Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #8)

Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #8)

by Joanne Fluke

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cherry Cheesecake Murder 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 126 reviews.
ORGANICANN More than 1 year ago
Joanne Fluke does not disappoint. I recently discovered the Hannah Swensen series, and while at times predictable, it does keep me amused, entertained and intrigued. I have been reading the series in order and I have been very pleased so far. The books are pure entertainment, no hidden messages, etc.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well I love the Swensen mystery series. They are all great and this one isn't disappointing. However, the only part of the story that turned me off was the one of Hannah rejecting her 2 proposals and feeling a little tingle with Ross (some guy she knew in college). I think Hannah should choose already. I used to the whole love triangle of the story, but now it's just getting old. However, the story was great. The plot took a little more to get to then the other books, but it was still worth it. It always amazes me how the murder suspect always turns out to be someone you don't even imagine. I love that Joanne Fluke always keeps the reader on their toes in regards to who committed the murder and why. Cannot wait to read Key Lime Pie Murder...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another hit in the Hannah Swensen Murder mystery series. I love the fact that a chunky, smart woman from a small town can keep a 'bad boy' (Mike) and a 'good boy' (Norman) on their toes trying to woo her. I certainly don't see any reason why Hannah should choose when she isn't commited to being in love with either one yet! This book is well written and the 'surprise' ending sure caught me off guard. I love the precocious niece and I wouldn't be surprised if she helps Hannah to catch bad guys some day soon. Buy this book and you will be in for a treat ( actually with the recipes included, several treats!).
pacey1927 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This time, Hollywood is coming to Hannah! A small movie crew comes to town to shoot an indy film with an A list director, who happens to also be a real jerk. There are plenty of suspects because almost everyone has a reason to want him dead! Hannah finds a couple of links to her past college days and that leads to some funny sub-plots. I totally adore these characters, and the book was as enjoyable to me as the others. I still think visiting my friends at Lake Eden make for a good time. However, I have some complaints! To start, the mystery doesn't come into play until the last third or so of the book, which I personally don't mind, because I enjoy so much the regular antics of these characters. I'm only mentioning that point because I'm sure not every mystery lover would be as patient with that fact as I am. I was disappointed by Hannah's choice of marriage proposals and I felt like Fluke really dropped the ball for a chance to pursue something good here. And also this was the first of the mystery's where I guessed the murderer from the start. I kept waiting for the curveball that would knock my suspect back off the suspect list but it never happened. I like to think that I'm just good, but I think more likely the handling of this mystery could have been worked out better. I think Fluke does do a great job of keeping the previous murderer's out of the books so that these books can probably be read out of order. I am still waiting for these characters to evolve a bit. I think it could be helpful to the overall series if that happens. Overall this book was still a delight- a lite delight. Don't expect anything too heavy here and you won't be disappointed.
Romonko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
That's what keeps this mystery series interesting and exciting. In a lot of ways the goings on in the small town of Lake Eden are not realistic, but who cares? Hannah and her friends are just so much fun. It took awhile for this book to get going, and the actual murder doesn't occur until over half-way through, but the pacing after that is pretty good. I figured out who the murderer was right away since it seemed to me only one could have done it, but it was fun to find out the motive and to watch Hannah and her crew discover the clues that they needed to put it all together. The book has a Hollywood movie being shot in downtown Lake Eden, and this puts the whole town in a state of excitement. I also loved the parts of the book with Moishe (Hannah's cat) in them. And of course there is lots of food and recipes to keep things going. Altogether not a bad effort in this wonderful cozy series.
IceQueenTN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very good series, with this book being one of the better.
coolcat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easy reading but the plot is equally easy to be forgotten. It's getting tiring to wonder if Hannah will ever make up her mind on who to marry.
PriscillaRose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cherry Cheesecake Murder was one of my first culinary mysteries I read. Although I enjoyed the cozy descriptions I felt a little let down by the story. I also was not keen in the way the book wrapped up at the end, some of the main story lines were ended a bit too quickly as if the author needed a quick ending. I also looked forward to trying the recipes, although I did notice that at the end of a recipe it would talk about alterations to the recipe and that it may need to be changed to turn out the way the recipe described. Which put me of trying them it seemed you could not just follow it straight as written. I did enjoy the setting and the idea was a good one but it seemed so drawn out, and tried too hard. I will maybe try her other books in the hopes they are a bit more solid.......
WillowOne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just began, not long ago, to read Joanne Fluke. I was drawn by the knowledge that there were recipes tied into these books and maybe I would find something really yummy. I decided to put these books on my bookmooch.com wishlist and see if anyone had any to give away. I was soon rewarded with several of the titles and anxiously awaited their arrival in my mail box. I received and "hungrily" started to read my first book. I was a bit disappointed to see that the recipes were for large amounts, not for the two person family I cook for. Being that I have worked in the food industry I knew that not every recipe, especially those in the baking world couldn't always be cut in half or quarters or whatever.I then received a few more books and happily read through them all the while looking for a good recipe that I could fix for my husband and I. Then I found it "Jane's Mini Cherry Cheescakes"! Wow, these are good. They are so simple and yes very easy to cut the recipe in half without possibility of them being hard or runny or not tasting right. My husband, myself and the neighbors loved them. So, this being my first taste test, this was the book I would review...Hannah Swensen is the owner of "The Cookie Jar", the gathering spot in her small town, after all who doesn't like a good cookie! Hannah has a bad habit of finding dead bodies. Her mother continually tells her she needs to stop doing that and worrying about what people will think. Hannah doesn't see the problem, even though she doesn't like finding dead bodies either. Hannah also has a knack for investigation and she is always eager to investigate these murders. The local police always tell her to let the authorities handle it, but Hannah doesn't listen. In this book there is a film being shot in town and the director, a big shot actor, has been murdered. I won't tell you what happens, you will have to read and maybe indulge in a little cherry cheesecake!Happy eating...oh I meant reading :)
DreamingInFiction on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn't as impressed with this book as I have been in the past.. I felt we had to wait too long to get to the murder and then it was solved too quickly. But still love the characters!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fluke has the perfect recipe for mixing murder, humor, and sub-plots into books you don't want to put down.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
While Hannah tries to deal with the double marriage proposals from Mike and Norman, a Hollywood production company comes to town. However, the director is a jerk, and he is murdered by a rigged prop gun. This is another fun book, although it was slow getting started. You've got to try the title recipe. It's wonderful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again this author has delivered a good, exciting and fun read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand three times then repeat this message on three different books and then look inder your pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok tomarrow bout 9 central?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ah thanks and i gtg im so sorry but its late and im tired.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book reminded me of some kind of third grade romance book instead of a mystery book.  Apparently, the main character, Hanna Swenson, is "the boss" in a supposedly romantic relationship with two men.  After having a cup of coffe and a couple cookies with an old college friend, apparently she considers him to be in the mix as well.  And that's about as exciting as this book gets.  There's some stupid stuff about an overweight cat, two overbearing mothers, two dumb as rock sisters, and an annoying five-year-old who made me want to puke.  Somewhere in there is a murder that is very easily solved.  My first and last read in this series. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books of the series. However, I don't like how she treats Norman...like a doormat. He should give up on her and move on. So far, she hasn't met an eligible man that doesn't make her "tingle".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago