Between the World and Me

Between the World and Me

by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Hardcover(Large Print)

$31.49 $34.99 Save 10% Current price is $31.49, Original price is $34.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Between the World and Me 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great step through one man's conscious encounters with race and oppression throughout his life. It's brutal honesty should make it required reading for all Americans, regardless of race or heritage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book great themes perfectfor the issues today
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most powerful books I have read. It really shows me a different perspective the what I have seen in my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a beautifully written, sad and heart breaking story!!!! I have always heard, " you don't know until you have walkedin anothers shoes." That was a small, brief peak into not just one persons but a whole race of people's " shoes ". I can only thank you for allowing me into your life, your pain and your struggles. I must admit I feel ashamed. Review by: Pamisue
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautiful book. Slim but packed with brutal honesty. What everyone needs to hear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very powerful and informative!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Coates provides an honest, frightening view into the experience of living in the non-"dreamers"America . His painful, powerful observation has changed how I'll view our world going forward.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this somewhere you can rage cry
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
I really struggled to understand this book. It was so foreign. That was kind of the point though. Ta-Nehisi Coates is writing to his son about his struggle to understand what I means to live in his black body. I struggled to understand his struggle. The book is written in a long, flowing letter. It reads like a memoir at times, but more philosophical at other points. It touches on some elements of history, like the Civil War, but most references are to brutal police killings of black men. I had to read this book in complete silence. The writing is beautiful, but it's hard to follow. I kept reading and tried to focus on understanding the overall message, versus the individual sentences. Although there were many amazing statements throughout the book. Ta-Nehisi Coates, an affluent, black writer, fears for his body and the body of his son. He points out that the huge divide in our country is not between the rich and the poor, but between those who are black and those who believe themselves to be white. I was blind to this point before reading this book. I naively assumed that black people who escaped the inner city escaped the violence against them. The continual police murders are showing that this is not the case. It is dangerous to be black everywhere in this country. What I could relate to was his separateness as an atheist and his love for his son. The things he says and the stories he recounts from his son's childhood make it apparent how much he loves his boy. I see why John Green said all young people should read this book. And I'm glad that I read it. For its value to our society, I gave it 4 stars even though it wasn't what I'd call an enjoyable read. What I want to know now is how do we fix our country? Where do we start? http://www.momsradius.com/2015/11/book-review-between-world-and-me.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will be reading this again before long. This is a rich, beautiful, powerful book.
CarmanK More than 1 year ago
Powerful story of growing up in America black. As the mother of three white sons, I worried about them doing stupid things and making mistakes in their teen years but I never considered that such lapses could get them dead. This book was an awakening to that reality which consumes mothers of black sons in America. Toni Morrison is right: "this is required reading".
MsLibrarian More than 1 year ago
The writing is transcendent and the ideas are challenging and powerful. I'm deeply grateful to have read this. This book should be studied, discussed, shared, and purchased. I wish every high school senior and person seeking or holding elected office would read it. It is not Mr. Coates's responsibility to offer "solutions" but to impart ideas and the wisdom of his experience as an African American man.
Anonymous 25 days ago
I think it was an alright book but it was very racist towards whites which I know that’s what it was about but it made me feel weird. Also it made fun of my religion. But overall it was an alright book.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Vcgxhhvhyddztftdfctcrcrduzre. My nae is bob and u I lived this book. It was AWESOMW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thus is a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NfmvvncffffvbfnxjckvkzmvbVbgbxbxbxbvffmhvfc vbkxvcbfhcbbgnnfbnxmccqqqdvd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one my daughter's favorite books because it is so funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ffgffavcvvgycjvhasgasdgasdfghjklzxcvbn.mqwretyutope
18876111 More than 1 year ago
Like it says on the cover blurb by Toni Morrisson, "This is required reading." This book was deep, and thought-provoking. It is definitely a book that needs to be read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought every young man in my family a copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There+were+plenty+%22aha%22+moments+for+me+in+this+book.+and+much+inspiration+to+pursue+writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. It helped me, non-black person, understand what our fellow black brothers and sisters feel living in the US.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That gurl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Toomuvc