A Cold Day in Paradise (Alex McKnight Series #1)

A Cold Day in Paradise (Alex McKnight Series #1)

by Steve Hamilton

Hardcover(Large Print)

$30.55 $32.50 Save 6% Current price is $30.55, Original price is $32.5. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Cold Day in Paradise (Alex McKnight Series #1) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 157 reviews.
PJJ More than 1 year ago
It is an interesting enough story if you are willing to completely set aside common sense and logic. Everything about this story seemed forced - the ridiculously Rube Goldbergian plot that depended on an enormous number of variables, the nonsensical reasoning of the main character, the baseless conflict between the main character and the local chief of police, and especially the strange relationship between McKnight and the married Sylvia. The dialog was especially stale. As I read each exchange of words between the various characters, I couldn't help but think the region is inhabited by particularly stupid people. If a group of friends discovers that one their own has recently experienced a traumatic event, is it realistic to expect them to simply ignore that person out of charity? Not even a "Hey buddy, you okay?" Even as I was shaking my head in exasperation, waiting for some character to do or say something that made sense, I still felt there was the promise of a good story. Even as the ending approached, I hoped that the author would salvage the novel by coming up with a some coherent way of tying all the disconnected nonsense up in the end, but I was disappointed. The absurd plot against McKnight was revealed, and the novel ended with the promise of more absurdety to come in future stories.
Sally Hines More than 1 year ago
The story would have been better with either a narrative delivery or a clearer character developmemt on all characters, particularly the hero. The teaser included of the following book seems more clearly developed. Or maybe it benefitted from the just read book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a Detective/Murder Mystery novel and I enjoyed the story, the humor & the serious stuff alike. Not too graphic... I could 'feel' (that is relate to) the main character throughout the entire book. Although, the better you know Paradise & Sault Sainte Marie Michigan, the more likely you are to be disturbed by some location details and descriptions, I recommend ingnoring such elements in favor of enjoying the book. I will be purchasing the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very suspenseful without being gory
Samijoe More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. Will read more by Steve Hamilton
corvettemary More than 1 year ago
Love this series. Lived in Michigan all my life and can really relate to the cities, highways, etc. All accurate. Great author.
miss_dobie More than 1 year ago
What a great, exciting, fast-paced story! Steve Hamilton captures you at page one, ties you up and keeps you hostage with this exciting, hysterically funny at times, heart-pounding cliff hanger of a story. McKnight is wonderful - makes me think of Tom Selleck. I'm ready for #2 now.
Chuckster614 More than 1 year ago
For someone who likes a fast pace and easy read this is a great book. Interesting twist in last chapter.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Good, but not riveting. Some elements of McKnight's character just didn't seem to fit. I fully plan to try another in the series before judging too harshly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+was+totally+captured+by+this+book.+What+a+grab+at+my+emotions%2C+a+perfect+combination+for+problem+solving+and+the+deep+threats+to+safety+and+sanity.%0Ain+other+words%2C+worthy+of+an+Award%21+I+have+already+bought+book2+in+the+series+and+am+so+glad+there+are+more%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting+solution+and+we%27ll+kept+secret+to+the+crime
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard-boiled ex-cop private detective with PTSD encounters a triggering event and receives death threats. What's not to love about this situation? I couldn't stand to keep reading it.
Finxy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first Alex McKnight PI book. Mixed feelings about this one. My main problems came with McKnight himself. I didn't like him. He didn't seem to have any spark of detective talent to set himself ahead of the guy in the street. In a profession that relies heavily on talking to people and reading their motivations and veracity, McKnight bludgeons his way through most of his conversations. In fact quite a lot of the dialogue in the book is two people being incredibly obdurate with each other. He seems to antagonise or provoke everybody he meets. The characters didn't grab me throughout unless you count McKnight's sacked predecessor Prudell in two too short scenes. I enjoyed the location: Michigan Upper Peninsula. I generally prefer books set in the more northern reaches of the states. Maybe it's easier for me to identify with the weather condition or maybe I just like reading about people who are colder and wetter than me tucked up in the warm with a hot drink. The writing was an easy read and the supposedly uncomplicated mystery had pleasing hidden depths. Not too bad for a first effort but I hope if I persist with the series that McKnight grows on me.
crazybatcow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's an okay story. It's a bit unrealistic, and the main character is more wimpy (PTSD sufferer) than I like my main characters to be. Especially when I'm looking for a series to replace Child's Reacher. This certainly doesn't do it because, while there is some violence, none of it is instigated by the protagonist, mostly it's done to him or around him and he just investigates it.And any solving that is done is all done behind the scenes and explained to the reader at the very end of the book. There are no "clues" that one could go back to find to figure it out on their own.All in all, it's okay, and I'll read another in the series to see if Alex grows a pair of his own.
Ronrose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a winner of the Edgar and the Shamus Award for best first novel. Alex McKnight is an ex-police officer from Detroit. He retired from the force after being shot three times, with one bullet still lodged next to his heart. He went to Paradise, Michigan, to get away, but ends up being talked into what should be some light duty P.I. work. Two dead bodies later, he comes face to face with evidence pointing to the same man who shot him, but he's been locked in a maximum security prison for years. This is a very good book, with some interesting new characters, as well as some character types you will be familiar with. It is a very quick read, pulling you along with suspense and delivering a few surprises along the way. I will definitely add Steve Hamilton to my list of must read mystery/detective authors.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This fits fairly well into the noir genre--first person, a private detective who gets involved with The Wrong Woman (tm)--beautiful and rich. This one is set in a cold Michigan November. Alex McNight, a private investigator and former Detroit cop, has a bullet permanently lodged one inch from his heart from the same shooting that killed his partner. It's 14 years later, and that shooting still haunts Alex. Now Alex is getting notes from a man claiming credit for two murders--and giving details only the shooter should know and signing his name--despite the shooter being locked up in prison. The story is told in a fairly spare, yet smooth style that conveys a great sense of place. I liked Alex and the secondary characters that helped create a sense of Paradise, Michigan. It was well-paced, at times suspenseful novel I read in one sitting. The problem I had was with the resolution. Some aspects of the twist was clever and worked for me and I didn't see it coming. Others--primarily motivation--just didn't work for me. I couldn't see these people acting the way they did, taking the risks they did, for the reasons given, and I had a problem with Alex's decision about how to act on his knowledge. All in all, I felt dissatisfied with the ending.
KAzevedo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A quick and suspenseful first novel in a series featuring Alex McKnight, a former cop in Detroit, now a P.I. in the wilds of upper Michigan. Alex is a man on the edge, living with the memories of his partner's death. Even after fourteen years, they cause him to nearly come undone as he tries to protect a dear friend and solve some murders that seem to be related to the locked up killer of his partner. The tension is ratched up and the reader shares it. Alex's fear is well written and realistic, as is his occasional self-loathing and doubt. There are gaps in his life that I wonder about and hope will be filled in as the series continues.
adithyajones on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent PI novel where Hamilton not only comes up with a suspense filled tale but also able to bring forth the environment of small city Paradise authentically.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the setting and the idea of McKnight looking after hunting cabins in the Upper Peninsula, and the Detroit connection was welcome. But the way the plot was supposed to unfold was a little unlikely. The confrontation with the police chief was fun. I will give the series a chance.
mbg0312 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good little mystery, cranked right along.
mhall01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Former police officer Alex McKnight thought he had put the nightmare of his partner's death behind him when he moved to Paradise, Michigan. Rose, the man convicted of the killing, is behind bars, so how can murders bearing his unmistakable trademarks be occurring in Paradise?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago