The Blue Fairy Book

The Blue Fairy Book

by Andrew Lang

Paperback

$45.50
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Blue Fairy Book 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the kind of book that every child should have in his or her personal library. It is as good as The Arabian Nights but, unfortunately, not as well known. Buy it for your kids and see how happy and excited it makes them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was originally first published in the 1890's. The story-telling style and re-printed art reflect the original. The stories are extremely imaginative and well-written. This is a treasure to grow up with, and will ensure a vast imagination for your young one. Everyone should be so fortunate !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had this book when i was a kid and it was amazing! It has all the classics from the bronze ring to little red rideing hood to cinderella. Grate book for tweens.
LemonDrop More than 1 year ago
I gave it a five because the stories are amazing and timeless. I don't like that they don't have any pictures. If you want to see the original book with the pictures go to google book previews. They have the whole book with the original pictures. Other than that, this is an amazing book that I'm afraid doesn't get much credit these days and that's probably due to the racism that some stories show. I read this book and my parents read this book but kids nowadays don't get to read the original tales, only the cleaned up tales. I wish they would sell these in leather bound or at least hard cover. Oh well...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the description of the 1st World Publishing edition of this book, it states that the book contains 138 original black and white illustrations, but it contains none! What a disappointment.
Kaly Dang More than 1 year ago
I rread this for the first time in the second grade. The stories stuck with me even thoigh my memory was vague. I've been searching for uears and now I get too read it again :)
nieva21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thus far, in the Blue Fairy Book first volume it gets off to a s very rocky start, in comparison to Lang's other volumes in the series. This volume lacks a cohesiveness, where there are some familiar fairytales and far less noted ones, in such an archaic record of the oral tradition. The Blue Fairy book is rather ecclectic in it's display and the way it orates these tales. I find it interesting that many of the true well-known tales aren't actually known in their entirety, as they are revealed in this version. There are some very interesting parallels between stories in this collection and in the Red and Violet collections-- for instance East of the Sun and West of the Moon parallels Soria Moria Castle Published in the Red story. Prince Hyacinth parallels Dwarf Long nosed in the Violet. The parallels have to do with how the stories were constructed, motifs, similar themes, structural shifts, motive, characterization, but not about the plethora of how children's fairytales of this era all seemingly have a typical formula that works well revolving around food, the number three, good vs. evil, change vs. losing oneself, listening to ones elders vs. spurning the advice of elders (cynility), entering other dimensions, animals who speak, luck (abundance--rags to riches story), the classic quest story, princesses or princes who are bored and have to marry but want to change their arranged marriage choice, nature/natural world interference, fear vs. bravery (and a ton of other numerous innate human conflicts dealing with consciousness and the human condition). Basically, we still question these today which is why they are still relevant and rich for discussion. It's why they consume toteism, and comprise our history. Many of us try to hide the truth of how we view literature because it often times reflects with how we view ourselves or know ourselves far better than we think we do. It reveals a deeper and richer discovery of the vulnerability of childhood imaginations, which evolve throughout our lifetimes.
momma2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A nice collection of fairy tales. We did not read it straight through but read selected stories. The kids kind of got a kick out of the grim nature of some of the tales. Fairy tales in their original form.
tripleblessings on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Classic fairy tales from the Grimm brothers, Charles Perrault, Madame d'Aulnoy, the Arabian Nights, and other international sources. This volume has some of the best known European tales, 37 in all, with 138 beautiful illustrations by Ford and Hood. Lang's collections were first published circa 1891.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is, in one word, terrible. There are misspellings everywhere, the organization is poor, and it was made available by "the internet archive" whoever that is. Even an 8 year old could do a better job of making this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book! If you want this and the rest of Lang's color fairy tale books and more, check out "25 Favorite Fairy Tales, Fables, and Mythology Books".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a wonderful book, Does any-one else think it's great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful collection of fairy tales. Many favorites of mine are in here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago