Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$39.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Broken Things 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The+book+had+good+promise+but+progressed+very+slow%2C+the+whole+story+felt+like+it+was+just+dragging+which+made+it+hard+to+read.+When+it+finally+did+pick+up+it+fell+flat+very+fast.+Many+random+bits+of+information+that+was+never+elaborated+on+either.+All+in+all+I%27m+slightly+disappointed.
MercuryMaos 9 months ago
This book was incredible! I love the author's way of telling the story, but I did get a little distracted in the middle of reading. That might just be me, but either way the story was great. This is the perfect YA read for anyone looking for a thrilling, mysterious and absorbing read! Definitely recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved+it.++a+psychological+thriller+with+a+unique+storyline.+impossible+to+guess+the+outcome.+Love+all+of+her+stories.+
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Brynn, Mia and Owen are the Monsters of Brickhouse Lane and according to most of the citizens in town, they killed Summer five years ago. They were linked to the murder but why these three friends brutally murdered Summer, has not surfaced because they believe they are innocent. Individually innocent, as a whole….they’re not quite sure. Written with two different time periods, we get the story from the current period and what happened five years ago. Five years ago, the relationships between these four was a bit shaky. It looked good on the outside but on the inside, individuals were harboring feelings they wouldn’t let out. Brynn, Mia, and Summer were writing a book, a sequel to a book they thought would be their own. It’s a fantasy novel and they kept this novel their secret, or so they thought. Currently, everyone has returned home. Moving about, they notice the whispers and the stares from others as the citizens in town still label them as Summer’s murders. Wanting to investigate Summer’s death and put an end to it, they feel that Summer might have left some clues before her death but have no idea where they might be. As they search for the clues, they discover information about Summer they didn’t have before and they discover information about each other. I liked the mystery and book aspect of the novel. The book that they were writing together, was a fantasy book where they wrote themselves in as characters. This book became a central part of the novel as they realized how important it was to Summer. I thought the ending was a bit rushed and Summer’s murderer (after all the investigating and such) was weak. A bit higher than 4 stars
TheThoughtSpot More than 1 year ago
Broken Things by Lauren Oliver and published by HarperCollins tells the story of how Mia, Brynn and the whole town were left reeling from the horrible murder of Summer. Summer, Mia and Brynn were friends. The three girls pretended that a fantasy book world, Lovelorn, was real until the devastating loss of Summer. Five years later, Mia and Brynn try to piece all of the clues of this unsolved murder together. With the help of Mia’s friend Abby and Brynn’s cousin Wade, they scour the town and surrounding areas to solve this mystery. Twisting between make-believe and reality, the story spins seemingly in circles until the truth stands out clearly. Interesting, intense and emotionally jarring, Broken Things is a 5 star must read! * I received a copy of this book for voluntary review consideration and all opinions and thoughts are my own.
CrazyCat_Alex More than 1 year ago
Dreams can become nightmares. Magic can be curses, Kids can be murderers? This story unfolds like a fairy tale. Slowly, layer by layer, more is revealed. Of a friendship three girl have, where one of them isn’t just a nice girl, but sometimes can be scary and mean. Nobody knows what happened in the woods, the night Summer died. But then, everybody in town is sure, Brynn, Mia and Owen did it. They killed Summer and got away with it. After five years the three old friends meet again for the first time and more than anything they want to find the real killer. There are a lot of twist and turns, and sometimes it’s as if it might have been Mia or Brynn or Owen, killing Summer that might. But when the real killer, the Shadow, is revealed, it’s not somebody I had on my list. I was hooked from the start on this roller coaster of emotions and kind of fairy tale and loved it. Highly recommended!
ruthsic More than 1 year ago
Broken Things, while a good murder mystery, struggles to maintain the atmosphere that you would expect. It is not a thriller by any means, and more like the resolution of a mystery so that the main characters can move on with their lives. The story opens five years in the aftermath of Summer’s murder, which her best friends Mia and Brynn were blamed for, but nobody had evidence so the people at large just settle for harassing the girls and bullying them. The murder and everything that came after altered their lives immensely – Brynn pretends to be an addict so that she can stay in rehab centers and not move about in society, while Mia withdraws further into herself at home, ignoring even the fact that her mother is obsessively hoarding things. When Mia finds a clue while cleaning out her house, that suggests that someone other than the three of them knew the details of the fanfic they were writing (which was also how the murder was committed – word for word as in their story), she seeks out Brynn and later on, Owen (Summer’s ex and her crush/best friend) to finally figure out the murderer of the now cold case. Tagging along is Abby, Mia’s new best friend, and Brynn’s cousin Wade, the latter well-versed with the details of the case. The group thus, chases down leads, even going so far as on a short road trip to recover the original fanfic, and asking questions of townspeople who knew Summer. There are obviously red herrings, but the reveal was unpredictable – and a little sickening, if I may add. The focus of the book is the broken relationships between the characters and them mending it now, 5 years later. Intermittent ‘THEN’ chapters give us glimpses into the dynamic between the three girls, how Summer dominated them, how Brynn was in love with summer, how Mia felt like a third wheel, and how they found a home together in something they shared. Their friendship is as complicated as the girls who had them, and it mirrors the girls of the original book. As for Lovelorn, there are some ‘excerpts’ from the original story and their fanfic, to give an idea of what drew their love for it, as well as how they interpreted things. The mystery is, however, mostly felt as a background thing – like it is moving their story along but not really the main plot. It failed to engage me into it, or get me really invested in the characters and it maybe because I expected something else from the cover and synopsis. Nevertheless, it is an interesting mystery, beautifully written and with brilliant characterization. Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review from Harper Collins, via Edelweiss.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book!