Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (Signed B&N Exclusive Book) (Hannah Swensen Series #24)

Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (Signed B&N Exclusive Book) (Hannah Swensen Series #24)

by Joanne Fluke

Hardcover(Signed Edition)

$24.30 $27.00 Save 10% Current price is $24.3, Original price is $27. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (Signed B&N Exclusive Book) (Hannah Swensen Series #24) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Half of the book consisted of recipes and another quarter consisted of descriptions of preparing the dishes. That left the final quarter of the book for the actual plot. Very predictable with a cliffhanger that you could see coming very early in the story.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Too little time spent on story and too much on recipes/ directions. Don’t get me wrong I like the recipes but want the story. Also, too much non important stuff 4 pages on hat name for example. I want more story.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Looking+forward+to+trying+some+of+the+recipes%2C+but+too+much+time+spent+on+recipe+steps+and+tastings+than+on+the+actual+storyline.++As+for+the+cliffhanger....it+was+rather+obvious+before+book+even+started.++Not+one+of+her+better+books+%0Aoutside+of+the+potential+recipes+to+try.++Hope+things+improve+for+next+in+series.
Anonymous 11 months ago
poorly+done+and+very+boring.+i+want+my+money+back.+wasted+time+waiting+for+a+story+to+unfold.+trying+to+give+this+a+chance.+just+an+excuse+for+a+book.+cool+whip%3F+who+even+thinks+that+is+a+recipe%3F
Anonymous 12 months ago
Too much discussion of cookies, eating of cookies and recipes than normal. After reading the last sentence, hoped to see the next book announced. Well continue to head Hannah and learn where her life goes from that cliff hanger possibility.
Anonymous 11 months ago
not+my+favorite.+recipes+were+great+.+please+go+back+to+recipes+within+a+decent+storyline+.+Was+uncomfortable+reading.%0A
Anonymous 9 months ago
too+many+recipes+and+taste+testing.++disappointed+because+I+love+the+series.
Anonymous 10 months ago
I don’t like having the recipes after every chapter. It disrupts the flow of the book. Too many recipes & a lot of taste testings.
Anonymous 11 months ago
The story was not as intriguing as some of the other Hannah Swensen novels I have read. There were at least 2 times where the story lost me and where characters seemed to lose their path in this story. Otherwise, I enjoyed reading this book as I enjoy reading the recipes, the familiar characters, the intrigue and thrill of the murder and the Investigation which always put Hannah in the thick of danger and one or both of Hannah’s ex-boyfriends come to her rescue (just in the nic-of-time). I can’t wait to read the next book in this series to find out if Hannah is pregnant with Ross’ child, what murder she gets herself involved in, and what else happens in Lake Eden that ensues the next Hannah Swensen adventures. P.S. Does her friend Lynn have anything to do with Ross’ murder or does Lynn know where the storage box is that belongs to the key Mike and Hannah found, what is in that box which is worth killing over? Questions, Questions....??
Anonymous 11 months ago
I really enjoy Hannah ‘s stories, but I’m beginning to think that there’s too many recipes. I didn’t actually count the pages used to share the recipes, but I wonder if the % of recipe pages is equal to the actual story pages. Please, more mystery, less baking.
Anonymous 11 months ago
worst+book+of+series.+too+many+recipes+and+no+substance.+all+the+characters+talked+about++was+this+recipe+or+that%2C+always+delicious+results.+never+a+failure.+never+resolved+key+question+as+to+why+money+was+needed%2C+nor+why+Hannah+had+to+get+it.+poor+plot+structure.++%0A%0Afigured+out+guilty+party+almost+immediately+and+last+issue+from+first+fainting
Anonymous 11 months ago
too+many+recipes+not+enough+mystery.++Ross+killed+3%2F4+into+book.++earlier+books++Hannah+quizzed+people.
tlgreear More than 1 year ago
Let me say first I love Joanne Fluke and her Cookie Jar mysteries. BUT the last two books have been disappointing. I don’t like that each one ended on a cliffhanger. And there seems to be more recipes and discussions about eating than the actual story. Hannah is moving on after her “marriage “ to Ross. But then she gets some devastating news and life takes another turn. The story in itself is really good and interesting. But I have my doubts that Joanne Fluke really wrote this. The dialogue is stilted, the characters don’t have the likability as in past books and the story just isn’t fleshed out. Just when the story gets good a new chapter starts or someone mentions food and down the rabbit hole we go. Sorry but not my favorite story. I voluntarily received a copy of this book from Netgalley.
Anonymous 10 months ago
This was the worst read...predictable right away....and way too many recipes. It was just a filler book to move the story along....but I think maybe I am done with Hannah....and her next "challenge"....and whether to marry Norman or Mike....yes...we are back to the same old plot line.
Anonymous 10 months ago
I+love+well+written+mysteries+and+I+love+good+cookbooks.++Combining+these+was+questionable+and+inserting+recipes+between+chapters+is+annoying.+Which+I+could+have+skipped+through+except+the+writing+was+very+bland+and+the+characters+uninteresting++from+the+very+beginning+.+I+quit+reading+after+3+or+4+chapters.+I%27ve+never+read+anything+by+this+author+and+won%27t++attempt+to+again.
Carstairs38 11 months ago
Valentine’s Day is coming, and The Cookie Jar is getting ready to cater various Valentine’s Parties with new treats. Hannah Swensen is throwing herself into this baking in order to not think about the news she’s gotten that Ross was already married, so their wedding was all a lie. She has told the town of Lake Eden in an effort to curb gossip, and all of her friends are with her. Which is why Ross sneaks back into town in the early hours of the morning demanding something from Hannah – something she might not be able to give him. What will happen if she can’t? As a longtime fan of the series, I’ve been expecting this book for several books now. The murder itself takes place late in the book and is wrapped up quickly. There were some other plot elements I was enjoying, so I wasn’t bored, however, I wish things hadn’t been left dangling quite so much until the next book in the series. We get plenty of talk about food as always, with twenty-eight new recipes by my count. It is always nice to catch up with these characters, at least for this fan of the series. If you have been a fan, you’ll want the next chapter in Hannah’s saga, but if you are new, don’t jump in here.
anneinaz 12 months ago
Chocolate Cream Pie Murder by Joanne Fluke is a book intended to tie up loose ends, which is does...mostly. We open with Hannah preparing to make an announcement in front of the entire congregation-in her view the easiest way to reach the most people, that her husband has left her to return to his wife; that she was, in fact, not married; and that if they wanted their wedding gifts back, please let her know. Everyone is extremely sympathetic and Hannah pulls up her big girl panties and begins to move on (with the help of her friends and family, of course!) Then she hears from him. The world starts to spin. This is not the best of the series, by a long shot. It is repetitive, often on the same page; sometimes in the same paragraph. Hannah is an endearing character, as are Mike and Norman, Michelle and Andrea (who hardly appears in this book), Lonnie, Carrie, Mom and Doc Knight, but none of them are at their best here. If this were the first of the series for a reader, it is not clear whether they would bother to go back and read the rest. The solution was never truly explained and the loose ends were not tied up. It was a disappointment. I recommend this to a read of the Fluke series but only because you can't just stop. I received a free ARC of Chocolate Cream Pie Murder in exchange for a fair and honest review. #netgalley #chocolatecreampiemurder
anneinaz 12 months ago
Chocolate Cream Pie Murder by Joanne Fluke is a book intended to tie up loose ends, which is does...mostly. We open with Hannah preparing to make an announcement in front of the entire congregation-in her view the easiest way to reach the most people, that her husband has left her to return to his wife; that she was, in fact, not married; and that if they wanted their wedding gifts back, please let her know. Everyone is extremely sympathetic and Hannah pulls up her big girl panties and begins to move on (with the help of her friends and family, of course!) Then she hears from him. The world starts to spin. This is not the best of the series, by a long shot. It is repetitive, often on the same page; sometimes in the same paragraph. Hannah is an endearing character, as are Mike and Norman, Michelle and Andrea (who hardly appears in this book), Lonnie, Carrie, Mom and Doc Knight, but none of them are at their best here. If this were the first of the series for a reader, it is not clear whether they would bother to go back and read the rest. The solution was never truly explained and the loose ends were not tied up. It was a disappointment. I recommend this to a read of the Fluke series but only because you can't just stop. I received a free ARC of Chocolate Cream Pie Murder in exchange for a fair and honest review. #netgalley #chocolatecreampiemurder
Anonymous 12 months ago
this+was+a+good+book%2Cbut+too+many+pages+of+recipes.
Anonymous 22 hours ago
Did+not+disappoint.+%0A%0A%0A
Anonymous 6 days ago
Typical Joanne Fluke Hannah Swensen mystery. It was enjoyable but the one thing I noticed in this book is the banter back and forth in Hannah's mind between her "rational mind" and her "suspicious mind". I found this incredibly annoying and I hope this doesn't continue.
nancat2 3 months ago
Up to now, I’ve read all the Hannah Swenson mysteries, but there’s little to love about Fluke’s latest effort. You know something’s wrong when the recipes are the most intriguing part of the book. Over the last two books, Hannah has become a sniveling, self-pitying wimp. Worse, Fluke got 2/3 of the way through the book before she (I’m guessing) remembered to throw in murder. Even then, Hannah’s much-vaunted “slay-dar” was nowhere in evidence, and she only made a half-hearted effort to solve the crime. By the end, I didn’t care whodunit! So please, Ms. Fluke I think I speak for ALL your readers when I say: BRING BACK THE OLD HANNAH!!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Can+not+wait+for+the+nexr+one%21
Anonymous 6 months ago
I knew it! Won’t day more so as not to spoil. Please hurry with next book!
Anonymous 6 months ago
once+again+Hannah+and+her+family+and+friends+are+solving+mysteries+and+uncovering+more+mysteries+in+the+process.+lots+of+yummy+recipes+also.+