Amped

Amped

by Daniel H. Wilson

Paperback

$15.26 $16.95 Save 10% Current price is $15.26, Original price is $16.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Amped: A novel 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
Camille888 More than 1 year ago
The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abilities, Wilson tells the story of how our society reacts when our technology gets into our heads. Thought provoking and a really fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting story, but I enjoyed Robopocalypse more. I finished the book in a couple of hours and found myself a little peeved at myself for spending $14 for what turned out to be a quick 239 pages.
Rob_Ballister More than 1 year ago
Daniel Wilson's AMPED is another very solid bio/techno-thriller, on the heals of his first book, Robopocalypse: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries). In the near future, humans can be technologically improved, or "amped," to correct deficiencies or handicaps such as missing limbs or brain damage. However, as technology improves, "amped" humans begin to have a decisive advantage over the unimproved majority, and the tensions flare to the brink of a civil war. In the middle of this is a former math teacher was was "amped" as a small boy by his father, a leader in the field of bio-enhancement, in order to save his life after a major head trauma. The teacher knows he's different, but doesn't know HOW different he is, and his finding out is key to the climax of the story. This book grabbed me a lot more than his first. Maybe it's the talk of the first person to run in the Olympics with artificial limbs, maybe it's the new prosthetic limbs our wounded vets are receiving. This book just seems more real. Well written, fast moving, entertaining. Fans of science thrillers will really enjoy this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to that I enjoyed this book a lot. I had read is previous book and I will not sit here and copare since I believe they are very different, even though they have similar themes in regards to robotics. I really enjoyed the plot twists, just when I thought that i had figured it out he hit you with another twist. The undertones of the book where very interesting, to me there are hints to which can be seen in todays society as far as society that is afraid of anything different. I did think it was a little to short and was looking for more when i did finally finished. I would recommend this to anyone who has read his previous work .
plappen More than 1 year ago
Owen is your average high school teacher, with a neurological implant in his head to control his epilepsy. Thousands of people have such implants in their heads to eradicate learning disabilities and reduce the severity of neurological problems. In a landmark court case, the Supreme Court declares that "amps" are not entitled to the same legal protections as everyone else. This unleashes a national wave of harassment, beatings, martial law and being forced into resettlement camps (think Nazi Germany) for all amps. Just before he is killed by an anti-amp mob, Owen's father, who implanted him, tells him to find a man named Lyle, who is living in a trailer park in middle-of-nowhere Oklahoma. Lyle was part of an amped military unit, which was disbanded when things got out of hand. The trailer park has become an amp sanctuary, even though it is surrounded by anti-amp zealots, who seem to enjoy harassing the amps, fueled by large amounts of beer. Lyle tells Owen that he does not have the average implant in his head. He is carrying some high-class, military grade software in his head. Owen learns how to turn it on and off, and has several chances to use it against the anti-amps. It sure looks like America is headed for a second Civil War. Is there anything that Owen, or anyone else, can do to stop it? This is an excellent near-future thriller. It is very plausible, and it is very easy to read and understand. It is also nice and high-tech, and it is very much recommended.
JJbooklvr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Owen Gray is one of thousands of people who are amps, which is a person with a neural implant. For Owen the implant is to control seizures he suffered as a result of an accident he had as a child. Others get the implants to boost intelligence, control ADHD, and overcome autism just to name a few uses. As the number of amps increase, the backlash starts to grow by pure humans who feel they are at a disadvantage. When the Supreme Court rules that amps are not a protected class of people, Owen¿s world begins to crumble. Now on the run for a crime he did not commit, Owen discovers that his implant is unique and it becomes a race to see if he can figure out just what it does and how to access it before war breaks out between amps and pure humans. As in his previous book, Robopocalypse, the author explores the idea of our love/hate relationship with technology. He also explores people¿s fear of others who are different from them and shows how quickly that fear can¿t turn dangerous. The main problem for me was Owen. We see the story through his eyes and he just wasn¿t a character that I particularly liked. Overall, I thought he did a good job and I did enjoy the book.
rondoctor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting premise. A little naive and light on the social issues side. Nevertheless a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally, a fresh sci-fi subject!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storey was good from the start!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rext res
Drewano More than 1 year ago
Interesting plot (although I was able to see the twist coming), good characters and very well written. I really enjoyed the story and found myself very engrossed in it from start to finish. A book that really makes you think but is enjoyable as a great work of fiction that is very relevant in today’s world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not like this story at all. I didn't like any of the characters in it especially the main one. He got on my nerves so bad it was not even funny. I have no respect for someone who wouldn't take up for themselves even after being urinated on. The sad thing is that I think people really would act this stupid if things like what happened in this story were to come true. Wilson does show exactly how stupid humans can be and I do applaud him for hitting that head on.
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me from the first page and I’m thinking Daniel H Wilson is quickly becoming my favorite new author. I loved reading this from cover to cover. It’s certainly an interesting concept, where we can become ‘amplified’ to enhance ourselves but then you’d have to ask yourselves where the line is crossed and when it’s too much? when does it become out of hand to the point where those with ‘amps’ are then ostracized and become second class citizens. These are all the things to look at while reading this book. What makes it so good is the action that begins right in the beginning of the book, and all throughout the book which engages the reader and makes the book a non stop read. It’s pretty much fast paced, although through the middle of the book it does slow down but only to give Owen a bit more character development. As for Owen as a character, I had to admit I’m still not that crazy about him. He’s a bit of a twit. Sure, he looks at the world sometimes through a rose colored lens but you’d have to wonder when reality is going to hit him and when he’s going to react. It’s not until he’s actually FORCED with his back to the wall type of scenario to finally act. He does seem to be a bit blind to what’s going on around him and his fellow Amps. The villains in this book are very well done. They’re awesome bad guys (Lyle moreso. Vaughn’s just a jerk). They’re so bad you’re not sure if you want to hate them (like Vaughn) or like them because they do such a good job at being bad (like Lyle). Overall the characters in the book are pretty well written. The only one character I wasn’t too keen on was Lucy, because I thought she was just there to play a romantic love interest and that was it. She didn’t really contribute much for this book in my opinion. The writing style is good. Nothing fancy or so wordy when it comes to the ‘high tech’ part that you’ll be left looking through wikipedia on some of the terminology and all you get are metaphysical answers. Thankfully this book has none of that so even if you’re not much of a sci fi fan, you should give this book a try. The action packed writing should be enough to get you going! I’m definitely going to put Daniel H Wilson on my authors to watch for list. I really liked his style of writing so I’ll be looking for more works by him. Definitely recommended for those that want an action packed read. Sci fi readers might enjoy this also (even those who don’t care much for high tech speak!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this very fast.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
224perweek More than 1 year ago
This really isn't the type of book that I normally read but I thought is was pretty good. The fight scenes reminded me of the movie "The Matrix". Sometimes it was a little hard to follow but I always got caught up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An incredible plotline of humans becoming superhumans through technology. Amped is the next "BLADE RUNNER."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago