Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven

by C. J. Box

Hardcover(Large Print)

$31.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blue Heaven 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 206 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Kootenai Bay, Idaho, the Tyler siblings, twelve years old Annie and ten years old William Taylor, are playing in the nearby woods when they witness a hideous homicide. The duo flees, but not before the killers spot them. The culprits are retired LAPD officers who left the force eight years ago after getting away with a local heist they will not allow witnesses to live as happened back in Southern California.----------- The preadolescent pair knows their lives are in danger from the retired dirty cops. The kids take refuge in the barn of rancher Jess Rawlins. He sees them hiding there and believes their tale even as the dirty former cops volunteer to help the sheriff¿s department search for the two missing children.------------- Although no Joe Pickett, this is an engaging crime thriller as Jess plays cat and mouse with the killers while the children are the cheese. The action is at its best when the story line focuses on the current situation but a sidebar involving an investigation into a Southern California robbery murder takes away from the prime tale of two kids in trouble with their murderous pursuer¿s part of the rescue team.--------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first C.J. Box novel I've read; and it was very good. He is great at outlining characters and propelling a plot to keep one turning those pages. I particularly enjoyed the ending. He really had a knack for tying up the ends. Truly a fantastic read.
Larryb52 More than 1 year ago
this is without doubt a good book. Unlike a lot of today's mystery writers with over the top themes that are sometime just not belieable. It's nice to read a solid well thought out book, with a solid plot, characters with depth, that you get to know & well satisfied feeling of a good ending. I don't know how I missed CJ Box but I'm glad I found this book & his writing. I sure won't miss anymore of his work...
misskarlyjaye More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Once you start you have to keep going to find out what happens next. This was the first book by Box that I read, and I will be reading a lot more of his work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a huge fan of the Joe Pickett novels, I wasn't sure I'd like a book without him. Blue Heaven was an awesome, thrill ride with characters as real and likeable as Pickett and his family. The action was non-stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
recipient liked it, passed it back to me to read. Very readable with likeable protagonist characters, bad guys and suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have recently discovered C.J. Box and "Blue Heaven" is an easy, enjoyable read. It has just enough suspense, and a few touching family moments to keep you interested. Box's relaxed writing style is definitely a winner! Try his Joe Pickett novels if you haven't already!
drhorn More than 1 year ago
I recently discovered C.J. Box and his books. Blue Heaven is one of the more entertaining books of his series. I couldn't put the book down until I completed it. Jess Rawlins, the main character, is believable, vulnerable, and intelligent. The book is full of tension which hooks the reader. You will believe this is something that could happen. Don't delay get this book you will love it. DrHorn
terrylazar More than 1 year ago
What a great read. End of your seat excitement. The ending was a bit sad, but I'll get over it.
THRILLER-LOVER More than 1 year ago
THIS IS THE SECOND C.J. BOX NOVEL THAT I HAVE READ. I FINISED "THREE WEEKS TO SAY GOODBYE" TWO MONTHS AGO AND IT WAS OUTSTANDING. "BLUE HEAVEN", LIKE THRE WEEKS TO SAY GOODBYE" IS ONLY ONE OF TWO STAND ALONE NOVELS BY C.J. BOX. HIS OTHER BOOKS CENTER ON JOE PICKET (NONE OF WHICH I HAVE READ YET, BUT ALL OF WHICH I WILL NOW). C.J. BOX IS NOT ONLY A GREAT AUTHOR, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, HE IS A GREAT STORY TELLER, WHICH PUTS HIM ON A PLATEAU WITH FEW OTHER AUTHORS. BLUE HEAVEN TAKES PLACE IN NORTH IDAHO, A ROUGH PLACE ONLY FOR THE HARDY AND RUGGED. TWO YOUNG CHILDREN WITNESS SOMETHING THAT THEY SHOULDN'T HAVE AND NOW THEY ARE ON THE RUN FOR THEIR LIVES. YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH THE RESILIENT 10 YEAR OLD ANNIE AND HER YOUNGER, EVER INQUISITIVE RROTHER, WILLIAM, AGE 8. THEY NEED HELP AND THEY NEED IT FAST. ENTER JESS RAWLINS, A TOUGH, OLD FARM OWNER WHO IS FAIR AND STANDS UP FOR WHAT HE BELIEVES IN. RAWLINGS IS ONE OF THE MOST LIKEABLE CHARACTERS THT I HAVE COME ACOSS IN MANY YERS OF READING. HE IS OUT OF HIS LEAGUE AGAINST THE PEOPLE WHO ARE PURSUING THE 2 CHLDREN, AND HE DOES NOT KNOW WHO HE CAN TRUST, BUT AS A RESULT OF RUNNING A 3,000 ACRE FARM IN AN INHOSPITAL LAND, VIRTUALLY ALONE, THAT HAS BEEN IN HIS FAMILY SINCE 1933, HE HAS SOME SPECIAL ABILITIES INCLUDING HIS RUGGINESS AND A WILLINGNESS TO FIGHT FOR WHAT HE BELIEVES IN. HE ALSO HAS ANOTHER UNIQUE ABILITY THAT HE LEARNED IN THE ARMY THAT COMES IN VERY HANDY. JESS IS SURROUNDED BY MARVELOUS CHARACTERS, GREAT DIALOGUE AND A FEW FRIENDS THAT HE CAN TRUST HIS LIFE WITH. THE PLOT HAS A NUMBER OF TWISTS AND TURNS AND A VERY SATISFYING ENDING. THE AUTHOR DESCRIPTIONS OF THE CHARATERS ENABLES YOU TO EASILY VISUALIZE THEM. THE STORY IS A STORY TOLD AGAINST THE BACKDROP OF ANOTHER STORY, ONE THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON ACROSS AMERICA FOR THE PAST FOUR DECADES, WHERE PLACES OF SPECTACULAR NATURAL BEAUTY ARE SLOWLY BEING ERASED BY COMMERCIAL AND RESIDENTIAL DEVELOPMENT AND AN INFLUX OF NEWCOMERS MORE INTERESTED IN THE DEELOPMENT OF THE LAND, THAN THE BEAUTY OF THE LAND ITSELF. JESS RAWLINS SPEAKS FOR ALL OF US WHO BELIEVE IN THE PRESERVATION OF THE NATURAL BEAUTY STILL LEFT IN POCKETS IN AMERICA. MR. BOX DOES A MAGNIFICENT JOB DESCRIBING THE LAND AND THE RUGGED MOUNTAINS OF NORTH IDAHO. YOU CAN ALMOST FEEL THE MIST FOLLOWING A RAIN STORM AND THE BEAUTY OF A WONDEROUS NIGHT FILLED WITH MILLONS OF STARS THAT RELECT OFF LAKES AND STREAMS. THIS IS A BOOK THAT DESERVES A SECOND READING. I FOUND MYSELF SAVORING EVERY WORKD.
Booker13 More than 1 year ago
This is one of THE BEST BOOKS I have ever read.  It was the first C.J. Box book I purchased and could not put it down.  The plot and character  are so well done.  PAGE TURNER doesn't begin to describe it.  I was sad it ended....would LOVE to see this as a movie. You won't be disappointed.
PeachesGR More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I read by C.J.Box it was great I was so into it I hated to put it down.I'm not good at writing reviews.C.J. Box pulls you in and keeps you there.I'm now reading my second book by C.J. THREE Weeks to say Goodbye.C.J.Box is my new best friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had to make myself put it down and get some sleep. Wanted to keep reading it.
MexicoDan More than 1 year ago
This is a well-written, can't-put-it-down mystery -- like most of Box's books.
SandyIL More than 1 year ago
Not as good as his previous - but good.
jeffg2000 More than 1 year ago
Be sure to plan for time when reading this because you will not be able to put it down, cannot wait for more from CJ Box
Anonymous 5 months ago
Excellent book demanded full attention!
Anonymous 6 months ago
zL%0A%0ALove+C+zJ%0A%0A%0A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
another+cj+box+classic
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a suspenseful and unsettling book. Two young kids, a 12-year-old girl and her younger brother, witness a brutal murder, only to be seen by the murderers. They flee, but are quickly pursued. Soon they realize they cannot go home, and have nowhere else to go. The bad guys in the story are ex-cops who may or may not have committed a huge robbery and murder eight years before, and every time I listened to a chapter from the ex-policemen's point-of-view, I was terrified - they're creepy and evil.Very exciting - I sat in my car to finish chapters several times!
bohemiangirl35 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've never heard of C.J. Box. This library book was passed to me by my brother.Twelve-year-old Annie takes her little brother William fishing after school when their mother's new boyfriend breaks his promise to do so. She's never fished before, but how hard can it be? On the way, they witness a murder. Three men each shoot a fourth man. They run and manage to get away.When the children's mother Monica finds out that her boyfriend stood the kids up and has no idea where they are, she promptly dumps him and calls the sheriff. Luckily, or not, north Idaho is a retirement haven for former LAPD officers and four of them volunteer to run the investigation for the small town.Little does the town know that the retirees have their own reasons for wanting to find the kids.The story was pretty good but a little convoluted at times. Although it was easy to believe that the former cops would steal tons of money, I had a hard time believing that they would have such a carefree attitude towards committing murder, especially of a friend. I think I would have given the book 4 stars if it had a different narrator. Although John Bedford Lloyd does a good job, it always takes me several CDs to get used to his voice. To me, his voice seems more suited to humorous work than anything suspenseful.
ewald005 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5/2010 Jess Rawlins (good old rancher) saves 2 kids who witnessed a murder by bad LA cops, set in Idaho
audryh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two children, who have witnessed a murder, go on the run in the woods of North Idaho, pursued by four men, ex-LAPD officers. Old-school rancher , Jess Rawlins, comes to their rescue but puts himself in harms way. Good read!
bratlaw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two parallel investigations collide in Spokane, Idaho. A place retired cops call Blue Heaven. About the first third of the book was slow. Once you learn all the characters and the action begins, it picks up. I will not give away anything but I did not like the ending.
mookie86 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Never read C.J. Box but thoroughly enjoyed Blue Heaven. I can see why this book was up for an Edgar award with its twists and turns. The characters seemed to fit in perfectly to a mutli-faceted plot with many different points of view. It's always enjoyable when those points of view can intertwine at the end and tell a similar story. This book is definitely worth a read. Edgar-worthy indeed.