Best Day Ever

Best Day Ever

by Kaira Rouda

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$10.49 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Best Day Ever 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
JCanJenner More than 1 year ago
Do you watch AGT? You know when Mel B just slams both palms down on the panel in front of her and exclaims, “Oh. My. GOD!!”? Yea, that’s kind of my reaction throughout this entire book. Rouda captures the mind of a sociopathic, narcissistic whackjob and brings him to life in one of the most chilling, nail-biting domestic thrillers I have ever read. Paul Strom is calculating, manipulative, controlling, and all around batshit crazy, but to the outside world he is successful. Has a beautiful wife, gorgeous home, adorable kids, and more recently, the coveted vacation home. On a weekend trip to have the Best Day Ever with his wife Mia, the tension pulses. Will they have their Best Day Ever? The suspense is riveting. Reading through the mind of Paul is like looking at a car wreck- so bad, so messed up, but for the life of you- you just can’t look away. You won’t be able to put this one down. Sit down, light a candle, and prepare to be terrified. (p.s. As an Ohioan, loved reading a book set in my home state. Though I'll never see Chautauqua or Port Clinton the same again. Thanks Kaira.) I received an advance review copy of this book from the Great Thought's Ninja Review Team. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couple of quirky implausible moments but still hard to put down as fast paced read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely kept me engaged- never knew what was coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept my attention didnt want to put will continue to purchase this authors books
Holly More than 1 year ago
Best Day Ever is the story of what appears to be a good day for a couple but nothing is what it seems. Paul Strom has it all with a beautiful wife named Mia, two young boys and a big house in a wealthy community. He plans the best day ever for Mia by taking her to their lake house for a romantic weekend getaway but along the way, things do not go as planned. As the day goes on, we learn about their rocky marriage and the one simple thing of how good do you really know your spouse and their true intentions in a heart-stopping ending that will leave you wanting more! OMG, this book will have you not want to do anything else but to read it until the last page is read! I started this book on a Thursday night but didn't get far that night until Saturday night when I read the entire thing in about 2 hours or so, yes people it's that great of a story!! The way that this book is written out by the minutes of the Best Day Ever, makes you get even more into a story that just grabs you and won't let go until that edge of your seat, heart-stopping ending that makes me want another book just to see what happens next for Paul and Mia!! I do have to say that the cover for this book is totally perfect for this story because it didn't make much sense to me of why there is a envelope on the cover but by the end of this story, you can figure it out why the cover is the way it is!! Thank You to Kaira Rouda for hitting it out of the ballpark with this Thriller and I so can't wait to see what is next from you!! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the Publisher!
teachlz More than 1 year ago
MY REVIEW OF "BEST DAY EVER' by Kaira Rouda Kudos to Kaira Rouda, author of "Best Day Ever" on writing such a suspenseful, intriguing, chilling, and captivating mystery.  I love the way Kaira Rouda  layers and tells her story. I read this in one sitting and just could not put this down.  The genres of this novel are mystery, and thriller. Are you sure you know the one you're with?  Who can you trust? I appreciate the way the author describes the characters and plot, and weaves details and clues. The author describes the characters as complex and complicated. There are secrets, betrayals, and unexpected surprises. I like the way the author describes the locations, the Lakehouse, and the home the characters live in. In one way, the lake is described as a former place for toxins, than slime, in contrast it as beautiful and relaxing. Paul Strom is presented as a successful businessman, with a perfect wife and family and is taking his wife away to  "The Lakehouse" for 'THE BEST DAY EVER'. I love the way this phrase is used throughout the book, with added information. What could go wrong? Mia, is beautiful and a terrific mother. Unfortunately Mia hasn't been feeling well, but Paul promises to make this trip away "THE BEST DAY EVER". There is an unexpected phone call that delays their trip 30 minutes, and Mia doesn't seem like herself. The interaction during the trip has building tension, and we learn more details of  their lives. Of course Paul still wants this trip to be the best day ever. No matter what. I highly recommend this captivating and intense novel with drastic twists and turns. The ending is amazing!! I received this ARC for my honest review.
Donna Vallance More than 1 year ago
Paul and Mia seem like the perfect couple, Happily married with two boys and a beautiful life. Today is going to be the best day ever! Paul Has organised a trip to their holiday home at Lake Erie just for the two of them to recoup. Is all what is seems? Could this really be the perfect vacation? What starts as the perfect Best Day Ever starts to unravel as the day goes on. The Best Day ever is completely enthralling from the start. Paul seemed like the perfect loving husband so attentive and thoughtful, but as the book goes on you see things a bit differently. The book takes place over 24 hours Starting as they are packing up to leave for their vacation at 9am through to the next day at 6am. Every few hours you see the thriller unfold. The story is written from Paul’s point of view so very quickly you start to hear faults in his perfect facade. ( he is not called poker face Paul for nothing! ) Paul tells the story in real time and flashbacks to their past so you learn the history of how they met in the beginning. You hear this constant battle in his head of trying to make this the perfect vacation for his wife. He loves her very much, but it does seem he is holding his breath and biting his tongue rather a lot. It’s not long before you learn that paul is very arrogant , stubborn and extremely vain. He starts to make you feel very creepy and slightly disturbed , I found my self wanting to know more! Why is Paul trying so hard? what is he planning? You get the distinct impression that each of them knows something that the other doesn’t. Paul is aware that Mia is acting strange, as he try’s to gain control of the situation he starts to lose his cool. There are so many questions unanswered it becomes quite gripping. What is paul lying about? Mia is acting strange, why? What is in the glovebox? You will just have to wait and see. The best day ever is a cleverly written psychological thriller, it goes deep in to the mind just realeasing enough information to tantalise you.
LC112648LC 5 months ago
Best Day Ever .... One of the best writers I have read. Kept me turning pages from first to last page!!! Looking forward to reading more of her books. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to anyone who likes a suspensful book.. Can't wait to read more of her books :)
Anonymous 10 months ago
I couldn’t put it down!
Anonymous 11 months ago
seldom+do+I+keep+reading%2C+regardless+of+what+is+going+on+around+me.+but+I+gotta+admit%2C+I+wanted+to+know+what+happened+next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very different book but thoroughly enjoyable. The resemblance to someone we all know is striking and rewarding. I'm waiting for her next novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept me up at night reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me right away. Without giving away spoilers, just know this...you are going to want to read this from beginning to end without a break! Great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book was referred to me with the highest ratings, by a friend who seemed genuinely surprised at the outcome, I think I personally saw it unfolding from the beginning. It didn't take long to discover Paul as the ego centric and disgusting human being that he was, and while I do appreciate a book that illustrates a woman finding her strength in order to get away from such despicable type men, this one left me flat. That she went ahead and married him after discovering his infidelity, let alone had two children with him, marked Mia as someone I couldn't identify with right from the beginning, nor could I really invest in much of a positive outcome. The good news is that the book did help me develop better speed reading skills!
CCinME More than 1 year ago
Excellent telling of a psychopath and how they live among us. I don't know how the author did it, but she hit every note realistically. Very satisfying ending.
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
A narcissist and his beautiful wife vacation at their gorgeous lake house for what he promises is the best day ever but things quickly unravel when he begins to lose control of the situation. This book was incredibly difficult to put down and, who would even want to? Food, work, kids? Who cares? Paul & Mia Strom are THE perfect couple. She’s beautiful. He’s rich and successful. They live in a gorgeous suburban home and don’t have a care in the world. They are on their way to their lake house for a little R&R and all is good and perfect in the world. This is all according to Paul. But in reality, nothing is perfect. Paul has been hiding something from Mia. Actually, he’s been hiding a lot from her but in his head he is totally in control and doesn’t even entertain the possibility that failure is just around the corner. In other words, he is totally and completely out of his mind. Throughout the story, Paul is convincing himself over and over again that all is okay. He’s brilliant and women want him so what could possibly go wrong on the best day ever? Lots. This was not a perfect story and towards the end, I was ready for my relationship with this couple to come to a close but I can’t deny how fun it was to read. Crazy is on every single page. Paul is so full of himself that he can’t see what is going on even when it’s right in front of him. To put it bluntly, it’s fun to read about Paul’s failures and missteps because he’s the type of guy you want to punch. Best Day Ever is a super-fast read and extremely entertaining. I can see this one becoming a movie.
LibbyMcKinmer More than 1 year ago
So what happens if your life isn’t everything you project it to be to everyone else? This narrator-based novel is an exploration of deception and betrayal in the search for perfection – the perfect career, the perfect marriage, the perfect family. When Peter Strom plans to take his beautiful wife Mia to their lake house for a romantic weekend, he’s planning for the best day ever. As they trek out to the country and the lake, tension arises and the suspense quickly escalates as Peter and Mia still try to have the best day ever on their romantic getaway. This suspense-filled, fast-moving tale will keep you turning the pages, trying to figure out who is doing what to whom. What makes a career, a relationship, a family perfect…or is the narrator’s dream impossible? Best Day Ever is a great suspense thriller read. Put up your feet, enjoy the read, but keep the lights on! Five Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not like this book or any body in it .. There really is not much of a story same old plot, no surprises
Rag_Doll More than 1 year ago
This is quite a slow burner of a book, so much so that I felt I didn't want to carry on with it when I was about 25 – 30% of the way through – but I'm so glad I did. The scene is being set during the first three quarters of the book – yes, that's a lot of scene setting but it is worth the wait to get a very satisfying ending. Paul is a narcissistic psycho with an ego the size of Greenland. He is a big 'I am' and I quickly came to dislike him. He brags about what a lovely little wifey he has got and what beautiful little boys he has, when in fact, his children are scared of him and his wife has no life because he's such a control freak and has isolated her from all her friends and family. The major part of the book is a car ride from their marital home to their lakeside second home where he is planning 'the best day ever' for his lovely wife, Mia. Paul reflects over parts of his life during that car ride giving the reader an insight into his childhood and relationships with family and past girlfriends. There are lots of little hints in the narrative, such as – “I never did get the blood stain off the band” (watch band) to tease us into thinking he did something really bad in the past. The final quarter or so of the book becomes tense and fast paced. Things start to unravel so we see the true Paul and the strong Mia emerge. I felt a bit disappointed with the ending as far as Paul is concerned (I wanted nasty things to happen to him,) but after reading the author's notes at the back of the book, there's a hint of the possibility of a second book with Paul's character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Best Day Ever" kept me guessing to almost the end of the book. That's pretty good for a life long mystery reader. I will not forget main character, Paul Strom nor his wife, Mia Strom. Read the book in 2 days. It is a must read for fans of psychological suspense. This is the best mystery I have read in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Average story,wasn't the worst, but wouldn't recommend it. Was almost like reading a Lifetime movie script, and if you know about those, you really don't need to be told anything else. That pretty much sums it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading the book. A story that maybe some of us recognize.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?? A great book highly recommend