Before They are Hanged (First Law Series #2)

Before They are Hanged (First Law Series #2)

by Joe Abercrombie

Paperback

$13.98 $16.99 Save 18% Current price is $13.98, Original price is $16.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Before They Are Hanged 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
TechRaider More than 1 year ago
Phenomenal series… great story!
vw67sqback More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic second book in the First Law series. I loved the whole series.
RyderN More than 1 year ago
Looking for something "a little different"? This is the guy. You won't read just one of his books, you'll need to read them all because of the plot twists and characters. Highly recommended!
Arrat More than 1 year ago
If you thought the first book was great, you are gonna love this one. Characters & plots are well developed & sooo many twists & turns you never know what is gonna happen. I found myself liking characters I hated in the fist book & hating characters I liked in the first book. He puts good vs evil on it's ear. The Bloody Nine is a great character & I want to learn more about him. Only reason it didn't get a 5 was i think he could do less cursing.
DAY-READER More than 1 year ago
I must say that i was very impressed with Abercrombies writing style. This series was a wild ride for me. Its full of fantastic characters including Glokta. I loved reading about him. And also the wizard Bayaz, a truly one of a kind mage. This is hardcore dark fantasy at its core. the squemish and faint of heart should stay away. I read these books with a feel of adventure, love, hate and alot of times i even laughed out loud. You will experience all kinds of emotions throughout this series. If your wanting to get away from typical sterotype fantasy then this series is for you. So buy the books and enjoy the wild ride...
Rich_A More than 1 year ago
Unlike a lot of fluff in the fantasy genre, Abercrombie's "Before They are Hanged" is a wonderfully dark take on good versus evil. The dialog is witty and intelligent, the characters are richly developed and complex, and the story unfolds beautifully as events develop. I would highly recommend the trilogy to anyone with an interest in gritty realism combined with unique and approachable characters. The character of Glotka is perhaps one of my favorite characters in fantasy (I have a pretty dark sense of humor at times). I would not advise these books for children under 16 or so as some of the scenes, just like the other books in the series, are dark and sometimes cruel. Highly recommended!
Escape_Artist More than 1 year ago
Don't read this one w/o reading The Blade Itself first. Great followup to the first book. (I'm guessing Harding Grim is an illegitimate son of the King.) Characters evolve more, story is great, more to the characters than meets the eye. Definately not the same old, same old story.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the South Inquisitor torturer Glokta serves as the Superior of the city of Dagoska. He has two missions to accomplish if he is to survive his new position unlike his recently assassinated predecessor. He must root out the traitors before they murder him and he must keep the city safe while it is under siege from superior enemy forces with no hope for outside supplies..--------- In the North the powerful well trained and equipped Northmen military have invaded neighboring Angland. Crown Prince Ladisla demands leadership of his Union army as he plans gloriously to repel the enemy back beyond his frozen border. However, as Major West escorts the bodacious royal fool he knows his side lacks proper arms, training, leadership and courage while the other side will swamp the battlefield with its superiority. ---------- In the center the First of the Magi Bayaz leads a party of pariahs (incompetent apprentice Malacus Quai, warrior Logen, Ferro the Navigator, Brother Longfoot and Jezal) seeking the Seed. Each person distrusts the rest of the participants, but it is this band that must defeat the Eaters that threaten humanity. Bayaz understands this so he tells the tale of creation to encourage them-------------- As with the First Law Book One: THE BLADE ITSELF, the second tale contains three well written major plots there is also somewhat of a fourth segue re the Named Men remaining undecided. The best of the trio is Glotka¿s saga as the audience sees deep into his unsympathetic ¿soul¿ while he tortures (graphically) anyone using the rationale he seeks to save the people by rooting out enemy plotters his detachment from his victims is classic. The West subplot is fun to follow too as he knows what his Prince is leading them into, but can do little to prevent their charge into the valley of death (think of The Charge of the Light Brigade). Finally, the Bayaz clip tells a lot about the history of the world in vivid descriptions, but his teammates fail to listen. This is a complex well written quest fantasy that will have the audience clamoring for the next law book.----------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Back to the mud Rudd
Peter Donnelly More than 1 year ago
This follow-up book in the First Law trilogy has a greater adventure than the first book. The battles and fighting continue relentlessly. The sense of expanse widens even further – to the ends of the world. The characters are further developed and nothing is predictable in their personalities. The story continues at a rapid page-turning wide-eyed pace. Bayaz, the First of the Magi, is leading a band of adventurers on a perilous mission to distant lands. The most hated and deadly woman in the South, Ferro, the most feared man in the North, Logan Ninefingers, and the most selfish boy in the Union, Jezel, make a strange alliance. Their ability to inflict brutal damage to opponents is tempered with their loyalty and sense of justice. As a band of warriors, their cohesion and diversities continue to captivate. We get to see deeper into their nature and the subtle charisma with several is surprising. Several other characters are so intriguing including Glokta, the Inquisitor. Having to defend his city knowing it is full of traitors that he must root out, where no-one can be trusted and where failure means execution. We will have our favourites but imagine feeling empathy and fond gravitation towards an Inquisitor! This is an amazing fantasy adventure that is full of wonderfully drawn characters, a landscape that comes alive in the writing, and a plot that is ridiculously imaginative. I would highly recommend this book, and the whole First Law trilogy
zinschj on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn't able to get into this one. The first book in the trilogy, "The Blade Itself", was excellent, however.
Isamoor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dec10:This second book just couldn't stay with the first one. Pretty much worse in every way for me. Even the action wasn't really as fun. Meh.
DWWilkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first book of this series and have felt incomplete having not bought books 2 and 3 for such a long interval. But then Borders came through with 40% off coupons to use. I splurged on this.It wasn't a mistake. But while reading Abercrombie's second effort I wondered if I had done right. First it took weeks to get through. And I have time on my hand. So why was I not engaged and read this in one sitting?There are several main viewpoints that we have chapter after chapter. Who is our hero? Is our hero the torn up torturer of the Inquisition? Is there a trend in fantasy to identify with humans who have suffered horror?Not that I completely remember book 1, but until half way through I think this series is all human based. Then all of sudden we have some fantastical beings. I am not sure that we needed them. Human enemies for our heroes might have been more than enough.But that is what holds this back from a great read, and possibly a repeat. It is dark, it is disjointed with too many major plot lines to follow all wanting to be center stage. And anything good seems to disappear into its own gloom of twilight. Somewhere, sometime, the heroes need to have something good going on.
King_Bonez_Xx on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
THE BLADE ITSELF was my favorite books of ¿07, so when I found out the next book was going to be coming out in the States in just a few days, I was ecstatic. I picked BEFORE THEY ARE HANGED from Borders the day it was released, and two words were stuck in my mind as I rode home: sophomore slump. Luckily, there wasn¿t one.BEFORE THEY ARE HANGED picks up right were THE BLADE ITSELF left off, and is much better. Abercrombie¿s writing seems more professional, the plot more controlled, and the payoff much more rewarding.With this volume we¿re introduced to new locations, expertly conveyed to us, and new people. Each twist is there for something besides shock value, and every even seems logical. All of the main characters have much more realistic arcs than they did in the first book, with several characters making major transformations. Some stay the same, thankfully, so we still get to hang out with the same old Glokta and Bayaz.One minor problem with this book is that the comparisons to A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE are a bit more obvious, but Abercrombie manages to put enough freshness into other things, as well as write the familiar stuff well enough, that it¿s easy to look past it.I wouldn¿t recommend reading anything but Book 1 to start off, but when you get to this book, you¿ll be rewarded. Better than Book 1, an absolute joy to read. When¿s Book 3 hitting shelves?
MelHay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before They Are Hanged picks up right where The Blade Itself left off. Bayaz - the First Mage, Quai his apprentice, the Navigator, Logen or Bloody Nine as he's known, Ferro, and Jezel are all on their journey to the edge of the world to get the seed to save everyone. Glokta and his practicals are in the Southern city Dagoskan, to save a doomed city from the Gurkish. Colonel West is up North fighting with, or for, the Prince against the savage Northmen. It all sounds simple where the characters are and what they are doing. But, the journey with these characters always seems to go by quickly for me with the wonderous things, good and bad, that happen.I enjoyed The Blade Itself, but I think I enjoyed Before They Are Hanged even more. Joe Abercrombie has a wonderful way of telling the story full of action and wonder. I enjoyed reading of all the happenings with these characters in the different ends of the world, to see there is a great deal going on around the world and needing help in fixing. I don't know which set of characters I enjoy reading about more. They are all have different happenings and characteristics that pull me into their stories. Glokta is always a pleasure to read with his suspicious negative thoughts are always interesting in how he comes to his conclusions of people and happenings. And he is usually right in his suspicions. Bayaz and the crew have the magic with them and the great journey. Magic and wonder always interest me. Colonel West has the Northern Men coming to him and the crazy chaos.The characters have all gone through great hardships of their own kind. They are all grew greatly by the end of this book. The Blade Itself defined who they where at the start, and now they are changing. I got to learn more about the Eaters in the south and Shanka (or Flatheads) in the north. Also, some history leading up to the reason Khaluh is doing what he is doing.You start to see the inside workings of the history to why they are where they are and the world as it is. I love how the history ties everyone together. Even why Bayaz picked the crew, and yet wonder the purpose of a few of them.There was one thing I would have liked to have, a map. BUT I really liked how Joe Abercrombie drew a map of the world with his worlds and I didn't need a physical map to help visualize the world.
kendosam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wicked fun, even better than the first one! I tore through it at warp speed and now i have to order the third from the UK because I am too impatient to wait for the US relese date.
cherrymischievous on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before They Are Hanged is Book 2 of The First Law Trilogy, this book continues where the cliffhanger in Book 1 left off and also ended in a cliffhanger. So my advice is the same with what I said in Book 1: don¿t start reading this trilogy until you have all three books in your possession so that you can continue reading on the story as soon as you hit the cliffhanger. I therefore do not advise anybody to read this book on its own because this book is just a middle chapter of three. It will get you confused. There is no beginning and no end. The beginning is in Book 1 and I presume that the end will be in Book 3.Having experienced the multiple-thread writing style of the first book, I flagged this book¿s chapters with a color-coded sticky index cards so that I can follow a single thread of the story and easily jump chapters until that thread in the story intersects another. Still slow going but a bit quicker than Book 1. I would give the pace a rating of 3 out of 5. This being Book 2, the world building and character development has been shaped in Book 1 already, therefore I¿m not going to rate those in this review anymore.This author also has the propensity of killing off beloved characters which breaks my heart! However, because of the author's fantastic ¿voice¿, it's what keeps me reading on with this trilogy. Despite the slow pace. And even though I find the multiple-thread writing style annoying.Final Say:This book is just a middle chapter of a bigger book. Starts at the middle of the story and ends with a cliffhanger.
Tyllwin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this second book of The First Law the scope rapidly expands beyond the decadent empire of the Union and out onto three tracks: The war in the north, the troubles in the south and a quest to the edge of the world. It's actually, I think, a better story than The Blade Itself because he can focus more on the story and less on introductions.
amf0001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 2 in the series and the plot thickens. Half our heros go North to fight King Bethod who is advancing south, and half, lead by the mysterious Bayez, go on a quest to the ends of the earth, to find the mysterious seed which might transform itself into an extraordinary weopen. I like how all of the characters deepen, a solid second book. This is not a stand alone series, you need to read book 1 to understand book 2 and I definitely look forward to book 3.To show you how impressed I was with this series - I took books 2 and 3 with me on a flight to Australia, knowing that they would hold my interest.
stubbyfingers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the First Law Trilogy, a swords and sorcery adventure. It picks up right where the The Blade Itself, the first book, left off with no summary whatsoever of what happened in the first book. All of the main characters from the first book reappear in this book, but now they are all flung to various corners of the globe on separate new adventures. There is more sorcery in this book (although still not much) and more monsters (although still not many). There is lots of gore, although less torture. I love the humor here, definitely my kind of humor in my darker moments. If you're in the mood for a raucous adventure, this is a great book for you. If you're in the mood for resolution of that adventure, this is not at all the book for you. Nothing whatsoever is resolved here. I can only assume everything will be resolved in the third and final book, The Last Argument of Kings. I'd definitely recommend this, but you should probably read the first book first.
MarkCWallace on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the second book of Joe Abercrombie's trilogy, the characters continue to be both compelling and surprising. There is more of the poignant wit and more descriptions that are sharply pointed enough to use for surgery. Unfortunately the plot continue to advance glacially; what Abercrombie reveals about the forces which are driving the action is fascinating. There is also just too much description of scenery that may be awesome, inspiring and many other things, but isn't very interesting. This trilogy is ambitious. Each of the characters is undergoing personal conflicts and transformations at the same time that the world is undergoing potentially cataclysmic changes. This book reveals the strategy of several of the major players, and hints at the existence of other players - who may or may not be aligned with those we know. Some of the transformations are disappointing - I hope that Jezal the swordsman has a role to play in the climax, because his progress in this book is quite ordinary. Some are more satisfying - both West (the military officer) and Ferro (The sociopathically vengeance obsessed archer) grow in ways that are surprising and yet satisfying. Mr. Abercrombie's challenge in the final book is to wrap up the loose ends decisively, without breaking my trust. I want to believe that the details he hasn't yet revealed are obscured for a reason - not just out of a self-absorbed delight in sleight of hand. Even if he fails he's recommended for all fans of Georgette Heyer; if he should succeed in drawing all the threads together in a satisfying way, then George Martin should be worried.
crazybatcow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Took a bit to get into the story - lots of characters, and three different groups on "missions"... but once I got these threads organized in my head, the story moved along nicely and I tried to read a bit faster to find out how each thread was going to be concluded...or if it was going to be concluded.The book is nicely paced, the characters are consistent and the world is interesting. It does sort of just stop at the end though... I know the main "missions" were technically completed, but not particularly satisfactorily and none of the main characters were resolved.Of course, there's another book in the trilogy so I have hopes that it will wrap it all up nicely.
woodge on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The plot thickens. Some characters die. Some change. Some go on to greater things. Bayaz and crew go traveling and meet with danger. Glokta has even more questions. Collem West battles Bethod and his Northmen. Threetrees and crew get into some bloody melees. Eaters attack. Jezal slowly becomes less of an ass. New characters are introduced. Mysteries deepen. And who are Valint and Balk? Can't wait to get my hands on the conclusion this August. (Note: the title comes from the quotation: "We should forgive our enemies, but not before they are hanged." ~ Heinrich Heine)
Caragen87 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The saga of Inquisitor Glokta continues as the plans of his king and his Lector unfolds against that of the Mage Bayaz-- who is not so much the good guy he makes himself out to be.
Randulf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A worthy continuation of one of the best fantasy series' out there. Even manages to parody LOTR and get away with it perfectly!