Boy, Snow, Bird

Boy, Snow, Bird

by Helen Oyeyemi

Paperback

$14.83 $16.00 Save 7% Current price is $14.83, Original price is $16. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Boy, Snow, Bird: A Novel 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't often rate a book with one star or with five. Their aren't many that I find to be either poor or perfect. This book however had not one redeeming quality. I love a fairytale retold, and a darker adult twist makes them a guilty adult pleasure. But please save yourself the hours that I spent. There is no fairytale here. I would however, highly recommend The Ocean at the End of the Lane, The Book of Lost Things, and While Beauty Slept. These authors were much better able to coax a new twist to a very old story than Mrs Oyeyemi.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Indecisive of how I should word my review. It wasn't a bad book, not at all, however it could've been so much more. I was constantly questioning why Boy disliked Snow because unless I had skipped a page or chapter I couldn't find a single reason, then right when the book seemed like it could be going somewhere it ended. I wouldn't say DON'T read it, but I will say DON'T get your hopes up, you will be disappointed. The only way this book can come back and get 5 stars is if there is a sequel, and a hell of a sequel at that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author has a wonderfully hypnotic writing style, which brought me along as she wove her story. However, the end essentially drops the floor out of the tale, and left me hanging, which ruined it for me. The three star rating is because up until the non-conclusion, I really enjoyed the book, curious as to what would happen next. If only the wrap-up had continued the magic....
RebeccaScaglione More than 1 year ago
I received this book from the amazing LibraryThing in exchange for a fair and honest review.   Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi is kind of like a modern day Snow White, but with lots of alterations.  The story is told mainly by Boy, who is actually a girl, who escapes from an abusive father and makes a new life in a small town in Massachusetts.  Boy marries and inherits a stepdaughter, Snow, who is pretty much the most perfect person ever.  But when Boy and her husband have a child of their own, a family secret is revealed that causes many of the family relationships to be strained. Boy, Snow, Bird is unique.  It’s part Snow White, part family secret, but it’s all worth the read. Have you read any books that have part of a familiar tale woven in? Thanks for reading,  Rebecca @ Love at First Book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading this amazing book and while I understand that there is a fairy tale parallel , to me it is a stand alone story . What an imaginative and gifted author !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am still waiting for all the characters to come together into a cohesive story. Almost did not finish. Still trying vto figure out the point.....
Books4Tomorrow More than 1 year ago
Thinking that the fairy tale aspect as well as the enigmatic reference to mirrors would make it an interesting, even fascinating read, I quite eagerly started reading Boy, Snow, Bird. I'm sorry to say that I was rather sadly disappointed. Boy leaves her abusive parent for life in a small town and a marriage that seems to turn sour after a few years. Although Boy - really a girl - is a bit of a typical stepmother, her daughter, Bird, makes an effort to befriend her estranged stepsister, the beautiful and completely white, Snow.   Excellent classics like To Kill a Mocking Bird and The Help notwithstanding, books concerning the color question have never been among my favorite reading material. The author uses the Snow White fairy tale to emphasize the color issue in this book—a clever ploy if stories about said color issue is within the reader's interest.  Unless the matter of both Bird and Snow not always appearing in all mirrors at all times is a metaphor for something, I simply didn't get that part of the story. I did, however, enjoy Bird's fascination with spiders. That, together with her upbeat, often hilariously funny, narrating voice during the middle part of the book, gave her an outstanding character.  Other characters like Mia, Boy's best friend, as well as both the grandmothers are unique and well fleshed out and contribute to the telling of this story. The weird, but wickedly unexpected plot twist right at the end, though criticized by many, actually redeemed this book for me.  Although this book is not for me, it is clearly an excellent literary work that retells the fairy tale of Snow White while skillfully and tastefully touching on the color question within families and communities in the sixties. (Ellen Fritz)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this book; I loved the premise and the possibilities it offered. However, I could not sustain any interest in the storyline and found it impossible to form any connection with the unlikeable, undeveloped characters.. I kept hoping it would get better, but it did not. I do not like to give up on a book, but 3/4s through this one I gave myself permission to close the covers and return it to the library. . It is a dreary and depressing book, not worth precious reading time. I cannot recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not recommend this book. The story does not flow. The characters are not developed. The ending reads like the author got tired of writing and threw in a red herring at the end of the book just to finish it. This is one of the worst endings I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so beautiful, but it ended too abruptly. I wanted more !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting book but odd ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise of this book sounded good - the beginning started off well, then...nothing.  The story felt very disjointed and i Wish that some had been told from Snow's perspective.  The ending, like others have said, seemed like the author was tired of writing and just..... Don't understand how this author gets such critical acclaim - I haven't read any of her other books, maybe I'll give them a try.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits down waiting