Cinnamon Roll Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #15)

Cinnamon Roll Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #15)

by Joanne Fluke

Hardcover

$22.61 $24.00 Save 6% Current price is $22.61, Original price is $24. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cinnamon Roll Murder 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 119 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved reading Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen Series but after 15 books, isn't it time to start changing the scene a little? I think the biggest mystery of "Cinnamon Roll Murder" was if Norm was going to marry Dr. Bev or not. Truthfully, Hannah really needs to wake up and smell the coffee she professes to love so much. Norm is no better than Mike and both treats Hannah more like property than the woman they supposedly both love. Add that to the fact that Norm is a grown man, actually a dentist so it can be summerized he holds some degree of intelligence, yet, he spent most of this book all moody and depressed because he's allowing Dr. Bev to control his life. Yet typical that Hannah, her sisters, and her mom comes riding in on their white horses to save the day, and of course - Norman. I adore Joanne Fluke . . . I just think it's time for her to start giving Hannah a different prospective on life - other than just Norm and Mike. After 15 books, I just think she's better than either of these two bozo's.
52chickadees More than 1 year ago
“Mud Season’ has arrived in Lake Eden, Minnesota. Hannah and her younger Sister, Michelle, are enroute with a delicious-smelling delivery of Cinnamon Rolls for the Lake Eden Inn. Innkeepers; Sally and Dick are sponsoring the first Weekend Jazz Festival featuring the well-known “Cinnamon Roll Six”. Hannah’s yummy rolls will be served after the group’s rehearsal. With the unseasonably warm weather during the day, the accumulated snow has melted and frozen on the roadways, creating black ice and extremely hazardous driving. As much as Hannah’s trusty truck is good on Lake Eden’s snowy roads, it is no match for the ice, so after fish-tailing and watching a sea of red brake lights appear on the horizon, Hannah avoids a collision and swerves onto an access road. Others were not so lucky and when Hannah and Michelle trudge through the snow to offer assistance, they discover the tour bus of the “Cinnamon Roll Six” on its roof in a snow-packed ditch. They manage to enter through the rear door and assess any injuries. They find the bus driver is dead and Keyboardist, Buddy Neiman has a possible broken wrist. Hannah and Michelle tend to the shaken group and accompany them to the hospital. Everything goes like clockwork until the slightly injured Buddy Neiman is discovered stabbed to death by none other than Hannah’s Mother, Delores. Delores has been “assisting” Doc Knight as well as becoming leader of the Hospital Auxiliary’s ”Rainbow Ladies”. Who would want to murder Buddy Neiman?? The Band’s groupies; Lynnette and Cammy? Ex-girlfriend Shelby?? Or maybe keyboardist wanna-be, young Devin Murphy?? Was Clayton the bus driver’s death due to a heart attack or foul play?? Does Hannah have two (2) murders to set her already boggled mind to spinning? Luckily, Michelle, Andrea and Delores join the investigation as Hannah receives the one article of mail she has been dreading..Norman and Doctor Bev’s wedding invitation!! She agonizes over whether she should attend or not—and her feelings are raw. After all, she and Norman are still friends. Obligation is one thing—Love is something else. What part does the snowflake bracelet play in this crime? I have to say this is one of, if not the best, Lake Eden volume to date. Fellow Hannah-ites, you will love, love, love the twists and twirls Ms. Fluke has “rolled” between its covers as well as the D-licious recipes including “Tapioca Pie”, “Piggy Chicken” and very special “Peaches and Cream Cookies”. Re-arrange your bookshelf and don’t miss out on this winner!! You won’t be disappointed!! Nancy Narma
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the last book in this series I will read. I just can't with them anymore. I had to stop reading multiple times because I was dumbfounded at these characters, plot, dialogue, etc, and at myself for spending money after the last craptastic entry. - ENOUGH with the "LOVE TRIANGLE". Hannah is just ridiculous and I can't figure out if she has a case of arrested development, is really that innocent and naive, or thinks boys are icky. Idiots, all of them. - I can suspend disbelief quite a bit and get lost in the story but ENOUGH. Between the sister leaking police info, to the mom going into medical files and impersonating people, to the whole lot of that family lifting evidence from residences, it is just so bad and ridiculous that I actually feel idotic I spent money to read this. - And a big old "I CAN'T" to Hannah. When my reaction to the heroine is the urge to slap her, I'm finished. Hannah is simultaneously a dolt, naive, idiotic, frustrating, condescending, selfish. - There is no character development. Hannah? Same as before. Sisters? Same annoying characters. Mother? Check. I dare say the same dialogue is used in each book. Hohoho, I wonder if Andrea will say something about Hannah's clothes. Maybe the mom will too. Hope the whole town rallies around super sleuth Hannah even though there are police and stuff, and should we ever read about the trial of the murderers we'll probably find out half the "evidence" is inadmissable because Hannah is an idiot ("what is a search warrant? My sisters and I just broke in and took that murder weapom so we could give it to Mike when he comes over at midnight so I can cook for him and maybe he'll put his arm around me! True love") and the other half are her doodles in the lisa frank trapper keeper she uses for her "murder book". The only characters that are likeable and actually have character growth are the dang cats. So basically, I am an idiot for buying this, esecially based on how bad the last few have been. No more.
hollingworth More than 1 year ago
I am always at a lose trying to describe how I feel about this series. I buy the books and read them as they come out but still somehow find Hannah herself very annoying. The triangle, which never made any sense to begin with, is now completely played out. I don't really see why either man is so patiently waiting for her to figure out her feelings. I like the supporting characters in the book. On a side note, I got this book on my Nook and have to say that the recipes appearing in the middle of the text was very annoying. Can't help wondering if the publisher couldn't put the recipes at the end of the electronic versions. I, for one, don't stop to read a whole recipe in the middle of a mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I used to really enjoy Joanne Fluke's books. They were never partiularly sophisticated, but they were fun and lighthearted. Coming from the midwest too, I always enjoyed the down home settings and characters. However I have to agree with other reviewers about how unenjoyable this last book in the series is. Ms. Fluke seems to have lost her way. The characters seem stale and uninteresting. The plot line, though never particularly strong, seems very weak and uninspired. The whole story line appears to be stuck in a very uninteresting place. Nothing in the series has evolved. Please go back to writing from a place of fun, or please wrap up the series. The last few books are nowhere near as good as the ones in the beginning of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really badly written... I just finished the first chapter, and it makes no sense whatsoever. The dialog sounds like it was written by a little kid, and the main characters seem like idiots. And the actions performed by the main characters are not what you should be doing if there was a really bad car incident. It was basically like, “Hey look the bus is overturned and stuck in a ditch (HELLO? The people inside must be badly hurt!)… I wonder if I can read what it says on the side UPSIDE DOWN!” Seriously??? One of the worst books I have ever started. Not going to try to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was terrible,
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
Finally, after fifteen stories, another strong outing for Hannah Swenson and her family and friends in Lake Eden, MN. When a multi-car pileup turns into the murder of a member of the jazz group to play a the Lake Eden Inn, Hannah's on scene right away. Just to make things interesting, Hannah also has more issues with her love triangle, but in this novel, some things seem to become more resolved. You would think she's finally made some sort of decision in this disconcerting love triangle, but you never know.
HorseloverPL More than 1 year ago
I have read every book in this series and enjoyed them at first. However, I must admit that now I buy them mostly for the cookie recipes. The whole Hannah/Mike/Norman triangle has gone on MUCH TOO LONG!!! It has become really annoying and does nothing to enhance the stories. I have a feeling that something is going to go wrong with Norman's wedding and we will be back to this "will she or won't she?" nonsense in the next book. Enough, already! Time for a new sub-plot. Please?
Maydacat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The problem with this series is that every time you come to a recipe in the story, you are tempted to stop reading and start baking. But you are so engrossed in the tale, you don¿t want to stop reading! In this installment, Norman is about to marry Dr. Bev, much to everyone¿s dismay. A major highway accident injures some band members, and then things really turn deadly. If you have been reading the series, these characters probably seem like old friends. Are you anxious to attend the wedding? Or just anxious? Hannah is in the thick of things, but can she figure out how it all fits together before it is too late to save the innocent and capture the guilty? See if you can winnow out the truth before Hannah does.
milibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Joanne Fluke's newest mystery will make you hungry for more (both mysteries and goodies). Hannah and her sister Michelle narrowly avoid becoming involved in a multi-car pile up. Unfortunately, the Cinnamon Six's bus overturns when the driver suddenly dies from an overdose of his heart medication. Then the keyboard player, who has only sustained a broken or sprained wrist, is stabbed to death in the hospital with a pair of surgical scissors. As Hannah and her family look for the killer, the reader enjoys a sweet romp through the suspect list. This is fun, easy to read, and contains many delicious sounding (and fattening) recipes. I can't wait to try some of the cookies! Fluke could done a little better job of tying up the loose ends at the end of the book, but as a whole, this is recommended for light reading.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A strong outing for Hannah Swenson and her family and friends in Lake Eden, MN. When a multi-car pileup turns into the murder of a member of the jazz group to play a the Lake Eden Inn, Hannah's on scene right away. Just to make things interesting, Hannah also has more issues with her love triangle, but in this novel, some things become more resolved. You would think she's finally made some sort of decision in this disconcerting love triangle, but you never know.
wearylibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I usually can figure out 'who did it' in the mysteries I read but this time, I was guessing until the last minute. While some of my favorie authors have gone stale in their series, Fluke is still going strong! This series is as fresh as it was in the beginning.
Romonko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swenson series is long-running, and as many of these long-running cozy series are, it has become very similar and somewhat tired. But, having said that, I enjoyed this book a bit more than the last few. As usual, the recipes look fabulous, and I like the addition of Hannah's sister Michelle. They make an interesting duo because they are very similar in their tastes and interests. And we actually see some movement in Hannah's relationship with her dentist friend Norman. So, no, this book wasn't a waste of time, and the plot was somewhat interesting. I enjoyed the secret identities revealed aspect and I liked the interaction between Hannah and her friends. It's almost like visiting a fondly remembered old hometown where everyone appears to be familiar, and it's fun to catch up with the people that you knew a long time ago. Hannah and her crew are like that for me - fondly remembered friends.
tututhefirst on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the latest in what I've often called the "sweet tooth" mystery series.  I 'd given up on them for awhile because I got tired of our heroine, Hannah Swenson's complete inability to make up her mind about whether or not to marry, and then to choose between two equally eligible (and willing) gentlemen."Cinnamon Roll Murder" is a great improvement over earlier books in the series. The mystery is much more tightly plotted with lots of red herrings to throw the reader off the track of the real killer; the main characters are all involved and engaging, including the cats.  Hannah is actually showing some leanings toward one of her beaus (no spoilers), and while we are treated to descriptions of some yummy treats, we are not (at least in the audio version) overwhelmed with a seemingly endless recitation of recipes.  Of course, there are a few that sounded so good, I'll be digging out a copy of the print edition to get my hands on the recipes.Hannah and her sister Michelle are on their way to deliver cookies to an event when they witness a chain-reaction accident involving a bus belonging to the Cinnamon Roll Band.  The driver and one of the bank members end up dead and Hannah immediately concludes that murder is involved. Essentially, Hannah, along with her sisters Michelle and Andrea, and her mother Delores, band together to form a quasi-official private detective agency to prove their theories and bring the murderer to justice. Using their relationships to the town sheriff, the town coroner, and a deputy, they are able to ferret out information about the current decendent, discover his true identify, and ultimately flush out the murderer.  In the meantime, they also uncover some unsavory information about Norman's current fiancèe and help him decide whether to marry her or return to his courtship of Hannah.  If you're a fan of the series, you'll love this one.  If you've not read any before, this one could easily stand alone.
thebookbabe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Blah. Boring. Monotanous. Can she please start a new series? I continue to read this series so I can brag I'm "caught up" on it. Best part of the book? 78 pages of recipes that I could skip.
thornton37814 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hannah and her sister barely avoid being part of a huge pile up during wintry conditions. The driver of the bus for the Cinnamon Roll Six, a jazz ensemble, dies in the accident. The rest of the group and their "entourage" that is riding the bus go to the hospital to be checked out. It's not long before one of them is murdered in the hospital. Meanwhile, Hannah's ex-boyfriend Norman is about to make the mistake of his life by marrying Dr. Bev. Everyone is hoping that someone will be able to break them up before the wedding takes place. The stories somehow work well together in this installment. There are several recipes that sound quite promising. I'm especially wanting to try the green chile cheddar biscuits! There was one minor element to the plot that I did not feel was adequately resolved. It's still an enjoyable read for fans of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series but too much space is wasted on recipes and not focused on the story.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
When the piano player of a jazz band is killed, Hannah springs into action to find his killer. Meanwhile, she's also looking for a way to stop Hannah from marrying Dr. Bev. The characters were great as always, and the mystery was fun. But the Norman/Dr. Bev story was unrealistic. I'm hoping, however, that it is leading to the end of the Hannah/Norman/Mike love triangle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Joanna Fluke’s Hannah Swenson books. I’m on my second reading from the first book to the last published book and waiting for the next book to arrive at the bookstore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago