need to work on reading my book. (Boy H'owdy) Work it is! The dialect is difficut to focus. I'm half way though forcing myself to finish. I don't care about the characters, not enough depth. The story is boring, petty and drawn out. I'll be glad when it's over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated this book. It was a required read for AP english and it was quite profaine and had no point. The story went nowhere and I found the sexual content offensive. I definitely want my money back!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure how much I would enjoy this book and I decided to try the audio version. It was wonderful. 11 compact disks later, I didn't want it to end! Will Tweedy, Grandpa Blakeslee and the rest will forever remain in my memory. Cold Sassy is what we all envision of small town America at its worst and its finest. Some parts were laugh out loud! I loved the audio version feeling that the accents and slang were done to perfection. A true joy and delight and one that I know I will listen to again someday!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing story about Georgia at the turn of the century. You will appreciate this author's work. The characters and their actions are unforgetable. This is a must read for anyone who has a love for the south. It is simple and down to earth but very easy to enjoy. I learned alot form this book and will appreciate and value it for many years to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books - I have read it several times. I love the small town connections and the humorous insight. I have read it twice and plan to keep it in my library to read again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My librarian told me to get this book. She said it was one of the best books she ever read. While I was reading it I got other people in my family interested in it. It was such a great story and everyone else in my family enjoyed it. It is one of my favorite books and anyone can read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe that this is one of the best written American novels of the 20th century. Ms. Burns gets us into Will's life as no other author could. The book is realistic and life-relating.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I+listened+to+the+audio+version+where+covering+from+eyes+and+really+enjoyed+it.++It+was+very+good%2C+everyone+who+loved+the+Waltons+would+enjoy+it.
cestovatela on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun and funny little book about a family and a town's adjustment to a respected widower's flashy younger wife. It's not particularly special, but entertaining and poignant at times. Good if you're looking for a quick read with a little bit of substance.
shejake on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable read of small southern town lives. The culture of love and respect that was portrayed is sadly neglected in this day and age.
tututhefirst on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is often described as a coming of age novel, and is billed as young adult lit. It is actually a very sensitively written story set in Cold Sassy Georgia in 1906 and 1907. It is as appealing to adults as to highschoolers. The main character E. Rucker Blakesly scandalizes the town by marrying the milliner who works in his general store a scant three weeks after burying his first wife Miss Mattie Lou. Told from the viewpoint of his grandson, Will Tweedy, we see how the young second wife Love Simpson is shunned by Blakesly's two grown daughters Looma and Mary Willis, and how young Will is taken into Love's confidence when she claims that she is only a housekeeper to his grandpa, and it is a marriage in name only.As time passes, we see southern culture at its best and worst. The townsfolk are given ample opportunity for greatness and meanness. Grandpa opens a car dealership in addition to his general store, Will Tweedy learns to drive, and discovers he is attracted to girls. Olive Ann Burns gives us a loving picture of small town life, and leads us through an exquisite story of love, forgiveness and hope.
CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cold Sassy is a small town in Georgia. The story is set in 1906. Bible-thumping and segregation are a given. The story is told in Will's voice. Will is 14, a hard-worker, loves his family (except for Aunt Loma and especially his grandparents). His Granny has just died, and things are grim. The family has to be in mourning for a year. Grandpa Blakeslee throws that tradition into the collective face of the townspeople and elopes with the milliner at his store, Love Simpson, three weeks after his wife's death. This is a story of small-town Southern life, seemingly simple but there is always more than meets the eye. The voices are authentic, with original characters, and Will is a charming and honest narrarator. Very enjoyable read.
wispywillow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It took me a while to finally get around to this. I bought it at a library book sale after a complete stranger pointed it out and recommended it to me.The narrator, Will Tweedy, is 8 kinds of adorable. He somehow keeps the story light-hearted and fun even though there are several deaths throughout the story. The grandfather is also quite awesome, as is Miss Love. In fact, the little town itself seems to be a character in its own right, which is good since the novel is named after it.Books like this have made me more and more fond of first-person point-of-view. When it's done only so-so, to me it is worse even than a so-so third-person p.o.v. book; but when 1st person is done well, such as in this book, it can pull you into a character and story more than its 3rd-person counterpart. That, at least, has been my experience.If you like stories of Southern charm, small-town quirks, and pre-WW1 life, you'll probably enjoy this book.
ahooper04 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable from what I remember from my freshman year of high school.
susiesharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! It was told by Will Tweedy remembering his 14 year old self and all that went on during that time including his granny death and his granddaddy remarrying very soon after, which started the biddies to talking, because Miss Love is much younger than granddaddy. But there was more to this relationship than anyone in Cold Sassy would ever know, that is except Will he is closest to his granddaddy and sees this relationship different than anyone else.This is a very southern novel and the writing plops you right down into the summer of 1906 when the first automobiles are making their appearance. I love Will¿s granddaddy he is quite a character. This book will make you laugh and make you cry, it is a coming of age story but so much more because it is not just a story of Will¿s family but about the whole town of Cold Sassy. I highly recommend listening to this book on audio Tom Parker¿s narration is wonderful he really brought this book to life for me!I know I¿m not doing this justice I did really love it and recommend this to all southern fiction lovers and if you aren¿t a fan of southern fiction give this one a try it just might convert you!4 1/2 Stars
busyreadin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An okay read, just didn't see the point to it. I kept waiting for something definitive to happen, and then I was done with the book.