Best Friends Forever

Best Friends Forever

Audiobook(Cassette)

$123.75 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Best Friends Forever 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 628 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author is leaving the door open for a follow up book...! Weiner's books are a little formulated, though. There's always a fat girl with 'mousy' hair who manages to slim down, there's always a fabulous friend, and there's a man who 'unexpectedly' becomes a love interest for the fat girl. I do enjoy seeing characters who aren't the typical chick lit read, but I'd like to see it mixed up a little.
NYBeachgal More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly. There was a brief moment while the two main characters examined the issues in their "breakup" in which I teared up a bit at the thought of the ways my friendship with my first best friend went wrong, but the rest of the book seemed implausible (i.e. "silly"), one-dimensional, and lacking in the depth I usually find beneath Weiner's humor. Though the main character is well defined, all other characters seem like total caricatures with a few who were downright stereotypes. This one is not worth reading, in my opinion.
AuthorKellyMoran More than 1 year ago
Author Jennifer Weiner is the New York Times best-selling author of several books including: Certain Girls, Good in Bed, Little Earthquakes, Goodnight Nobody, The Guy Not Taken, and In Her Shoes (which was made into a major motion picture.) She is a graduate of Princeton University and resides in Philadelphia, PA with her family. When Valerie Adler moved across the street from Addie Downs when they were both nine years old, Addie just knew they'd be best friends forever. But in the wake of an incident and betrayal in high school, the friendship dissolves, leaving Addie as the scapegoat and Val swept into the popular crowd. Fifteen years later, Addie lives alone and Val has found a small measure of success as a weathergirl on the local T.V. station. Addie, caring for a troubled brother and trying the internet dating scene, opens her door to find her long lost best friend, Val, standing there with blood on her sleeve and a horrified expression. When it comes to friendship, some bonds can never be broken. This is a work of literary fiction with romantic elements, and Jennifer Weiner fans won't be let down. This book is unique because it is not only told in first-person point-of-view by Addie, but also third-person by Jordan, and jumps from past to present smoothly, telling the back story in fragments. Targeted to be humorous and heart-breaking, it delivers a punch to your solar plexus that will remain with you long after the book is closed. Very few authors understand the human condition, our responses to stress, and the inner workings of our minds like Jennifer Weiner can. The over-eating, neglect, disappointment, and depression suffered by her characters will leave you in tears and wondering if they are real. The secondary characters were phenomenal adds to the storyline. You'll fall in love with Jordan and all his quirks. The romance elements were sweet and realistic. The plot flowed well and there were no dead spots. I would like to see this targeted not only for adults, but for the young adult market too, as they can learn a lot about the consequences of the choices they make and how much of an impact negativity can have on others. Best Friends Forever, by Jennifer Weiner, is a riveting portrayal of friendship, love, family, loyalty, and betrayal. A guaranteed laugh and cry! Kelly Moran, Author and Reviewer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That book was good
aimlyss More than 1 year ago
Quick, easy read. I like Jennifer Weiner books, but this wasn't one of my favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An OK book by one of my favorite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting a lot more from this book. The plot was boring and not creative. I was able to guess a lot of what was going to happen in the beginning. There just wasn't much to it. Don't really recommend.
Jennmarie68 More than 1 year ago
I really connected with this story. Having just passed 10 years out of high school I find myself thinking about people I haven't seen in years and what they are doing now. So reading a story about two friends who had lost touch and have been reconnected was something that really resonated with me. I connected with Addie, the main character. Even though she has made some changes to her life since high school, she is still pretty much the same person she was. She's shy and she lives her life without trying to cause too many ripples. Given the circumstances that surrounded her path to where she is in life at this point, I think that I would have made some of the very same decisions. I didn't like Valerie at the beginning of the story, but as the story progressed she kind of grew on me, as I've known people in similar positions and I almost felt sympathy for her. Even though the story is told from Addie's perspective Valerie is very much the catalyst that keeps the story going. The writing was pretty good. The story jumps between the past and the present and also jumps between a few different locations. While this jumping can sometimes lead to a very disconnected story it was very well executed in this book. The flashbacks help to explain the time gaps between high school and the present. They also help build the story behind Val and Addie. The characters were very believable. The plot was a bit on the crazy side, but after I got to know Valerie I started to think that she's the kind of person that really could get herself into something like this. This one really played with my emotions, as I really wanted to dislike Val but ended up feeling kind of sorry for her. Plus as we learn about Addie I really could let myself become her as I was reading. I even pictured her to be almost like me. The other characters were kind of two-dimensional, but because their importance to the story was limited I think they didn't need to be well-rounded. I really liked this one.
Hch47 More than 1 year ago
Great book to read on a rainy day or just want to escape to another world. This is the first time I have read one of Jennifer Weiner's books but this book made me a fan.
drausche on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
enjoyable, easy summer read but hated that it was abridged (I almost never pick them if abridged).
emhromp2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A typical Weiner, nice, entertaining, flat characters and utterly predictable. I liked it! (Although I kept wondering why the police would want to spend so much time on a vague crime no one cares about...)
artikaur on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To sum it up in one word. "Boring." This book was so unmemorable...all I can remember was that I was trying hard to finish it...there was no "depth" to the book- it was a little to unbelievable to me...not realistic at all, and not entertaining...perhaps a good read for the beach or light summer reading, but not something that would keep your interest for very long. I was very disappointed since I LOVED the film "In Her Shoes," which is based on one of her works, so I had high hopes for this book, but it just kinda fell flat.
lizzybeans11 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was better than I thought it was going to be, but that's not saying much. I would never have picked this book out for myself, it was given to me as a gift.I found a lot of the plot to be far-fetched stupid hijinx that no sane person would participate in. I felt the primary characters get the short end of the stick with plot resolution. "Everyone was happy THE END." Really? I don't think so.
melissaconway on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Publishing industry professionals in this country declared the Chick Lit genre dead some years ago, forcing hordes of writers to reinvent themselves¿at least on the surface. A novel written in Chick Lit¿s distinctively snarky voice must now call itself women¿s humorous contemporary fiction, or light women¿s fiction, or any combination thereof, as long as the words ¿Chick Lit,¿ so offensively yesterday, are absent. First person point of view, intrinsic to the Chick Lit craze, is no longer acceptable in adult fiction. Unless you¿re Jennifer Weiner.Which is a good thing. Just because the publishing industry begged for Chick Lit, got Chick Lit, got too much Chick Lit, and got sick of Chick Lit all within a decade or so, doesn¿t mean there¿s suddenly a shortage of women readers looking for the fluffy pink beach reads they¿ve known and loved.Best Friends Forever (BFF) still has Weiner¿s funny, everywoman¿s voice, a plot that entertains like a cat zipping around the room after a laser pointer, and characters spiced with a finely balanced combination of angst-that-doesn¿t-take-itself-too-seriously and plausible back-story.Fat Adelaide Downs and ditzy Valerie Alder are the products of normal American families, and by ¿normal,¿ I mean to say ¿highly dysfunctional.¿ As children, Addie and Val bond over their mutual, but unspoken, wish to belong to the other¿s family. Addie is ashamed of her obese mother, who Val sees as the nurturing, supportive woman she is, and Val, with her filthy boys¿ clothes, greasy hair and mossy teeth, somehow hides the fact that her mother is flat-out neglectful, while Addie sees her as glamorous and free-spirited.Was Ms. Weiner somehow privy to my own adolescence, or are there really that many former kids out there suppressing memories of a similar childhood? Stir the BFF characters¿ early lives with an ugly stick, and you¿ve got me and my best friend; we¿ll call her Lesli, because that was her name. Les was a size-16 girl with a strikingly pretty face, whose mother was thin, polished, never-without-a-man, and drove a Trans Am. I was the neglected one with the obese mother, and alright, Les probably never wished she had my mom, but I sure wanted to exchange my hand-me-downs and thrift-store clothes, self-cut hair, and filthy apartment for her designer jeans, thick, waist-length brown hair and germ-free living conditions.I haven¿t seen her in years, but if Les showed up on my doorstep tomorrow needing help because she thought she¿d killed her high school date-rapist in a semi-deliberate hit-and-run, it¿s unlikely I¿d rob a bank and go on the lam with her, like Addie does for Val. Well, they don¿t really rob a bank. Val just thinks they did, but I don¿t want to pepper this review with too many spoilers. Suffice it to say, BFF won¿t disappoint the majority of Ms. Weiner¿s fans. Chick Lit may be D.O.A., but the void has been effectively filled with the exact same product, different name. (Review originally posted to Booksquawk)
astults on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At first I wasn't sure what to make Addie and Val. Addie has such a rich interior life and Val seems so shallow. As the book went along I couldn't help but realize it's brilliant. Addie's metamorphosis from a woman who lets her life be decided by easy decisions to one who celebrates life is breathtaking.
bribre01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the backstory and character development, but I thought the overall story was a bit weak and unrealistic. Love Weiner's books and her writing style, but this was just an okay one for me.
ReadingWithMartinis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. I wouldn¿t say I loved it like I do some of Weiner¿s other works, but it was enjoyable. Goodreads describes this novel as hilarious and I disagree with that statement. This book was about broken relationships and it was heavy and not humorous.Addie and Valerie are the best of friends until they are torn about by high school shenanigans. After not speaking to each other for over 15 years, the two reunite under interesting circumstances and try to see if the close relationship they once had can be repaired.The novel was very engaging and read quickly. I found it to be well-written and interesting. It did lack a bit of punch. I think that is why the ratings of this novel are so low. I had the sense of something being missing, but not to the point that it caused me to dislike the book.I would recommend it to Weiner fans.
saracuse9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There were several aspects of this book that irked me and I think the biggest was how Jennifer Weiner gave Addie, her main character, binge eating disorder, and then did not address it at all. Valerie, her only friend, though one might argue not best, was shallow at best. The book seemed to be mostly about Addie's tragic family life and how she soothed herself with food and Valerie was a welcome distraction. A rift occurred when the girls were in high school and they parted. Addie stayed in the town, the house, where she grew up and gained more and more weight until she hit bottom and decided to loose weight. We really don't know what happened with Valerie in the intervening years, but we know she decided to attend her high school reunion, where one thing leads to another and she and Addie reunite and end up on the run.A lot of the story is told in flashback - some better than others...Addie and Valerie's trip to Cape Cod stands out as a highlight, but there isn't much as far as depth. The other main character, the police office Jordan serves more as a plot device than actual character and many aspects of his character make him unlikable so when the inevitable happens, we wonder if he was really needed at all or if the story would have been fine focusing on the two women.
theodosius on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Trite and trivial. Poorly developed, unbelievable and with an unlikely ending. On my list as a reminder not to read anything else by this author.
DecemberBird on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A heart warming story of quiet, beautiful Addie Downs and her best friend, pretty and popular Valerie Adler. This book illustrates a wonderful tale of friendships, love, betrayal, forgiveness, and life. It will make you laugh, make you cry, and revive your soul. You have to read it!Timid Addie Downs was a fat girl, always teased and harassed by her classmates. Her only friend was skinny and outgoing Valerie Adler who's friends with almost everyone. They were best friends, doing everything together, until a horrifying event one night at a typical high school party. The two girls stopped talking to each other, each wallowing in their own self pity. So they grew older, and Addie became a stay-at-home greeting card artist, while Valerie went on and got the job as the local weather girl. Things were fine for both of them, until Valerie came knocking at Addie's door one night after committing a horrible crime. After Valerie confesses what she did, they both decided to put their complicated past aside and run away together. So what will happen if shy Addie Downs and her ex-best friend, wild Valerie Adler, come together once again to go on an adventure of their lifetime? Will their old, rusted friendship evolve into a new one?
cooperca05 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From the first chapter this story grabs your attention and doesn't let go as you're taken on this journey with two friends who reunite. Unfortunately for the reader, the second half of the book runs out of steam and never gets its groove back. Good beach read, but certainly not as good as her previous books.
debissot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story itself was pretty entertaining. I found myself laughing several times. The ending was great, and the character presentations were fantastic. However, the book was a little too crude for my liking. Lots of foul language. Just not my cup of tea. If you are able to overlook this, the book is wonderful.
jdy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It was an easy read, and had many fun twist and turns. I loved Addie's charecter in this book, and I found myself thinking of a girl like that whom I grew up with. I was a little disappointed in the ending, hoping that Weiner would develop Jordan's character just a little bit more to make the ending seem like it really "fit". Overall a great read, and will definitely be reading more of her work!
butterflybaby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A story of loss, grief, friendship and hope. Addie and Val have been friends since they were little girls. In senior year their friendship ended. Years later after an accident they were reunited and discovered that they needed eachother all along. A great book to pack along on vaction this summer.
KatKealy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Definitely my least favorite book of hers, but still worth reading...