This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Blackberry Summer (Hope's Crossing Series #1)

Blackberry Summer (Hope's Crossing Series #1)

by RaeAnne Thayne

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$3.99 $7.99 Save 50% Current price is $3.99, Original price is $7.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blackberry Summer 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
It kept me reading. I wanted to find out what would happen in the end and how it would end. I found the struggles each individual character was dealing with thought provoking. The romance took a little long to get going but I did like the way it ended. I would not recommend it for teens because of a steamy scene that goes a bit too far. Most of it however is about surviving under difficult circumstances and learning to gain confidence in who you are. I really like the idea that through service, you are able to heal and come together as a community. It is so true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed reading books written by RaeAnne Thayne. I feel as if I know the characters and what they are experiencing by her descriptive passages and I am feeling their joys and sorrows along with them. So far, I have read 5 books in this series, no idea if it is only five books or more to follow. The first book, Blackberry Summer is about Claire Bradford, the mother of two, divorced (her ex-husband remarried, expecting another child with his new wife who was his young receptionist in his orthopedic practice still living in town?, her friendships with the women at String Fever (her bead store) and the McKnight family. Growing up, Claire's best friend was Alex McKnight, and through her life Riley McKnight, the little brother tortured and tormented them. Both families had similar childhood issues due to their fathers. Now Riley is back in town as the new sheriff (leaving behind his job as an undercover detective in Oakland. A tragic set of circumstances begin on a snowy night, touching everyone's lives. Claire, her children, and another young friend barely survive a car crash into the reservoir and only due to Riley following the suspects from a burglary, is he in the right place at the right time to save them but what happened to the truck that he was following and who was in the truck? As the questions are answered, Riley's feelings for Claire have grown since his youth and Claire begins to see Riley through "new eyes" but Riley was always a "love 'em and leave 'em" guy. He knows Claire deserves better and tries to reconcile his feelings with his past. As we turn the pages, other members of the McKnight family and the women of "String Fever" take more of a role which leads us to the following books. I wish I had read the books in sequence. The character development and the storyline would have flowed better for me. Unfortunately, I read the fifth book first and read the others as I was able to buy them. I loved the fifth book which fed my desire to find the earlier books. A thoroughly enjoyable read...
TheElizabethP More than 1 year ago
Good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great story of love, family values. 263 pages of goodnrss!
Chelsey Dickerson More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put it down...so good!
l_manning on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm sort of torn over this book. There were parts I loved, and parts I didn't really like much. In fairness, I'm not really a romance fan. I guess I should say I'm not an UST/angst fan. There seemed to be a lot of that in this book. The constant pining made me want to tear my hair out. I just want them to make up their minds and get on with it. That being said, there were some really fantastic parts of this book. I loved the sense of community in this small town. The author did a really great job of making me feel like I was a part of a small-knit group. The women had really great interactions with each other. I also loved the concept of the benefit at the end of the book. It was truly uplifting. The ending seemed a bit abrupt, but I didn't feel that took away from the book overall.If you are looking for angsty romance, you will probably love this book. I could have done without that, but I did enjoy the rest of the book. It will be a great beach read I think. It's pretty light and predictable, but it is still a fun read.Galley provided by publisher for review.
shelleyraec on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sometimes a sweet, happy ever after romance is the perfect antidote to a bad day. Blackberry Summer introduces the small town of Hope's Crossing in Colorado. While it's residents are not immune to the pitfalls of contemporary society - the global financial crisis, political machinations, divorce and crime - it is essentially a community, where familiarity with friends and neighbours has a special type of charm. For Claire Bradford, raising her two children while her ex husband starts a new family with his new, much younger wife, Hope's Crossing is home. When her bead store, String Fever, is vandalised, the new chief of police, Riley McKnight arrives to investigate and Claire is horrified by her immediate attraction to her best friend's little brother. Riley has been away for fifteen years and the hellion he once was has grown into a fine man, who realises that his adolescent crush on Claire has never really gone away.Of course there is no smooth road to love for this pair. Claire's self esteem is low as a result of her divorce and she is concerned about the appropriateness of her attraction to a younger man. Riley is struggling to live down his teenage bad boy reputation and the shadow of his father's desertion. A tragedy that directly involves the two brings them closer together but both stagger under the weight of their respective baggage. It's a predictable, though enjoyable, pattern of the expected I don't/ I can't/ I couldn't /I do.Thayne is clearly establishing opportunities within the supporting characters to create future pairings for a series I would compare to Debbie Macombers Cedar Cove series. Blackberry Summer is a contemporary, cozy romance that provided me with a few hours of much needed relaxation. Romance fans are sure to enjoy this introduction to the Hope's Crossing community.
JacobsBeloved on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The community of Hope's Crossing is quaint in its friendliness and familiarity of the different individuals with one another. Though the town operates as the hub of a large resort, it does not lose its charm as a small town. So when the type of crime that is more prone to big cities happens here, it causes its citizens to be less welcoming to its newest inhabitant and chief of police, Riley McKnight. Riley faces an uphill battle both socially and romantically, as he is drawn all over again to the stubbornly independent Claire that was attracted to growing up. The big difference this time is that Claire likes him back! They play the typical game of I can't believe he/she likes me, and do I really like him/ her that is so common in romance novels. In the mean time, Claire dreams up a way to put the town in better spirits, while defending Riley's place there.Claire is easy to like, with her bead store that attracts such colorful characters, and the patience she exhibits in all of her relationships, from the one with her mother to the ones with her ex-husband and his new, pregnant wife. I even like how her injuries drive Riley to constantly offer to help her in any way possible.Riley's honesty is at times comedic, shocking, and even alluring. He has charm to spare, but keeps most of it bottled up because of a difficult past.The book was more entertaining than I have come to expect from the typical Harlequin, but in many ways not very unique from the standard plot line. While I did enjoy reading it, I doubt that I will remember much about the book.
jjmcgaffey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got this book through the Harlequin We Hear You survey program. Nice. Excellent characters - both the protagonists and the secondary characters feel real. Nice situation, with interesting twists - bad boy makes good, real and reasonable commitment-phobia, on both parts, and external events affecting their relationship in interesting ways. The Angel of Hope and the Giving Hope Day are neat - real good neighbor ideas. The other book by this author that I've read suffered from cardboard characters and unreasonable timing; looks like she figured it out since then. I'll be looking for more by her - especially if there are more set in Hope's Crossing, I like this place and these people.
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A story about small town life, and old friends who rediscover each other and a new spark in their relationship. A quiet, gentle romance - but waaaaay too tame for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very sweet story! I loved every minute of it and was sad to see it end! A must read!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
That ending. Just..that ending. Yeah book you won me over. This took me a while to finish. Maybe because I was liking the book to take my time reading and not wanting to just breeze through it. Or wanted to take a break from it for a bit since I was reading another book at the same time. Or both. Yeah let's go with both. Anyway, been reading a lot more cozies and contemporary romances lately. I think it has to do with the book covers and how it sets the tone of the setting the story takes place in and well, the story sounds good too. And this was quite the first book in a new series I can add to my ever growing series must catch up on list. I liked the setting, the cover and the very flawed two lead characters. Oh and it does have its share of cute and adorable moments and moments where you're just like, will you two just get together already! Anyway, a cute if a little bit of a emotional roller coaster kind of read. Looking forward to the other books in the series. Did I mention I love the cover?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookerGL More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much and just bought book 3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out fast and continued at a good pace. Enjoyed reading a story where not everyone is perfect and rich.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
"We needed this. A reminder that no matter how difficult our own journey, sometimes the only thing that can ease our path is to stop for a while and gather strength by lifting someone else's burden" (page 342)   BLACKBERRY SUMMER is the first book in the Hope's Crossing series by RaeAnne Thayne.  This light romance fosters a sense of community, friendships, and helping others that raises it above the average romance novel.  This town has a curiously secretive "Angle of Hope" who steps up to meet people's needs just when they feel down.  Anything from paying heating bills, providing a good second hand car, to a get well gift basket appear to show people that someone else does care about them.  Claire is a divorced single mom who runs a beading shop in town.  When she and her kids are injured in a car accident because the police chief is chasing a ring of thieves, she finds that her fierce independence is threatened because she needs help after her injuries.  Riley is the new police chief who has just returned to his hometown.  Riley and Claire grew up together as friends  but now that friendship is growing into something else, but each of their pasts seem to be hindering their new found feelings.  How will the accident and the town's gossip mill affect their blooming romance? I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The characters evoked many emotions and drew me immediately into this story of romance and community. I enjoyed the bead crafting and the atmosphere of small town relationships.  Looking forward to continuing this series to find out about more people's lives in Hope's Crossing, Colorado. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great book. I loved the small town, the homey feel and the great story. This was my first by RaeAnne Thayne, but it won't be my last.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My sister and I have both read this series this summer and we love it! It's well written, interesting and the characters really get to you - you care what happens to them and can't wait to start the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good mystery. Enjoyed. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago