Ashes to Ashes (Sam Kovac and Nikki Liska Series #1)

Ashes to Ashes (Sam Kovac and Nikki Liska Series #1)

by Tami Hoag

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ashes to Ashes 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am new to her writings. This was the first book of hers I read. I couldn't put it down. After reading Ashes to Ashes, I looked for more of her books to read, and will continue to do so.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book several years ago and read it from cover to cover. It wasn't until the last ten pages that I fully understood who the killer was. Most books I at least have an inkling as to who the killer is. Not this book. It had me guessing till the very end. The plot was intense and gripping with great character development without any of the cliches.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book rivals the best of Stephen King & Dean Koontz. It was an excellent book that was very suspenseful and sometimes chilling. It will make you look over your shoulder once or twice. It's also nice to have a good female mystery writer for a change.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author grabbed me on the first page and never let go. Gruesome crimes abound, so if you can't stomach violence, skip this one. The characters are compelling, the plot lines are interwoven expertly, and the suspense just keeps coming. There are multiple red herrings to keep you guessing right til the end. Hoag created enough likely suspects that I never could decide on one(or two?). So try to guess if you must, but mostly just hang on for a turbulent ride.
JA_Olem More than 1 year ago
It was great, well written, very good at drawing you in and making you a hermit and reading all day. It keeps you in complete suspense and questioning. The only problem, in my opinion, was who the killer turned out to be. I thought that was kind of....weird. Didn't see it coming until the end. But aside from that it was great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the first mystery/crime book I have ever read, and it was a good one. I would recommend it to those who do not read much mystery/crime books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm an avid reader. I've read a few books by Tami Hoag and have loved them. But this one...I quit on page 400 and screamed UNCLE! Found myself saying out loud 'I don't care who killed these women!' The general plot of this book is good but the main characters were driving me insane. They took too much away from the storyline and I found their 'reminiscing' about what they had and what they could have as far as their relationship, very repetative and nauseating. Tami Hoag is an excelent author but this one just didn't fulfill my expectations of her writing. There are still other books of hers I've not read, and along with any of her future books, I'll give them a try.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is really good book and i recomend it to anyone. you get into the killers head and find out what makes him the way he is. the silence of the lambs came to mind once or twice. tami hoag is becoming one of my favorite authors now that im reading 'dust to dust' which is the sequel. she definately has a way with words and just sucks you right in to 'ashes to ashes'. you wont regret reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It has you on your toes from the moment you start. Chills run up your body on the graphic killings, and the end is more startling then ever.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Very good. Keeps you turning pages even though you dread what's next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved+this+book.+I+discovered+Kovac+and+Liska+when+I+ordered%2C+%22Prior+Bad+Acts%22+by+mistake.+I+had+never+read+any+of+Hoag%27s+books+before%2C+but+these+two+characters+pulled+me+in.+I+love+the+chemistry+between+Kovac+and+Liska.+He%27s+the+hard+nosed+cop+with+an+axe+to+grind+and+she+reigns+him+in+when+he+gets+to+be+intense.+I%27m+still+trying+to+read+all+of+the+books+with+these+characters%2C+but+I+like+Hoag%27s+other+books+as+well.+Her+books+always+keep+you+on+the+edge+of+your+seat+and+you+never+want+to+put+them+down.+I+was+sad+for+this+book+to+end%2C+because+in+true+Tami+Hoag+fashion...It+kept+me+guessing.+I+highly+recommend+this+book+to+new+fans+and+old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good read, suspenseful. One of those “you know who you want to be the bad guy”. and you have to see how it plays out. Was it just me, or did you wonder about the fate of the cat?
Rhyla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the third book I have read by the author (along with A Thin Dark Line and Still Waters.) I had some trouble believing some of the characters in this one. It is my least favorite of the three but still enjoyable. It kept me guessing until the very end.
the_hag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Premise: A murderer strikes again...leaving his signature mark - a charred corpse in the middle of a very public park. With this third victim, cops know they're dealing with a serial killer. Typically, his first two victims didn't garner too much attention - after all, they were only prostitutes....but this third victim is "different." Thought to be the daughter of a billionaire....unfortunately the killer decapitated her before setting her ablaze, leaving the cops little to no means of identification. Enter former agent Kate Conlan (main character). She left the FBI several years and we find Kate five years into a new life and career as a victim and criminal witness advocate in Minneapolis. Kate's life, albeit rather lonely, is fairly simple revolves around her work. When she is told that she's been chosen to work with a troubled teenage murder witness, she knows her life is about to become much, much more complicated. The Rub: The third victims billionaire father goes far above the local authorities...making things even more complicated as the best FBI profiler, John Quinn, is brought in on the case. Unfortunately for Kate, his appearance is less than desirable and far from welcome. The distraught billionaire father is given FAR too much special treatment and consideration...the pool of political hopefuls and *ss kissing sycophants trying to make it up the career ladder seems unusually large even for a city as large as Minneapolis. Quinn, Kovak (tough cop, played up to the hilt...a truly enjoyable character) and his "team," Kate, Rob (her boss) and a bevy or "supporting characters"...take us on a very exciting and very unnerving journey to find the identity of "The Cremator." I have to tell you this is my first Tami Hoag novel, and I have to admit, her talent is quite extraordinary!! Mrs. Hoag is able to craft an intensely suspenseful story that kept me turning pages all day long and I had a VERY hard time calling it a night...I practically fell asleep sitting up reading it. I felt an almost uncontrollable NEED to know what would happen next...every twist and every turn of this wonderful thriller brought me to the edge of my seat (practically biting my nails)...and EVERY TIME I thought I had it figured out, she'd thrown in another twist...making me rethink everything all over again!! I cannot really fault this book for what it is -- an excellent police procedural...however, where this killer is concerned...bleck...his background and motivation are never sufficiently developed or explained. The romance was strictly Harlequin stuff....very shallow and very predictable...I think we could have done without the Kate/John love scenes here...!! I enjoyed this book the same way I enjoy the TV series CSI...one of the things I DID NOT like is that a part of me almost felt compelled to know more about what motivates the killer...and in the end I was NOT satisfied with what the author had to offer up in this area...what she gives is simply too graphic and overly "typical" of this type of book (i.e. sexually promiscuous mother...abuse...blah, blah, blah...)...there was nothing that made me really understand HOW he wound up this way or why...this was disappointing! Also annoying is the length to which the author allows the father of the third victim to evade police and FBI questioning...I don't know that I believe this would be the case "in real life"...or at least I'd like to think it wouldn't be...the sheer number of politically motivated, upwardly mobile police bureaucrats is a bit much, methinks she beat that dead horse a bit too long...it was mildly annoying at best. I also would like to mention that some scenes are extremely graphic, and quite disturbing. Most notable in this area are the autopsy scenes and those written from the killer's point of view are especially chilling. For me, I was able to read it no problem...I'm usually pretty good at not being creeped out by even some of the most disturbing events behind described in
superphoenix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the first books i read of Tami Hoag and it got me hooked. The best part about this book is that it builds a pace right from the first page and it only gets better and better as you read on. Nice and crisp writing. You don't want to put the book down till you have read all of it.
ct.bergeron on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Cremator, a Minneapolis serial killer, has been torturing prostitutes before incinerating them in local parks, but no one pays much attention until it appears that the third victim may be Jillian Bondurant, a billionaire's daughter. Former FBI agent Kate Conlan, now a victim/witness advocate, is enlisted to handle a reluctant teenage witness who claims to have seen the latest torching. Kate's life becomes further complicated when ace FBI profiler John Quinn is called in by Jillian's father. Kate and John share a personal history, he being one of the reasons she left the Bureau five years ago, and they must each contend with their painful past as they work together to catch the diabolical killer who appears to be taunting them at every turn. Hoag uses crisp dialogue effectively to distinguish the many diverse characters, while Kate and John's mirror-image Machiavellian work ethics justify both their mutual attraction and aversion. Devoting equal attention to the mystery of the serial killer's identity and the romantic tension between her engaging protagonists, Hoag does service to both, scripting love scenes worthy of George Clooney and Renee Russo, the Hollywood stars she mentions as look-alikes for her principals. Granting a humanizing dignity to the victims' corpses, she neatly sidesteps the graphic crudeness of some of her competitors, while still providing enough surprise twists and stomach-turning carnage to satisfy any heebie-jeebie enthusiast.
writestuff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tami Hoag is one of the queen's of the suspense-thriller...and she doesn't disappoint with this nail biter about a serial killer.
cindyloumn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Figured out partly ahead of time who had done it. The description of all the murders/autopsy, etc, got a bit old-sickening after awhile. Liked the romance though, and sort of a surprise twist at the end.8/10/99
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never would have guessed. That is the best part!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the pace of the story and once I got started hated to put it down at night
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really intense, thrilling, and suspenseful. Rest of review is a "spoiler alert". What happened to Thor, Kate's cat during the fire?? For us cat lovers out there that's a big deal. How could author forget him. If I missed it, please let me know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A+++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of her books! This one is one of my favorites, and i highly recommend you to read it!! If you like Lisa Jackson, Lisa Gardener, and Karen Rose then you will love Tami Hoag! It is a creepy, all out scary, gory, and detailed book. If you cant stand some torture, and being afraid then its not for you.