The Butterfly's Daughter

The Butterfly's Daughter

by Mary Alice Monroe

Hardcover(Large Print)

$33.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Butterfly's Daughter 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Butterfly's Daughter is a beautifully written tale of not only a young woman's journey into self discovery, but also lives she touched and changed along the way. This book has some tragedy, a little laughter, and even a few tears. When this book arrived, I read the summary again and thought "did I mean to order this book?". Than, I started reading just a few pages to see if this was the one I had meant to order. I kept on reading and couldn't put it down. It's a truly captivating tale. I loved it! I'm glad I ordered it, and yes, I think I did intend to order this book...
CONNIE Le Blanc-belle More than 1 year ago
This story is an affirmation of human frailties, love, hate and finally self realization. It is a well written story that vividly describes the relationship between life, people and our intrinsic connection to the infinite universe, as well as our fear of uncertainty, and finding the undeniability of love and redemption. The book is brilliant; tears flowed freely and uncontrollably once the connection was made to the characters.
gl More than 1 year ago
Mary Alice Monroe's latest novel, The Butterfly's Daughter, is a book about friendship, family and self-discovery. Luz is determined to fulfill her promise to go to her grandmother's village in Mexico to see the place where the monarch butterflies journey every year. This task is a pilgrimage for Luz and it's a final tribute to the woman who raised her. As Luz encounters problems on her way to Mexico, she handles them best she can. Her openness and generosity lead to unexpected friendships. While the interaction between Luz her new friends is heartwarming, Luz's complex relationship with her mother gives the book an added complexity. The Butterfly's Daughter is a heartwarming women's novel. ISBN-10: 1439170614 - Hardcover Publisher: Gallery (May 3, 2011), 400 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I belong to a book club at Mission royale, in Casa Grand. It was unanimously agreed that we all enjoyed "The Butterflys Daughter" One Of our members had actually been to the Little town in Mexico and had gone up the mountain. She said it was guite spectacular.
CHERJU43 More than 1 year ago
One of my best reads in a long time. Well written and keeps the reader on the edge of his/her seat. Not only suspenseful but also informative. Well worth reading. I finished it in less than three days. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CentralCaliGrrrl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A voyage of self-discovery, The Butterfly¿s Daughter is a beautiful story of family and friendship and the love and strength they inspire within us.Just as a butterfly grows and changes, so does the main character, Luz, as she travels south, along the Monarch¿s migration route, with her grandmother¿s ashes. With the help of her new friends, Luz makes it to her ancestral homeland and meets the family she never knew. The discovery of her real history is life changing; the last stage of her transformation. Wonderfully written by the best-selling author, Mary Alice Monroe, this book has an unforgettable feel to it. The characters are genuine, the settings are descriptive, the dialog is believable. The Butterfly¿s Daughter is a pleasantly heartwarming, and surprisingly quick, read!
tanya2009 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book about family, love, forgiveness and the Monarch butterfly.
SusieBookworm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Butterfly's Daughter tells the story of Luz Avila. Twenty-one years old, she lives with her grandmother in Milwaukee. Her mother died when she was five, and she's never met her father. Luz, while she loves her abuela and has a great boyfriend, Sully, isn't completely pleased with her life. She wants to go to college, but she's stuck working in a factory and she's not sure if Sully's the right guy for her. Then Abuela comes up with a harebrained scheme: she and Luz are going to drive to San Antonio in an old beat-up VW Beetle to meet their extended family, then follow the monarch butterflies down to their family's traditional home in Mexico. Luz rejects the spur-of-the-moment plan, but when her grandmother suddenly dies, she decides to embark on the trip, alone, and try to figure out what her grandmother wanted her to do. Along the way, Luz meets a series of quirky, extraordinary women, each of whom will impact her journey of self-discovery.First off, this is not my type of book. I only skimmed over the blurb when I requested it on GoodReads and missed the part about it being chick lit that's best suited for an older age group than mine. Though Luz is twenty-one, she's more of a mature woman than a college kid, so the plot of the story is really better for grown-up women, not teenagers like me. But Monroe's writing is good, even if the plot's not my thing (and she keeps it appropriate for younger readers, too). The storyline seemed very predictable to me - woman goes on journey of self-discovery, meets quirky characters, comes to new realizations of herself and women and life in general, figures out whether her guy is the right one or not, runs into some kind of conflict but it gets resolved, and goes on to have a happy ending. In this respect, The Butterfly's Daughter is an excellent feel-good read if you're into that sort of novel. For me, it's not my style and, while I enjoyed reading it for the most part, by the end I was getting bored and ready to move on to the next book on my TBR list. My fault, not the book's.
bookaholicmom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book just as the monarch butterflies were showing up in my yard. It was perfect timing to read this book. Each chapter begins with a tidbit about the monarch butterflies life and journey to their winter home in Mexico. I found it very interesting as I watched the butterflies make a quick stop in my yard on what I imagine is part of that journey.At the same time Luz, the main character, is on a journey which coincides with the monarch butterflies journey. She is taking her grandmother's ashes to home in Mexico, which is where the butterflies are also heading. Luz meets some interesting characters along the way. Each plays a roll in Luz's growth and journey along the way as do the butterflies.I enjoyed this book and found the journey of the butterflies and Luz beautifully written. This was my first Mary Alice Monroe novel but won't be my last. She captured my attention with her wonderful details and great characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story. A little slow in the beginning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were amazing as well as the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GrammaKD More than 1 year ago
I read The Beach House by Mary Alice Monroe and enjoyed it. This book is very different but also very good. It seemed slow at first but as I got into it I had a hard time putting it down. It's about a young woman who begins a journey to connect with the only family she has left after losing her beloved Abuela. Intertwined in the storyline is an account of the beautiful Monarch Butterflies and their long trip back to Mexico - and the celebrations, rituals, and folklore surrounding their arrival. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is sweet, very sweet, almost too sweet. At some point in time as I was reading this, I realized that this is a fairy tale. All references to the butterflies are wonderful. The human characters are what make this a fairy tale. If you like reality, you will not like this book. If you like fairy tales, you will like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have recommended this book to family and friends. I could not put it down. I have traveled through Mexico and encountered the migration of these butterflies. It is a truly awesome experience. The book captures this very well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really well written adventure and family
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
danielux More than 1 year ago
Very good novel, interesting narrative technique and very emotional story about love, human life and self-realization.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was OK. It seemed like it was just touching the surface of the relationships between grandmother, daughter, and granddaughter. Some of it could have been left out, some expanded upon. Would I recommend this, maybe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago