Bleachers

Bleachers

by John Grisham

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bleachers 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 361 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cannot wait to get my hands on Bleachers. Grisham is the best author of all time. my family reads everything he writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a waste of time and money.I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.it sucked
Guest More than 1 year ago
It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.
D-Swan More than 1 year ago
What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book will get your attention form the beginning. The book¿s name is Bleachers by John Grisham. The genre of this book is sports fiction. Bleachers is about old football players that come back to their home town and share the latest scuttlebutts and memories I liked this book because it kept my attention thought the whole book by using cool stories and good vocabulary. John Grisham played football for a Southern Mississippi high school football team. I would give this book a five out of five ratting. What will you give this book?
Anonymous 5 days ago
first 100 pages was b+
TiffanyAK on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a great book, but is okay. Basically it's about a bunch of guys that were small town High School football stars who come together again as their legendary coach is dying. I didn't much care for it, but it was a great commentary on the 'glory days' fof High School athletes, and how seldom their stardom lasts for long, leaving them with nothing but the memories and a broken body to show for it. But, it's also a commentary on the lasting influence, whether positive or negative, a well-respected figure such as a coach can have on the young people they're around. Not a bad read, and it doesn't take long either.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I finally finished this tiny novel,. I guessit's odd that it took me so long to finish such a small book, I was at itfor nearly a week. My only excuse is that it was a busy week. Plus, I'mnot a real sports fan, either, and the passages that detailed football gameswere hard for me to read since I don't know (nor do I really care to know!)much about the game.Still, this was a good quality book. It's a character study of a characterwho never appears in the book except in the recollections of others. It'sabout a man named Eddie Rake, a legendary small town high school footballcoach who had the best teams every year of his career. But the ruthlessnessof his training, the heartless way he drove the kids and his cruelty thatresulted in the death of a boy and his eventual downfall is the commonthread among all the remembrances. Digging deeper, though, the readerlearns of Coach Rake's tender moments and his humanity. He is a man thathis teams hate with a passion, yet love deeply even against all evidence tothe contrary.For most folks, this would be a quick read, but I would advise you to eatthis thin book in small chunk and stop and think about it. It's notGrisham's best work, by a long shot, and it doesn't resemble his typicallegal roller coaster rides in the slightest. But it's a good little book.I'd recommend it.
jonwwil on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting little book. And when I say "little," I mean it - at just 163 pages, I'd call it a novella myself, even though it says "A NOVEL" right there on the cover.I'm a high school football junkie - as much for the human drama it provides as for the action on the field - so I thought this would be right up my alley, and I was mostly right. I'm also a fan of good writing, and on that account, well...it was okay.I think the book would have been a lot better if Grisham would have left out the subplot about Neely's high school romance, but it also would have been a lot shorter. That part of the story felt contrived, and the character of Cameron was so flat and one-dimensional as to be barely there. It just didn't seem to serve a purpose, other than to provide enough pages to qualify the story as "A NOVEL." But at least she didn't swoon at the sight of Neely and fall back into love with him, so I suppose that's a point in Grisham's favor.Outside of that one obvious misstep, the main characters felt real enough, and I think they provided enough story on their own. I enjoyed the banter that went back and forth between them, and the bond they still felt despite the different paths their lives had taken since their playing days. And I was fascinated by the Bobby Knight-esque figure of Eddie Rake, the coach they've come back to mourn, the brutal dictator they all loathed during their high school days but who actually turned out to be a pretty decent, if fatally flawed, human being in the end.
csayban on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt that Bleachers is not your typical John Grisham book. There is no legal intrigue. There are no courtroom heroics. Nobody is murdered. However, there is a good story here. At 163 pages, this book is closer to a novella than to a novel in length. I read the entire story in one day (I know, pretty lame) and it was a fun read. The story revolves around the return of football star Neely Crenshaw to his home town because of the impending death of his football coach Eddie Rake. Coach Rake made himself a town legend, but a controversial legend to be sure. Players from generations of teams migrate back to the field they played on ¿ each for their own reason - to tell stories of their time in the program, both good and bad. Some see Rake as a hero while others can¿t shake the man¿s obvious flaws. But the real story is Neely trying to come to grips with his relationship with Rake ¿ whether to hate him or respect him and the `incident¿ kept a secret for 15 years ¿ and the town¿s reverence for both Rake and Neely over a `silly game.¿ The book shines a light on the way sports can become far more than just sport and how people come to grips with their past when they are forced to come back to it. I think Grisham was wise to have written the story as such a short piece. It would have dragged if he attempted to turn it into a 350-page novel. But as it stands, it is a quick, fun read and I really enjoyed characters and the story.
burnit99 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Neely Crenshaw has come back to Messina where he was the best quarterback ever to play for Coach Eddie Rake's legendary Spartans. Coach Rake is dying now, and as Neely and some former teammates sit in the bleachers and wait for his passing, they trade stories about their lives and the man they came to love and hate with mixed and equal fervor. For Neely, this may be his last opportunity to find it in his heart to forgive his coach, and himself. A fine short novel that moved me; I've enjoyed every one of John Grisham's non-courtroom books and have yet to read one of the genre for which he is most well-known. I may have to correct that.
GaylDasherSmith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was a compelling story that kept me reading, but I am sickened by this sort of abuse of power in education
rachelann on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
OMG, this was the worst book ever. I don't like sports and I didn't realize the whole thing was going to be about football. This was so bad, don't read it.
lindseyrivers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this book will be most appreciated by 30 something year old men from small southern towns who played football in High School. As a 29 year old female from a small southern football town, I got it. It just didn't resonate with me like I think it would the target audience. An emotional read, not bad but not great.
loveseabooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Small Town Football combine to create a wonderful story. In "Bleachers", John Grisham took me on a trip to the small town of Messina, Mississippi, where Friday night football reigns supreme. No pro football here, just the home grown college and high school teams. The story brings back lots of memories and if you enjoy football this is the story for y. In the story, Coach Eddie Rake, who has had a long career as football coach that he built into a football dynasty. Because of it, he is the most important man in town, and he is loved by everybody in Messina and of course the players, both present and past, of the Messina Spartans.This story takes place over the course of four days as the Spartans from different eras return to stand vigil over their dying coach. The players sit in the bleachers, share stories and memories. They relive old rivalries and victories. Most of all, they remember the times, both good and bad, that they had with their coach. They also, remember the miracle 1987 game, and in the process, let out a secret that had been kept for a decade. While this short story is out of Mr. Grisham's usual genre, it still has the elements of a down home, wholesome story with a twist. Enjoy.
dvf1976 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Audio Recommended by Alan Fisher. Pretty good little book. Coming back from 30-0 at halftime seems like a stretch, but I guess it's possible.
kysmom02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good book! I'm a football fanatic, so this book instantly appealed to me. I also live in a small town where the football program is highly anticipated and appreciated much like in this book, (though not to this extreme).Neely comes back to the small town of Messina out of respect for his high school football coach who is on his death bed. Though Neely expresses and explains his love/hate relationship of the man, he hopes to get the shadow of the man out of his head without giving up all the life lessons that the man instilled in all of his players.This book is about passion. The coach's passions for his players and his teams. The player's passion for the game of football and desire to impress Coach Rake. Grisham does an incredible job with drawing emotions from the reader.Thoroughly enjoyed this book and am passing it on to my husband and brother-in-law who is a coach in this small football town.
tabitha6 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Quick read and very emotional, touching.
JaimiTaylor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
He never disappoints!
midkid88 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So I didn't actually read the book, but I did listen to it on tape and I did like it. The book told of a man coming back to his hometown because high school's head football coach of like 30 years was dying. While the whole town is waiting for this legend of a man to pass away, the main character talks to old teammates and relives some of the good and bad memories.I liked the book in general, I just didn't like the fact that the town because of its view on football and how everything else got pushed to the back burner. I would have hated to go to that school as an athlete other than football.
goodwaterreader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An interesting book, for the non-American reader that I am, in that it shows a facet of the American culture and its fascination with sport and success. The book is well written, with a load of emotion coming through to the reader at the climax of the story.
sallyawolf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bleachers By John GrishamSometimes a sports team is the back bone and life blood of a whole town. In this booka infamous coach is dieing. His death has brought everyone back to their hometown to honor him. In the process they lay to rest more then just a great man. They learn to accept the power of a man to motivate a group of people throughout their entire lives not just when they are on the field. This book makes you realize that it is more than a sport it is a state of mind. I would recommend this book to anyone who has had a mentor not just those who like football.
serbook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book narrows in on a small town football coach and the extraordinary measures he takes to ensure that his team wins. Makes you question the whether winning at all costs is warranted.
MsBeautiful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Short novel about small town football team, involves the reader well but not a stellar book
temsmail on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great psychological drama! The characters are "real" and the action is possible (with a little suspension of disbelief). The ending is poweful, and Gresham has done another good writing job, outside legal genre.