Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

by Lisa Wingate

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.60 $17.00 Save 20% Current price is $13.6, Original price is $17. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Lisa Wingate's Summer Reading Recommendations Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Before We Were Yours 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 315 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read? It is a fictional story of an incident in history that I was unaware of, and clutched my heart with the agony these children went through. I got angry, I cried and I cheered. This book has it all, without the sex and bad language.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books this summer! I love fiction based on fact. Well written. Won't disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being from Memphis, I have always been interested in the story of Georgia Tann and the children adopted through the Tennessee Children's Home Society. The author took this very real backdrop and created characters who were based on the many real stories of adoptees and thier families. Loved all of the characters, amazing story. Loved this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enlightenment to the world of adopted children during the depression
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOW!!! Hard to put down, excellent writing and very moving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best stories I've read. Wonderfully written and so easy to become a part of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ingeniously woven together stories, one from the past and one from the present. Curiosity keeps one reading to discover how they relate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this Book. I couldn't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read and Take a Barnes $10 Off coupons code from bookscoupons.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fits quite well into society today. Sadly enough. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As stated, the historical portion of the story was phenominal. The characters came to life quickly, and compelled me to keep reading. Sadly, much of the current day tale is written quite poorly and reads like a tired beach novel. It was hard to believe in the current day cast. Many times I fought with myself to read on, despite the sheer stupidity of the characters. It was almost too much to skip back and forth between a histrorical novel which was so well written and compelling and a cheap novel which was anything but. I give a four star review because overall the book is fascinating and well worth reading. Just got to get through the parts that are not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wasn't so long ago...unbelieveable, awful period of time for our children... Glad for the sweet ending! Our seniors deserve so much more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Horrifying and inspiring at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. Easy, absorbing read about a tragic and so sad chapter in American history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a full time student with two jobs, five children, and a new husband. I rarely have time to read for leisure anymore but I could not put this book down. I read it in 24 hours and was sad when I was finished with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So well written, could put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pageturner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting book. Been telling all my friends to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a stay up all night reading, don't forget the kleenex, bittersweet story expertly told! Tugs at the heartstrings, breaks your heart and warms the soul. Simply a wonderful read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully told tale of the fallout from an historical scandal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was such a great read. I sat down and devoured it in one day! I loved Ms. Wingate's writing style. I was invested in each of the characters and couldn't wait to see where the story would go. I will definitely seek out more of the author's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful sad/happy story. Writing was great kept the reader engaged and brought the characters to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down