ISBN-10:
1555832687
ISBN-13:
9781555832681
Pub. Date:
07/01/1994
Publisher:
Alyson Books
B-Boy Blues: A Seriously Sexy, Fiercely Funny, Black-on-Black Love Story / Edition 1

B-Boy Blues: A Seriously Sexy, Fiercely Funny, Black-on-Black Love Story / Edition 1

by James Earl Hardy

Paperback

Current price is , Original price is $12.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

B-Boy Blues: A Seriously Sexy, Fiercely Funny, Black-on-Black Love Story 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The concept was great, but I feel like the goal wasn't reached. I wanted to see something a little more real, I also wanted to see more fight from Mitchell. I think this is a great book for someone looking in on this type of issue, or life but as a gay black man I was left unfullfilled, and felt dry. But I do still applaud it's appearnce on shelfs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first in Hardy's seemingly endless B-Boy Blues soap opera, and it's all downhill from here. Hardy's style of writing is simplistic, at times reading like a sanctimonious sermon, and grates on the nerves. Hardy wants his novels to be read by black gay men, but his dumbed-down style reeks of talking down to that group, rather like an all-knowing teacher to a class of children. His characters are, without exception, obnoxious, arrogant, rude and wholly unappealing. Of the two leads, Raheim is painted as a blue collar stud who speaks in monosyllables. Contrary to the widely held view that he uses the middle-class Mitchell, the reverse is true. Mitchell - surely the most conservative, xenophobic, self-important character ever portrayed in literary fition - uses Raheim as a bit of blue collar meat to parade before his equally big-headed friends. B-Boy Blues is a cringe worthy - and sometimes nasty - portrait of selfish self-serving gay men, complete with a bitter dose of class snobbery and reverse racism.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was a good book, for this to be his first novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
boring and stupid - those simple words sum it up. i would give it zero stars if i could.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was real real real good. I loved it, I read it in 2 days. It has the kind of people that I wanted to read about. It's more realisitc, and that what's make it even better than most other authors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel was excellent the author caught every aspect of a true love story. The story defined what love is really is, which is helping each other during their weakness, and that's excatly what Lil' Bit did for Pooquie and even in his own way was returned,like Lil' Bit never recieved before! Overall this story is FUNNY,SEXY, SAD,and full of GREAT SUPRISES leaving the reader gasping!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the worst book I've ever read. It was embarrassing at times to know that others have read this book and liked it. The prose was on the level of a ninth grader. This was the fantasy of a queen and a prejudice one at that (basically anything or anyone white in this book was bad). I felt sad that this man and e lynn harris are the main offerings from gay african american male authors in our country.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rahiem is no B-Boy at all,infact he's just a fantasy of a Queen. Even from the cover of the book he look's as if he's about to vogue. The book was a good reading book but there were no B-Boy's present at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book when it hit the book store and it was GREAT. Should be a movie because it had everything, Love, Sex, Comdey it was Breathtaking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best Gay African-American books that I have ever read.Matter of fact it's the first book I've read about Gay African Americans. The author is so vivid, and expressive with his words and his characters.My best friend(Shanell)told me bout' the book and she let me read it over the weekend and, I could not put the book down.I even read the book in Chruch.It's so graphic and hot.And I'm just glad that I read the book and now it has me wanting to read more just like it.So to James keep up the good work and, If the rest of your books are like this then I want to read them all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the best books I've read in a while. With it's catchy chapter titles, it makes you want to keep going to find out what's up next. I've never had a book like this. I couldn't put it down. It was addicting..I needed it..Just to live vicariously through Pookie and Lil Bit for the weekend was breathtaking and exilirating. An unbelievable, sexy and seriously funny book all in one. A definate 5 Star Book...THE BEST!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was told to read this book by someone who said it was a little too graphic for them. It was pretty graphic but it was cool. If you're not into REAL sex scenes, then that's your thing, but you shouldnt knock them. Some people like them. And as far as the reviewer comparing this to an E. Lynn Harris book, if you want an book by Mr. Harris, buy a book by Mr. Harris. I enjoyed reading both authors and it's just a matter of preference.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book over the weekend, I could not put it down. I read and reread it. It was wayyyyyyyyy funny sweet and sexy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is off the hook it took me alittle to start reading it but once i statedreading it icouldn't put it down if you haven't read it you have to pick it up and read it believe me you will love it , little bit and pooqie are so cute and gene is funny was his smart comments , but this book shows you the true meaning of true love and heart break and finding the meaning of life and love all over this book is it
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best Gay African-American books that I have ever read. The author is so vivid, and expressive with his words and his characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this novel three years ago. I recently reread it, and I must say I loved it even more the 'second time around.' The beauty of two black men in love heightens all the senses. The graphic sexuality of the novel serves to bring you even deeper into the passion, and growing love between Litte Bit and Pooquie (terms of endearment). This novel is waaaaay subversive, I wouldn't want it any other way. The black gay community is lucky to have a voice such as Hardy's. I truly consider the B-Boy trilogy a gift. Thank you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very interesting. It had all of the qualities of being a great novel, such as drama, comedy, and romance. Overall I gave this book two thumbs up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If E. Lynn Harris was on some serious medication, was given paper and pencils and told to write in his highest high, B-BOY BLUES would be the result! Raunchy, graphic, hilarious, suprising, and heart-filled, this novel takes the cake. I recommed this book to anyone, regardless of sexual orientation, to open up the mind and enjoy the ride.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i'm sorry but i just couldn't get with it. i think the relationship between pooquie and little bit was nice. but it just wasn't 'jood' for me. i still continued though i went on to read second time around and just like this one i wasn't feeling it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it. I could not put it down. After reading this book I had to read the other two and cannot wait for the next one. This book is very graphic, detailed, steamy. If you are open minded you'll love it too. I had to recommend it to others. I read it about two years ago and it's still being passed around.