Along the Infinite Sea

Along the Infinite Sea

by Beatriz Williams

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Along the Infinite Sea 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Annabelles story. Didnt care much for Peppers thankfully, the book is mostly about Annabelle. The end is a bit confjsing though... but still a good read!
Anonymous 13 days ago
my favorite beatriz williams book so far!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I knew what was going on...oh how wrong I was! I want to be friends with this author! A really wonderful book you will be so glad to have read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Lots of surprises
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this story! It was hard to stop every night when I had to go to bed or at work when I had to return to my work. It’s touching and beautiful??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’ve read many historical WWII novels and the characters and plot in this story are incredible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating read, I couldn’t put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had a nice mix of history & fiction with an excellent plot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the other books in the series first though.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Beatriz Williams has penned a lovely and elegant work of historical fiction in her latest novel, Along the Infinite Sea. Pepper Schuyler is a society girl who loves to be naughty. She may have taken her shenanigans too far this time. She is pregnant and the baby's daddy isn’t just some average ‘Joe’. Rather, he’s a renowned politician. Sadly, he has a wife and it’s not Pepper. Proud and defiant, Pepper refuses to grovel and beg for his support and finds a way to support herself and her baby. After all, she can’t ask her own daddy given his elevated social status. Think of the scandal. When she fixes up a rare vintage Mercedes found in a garage on Cape Cod and sells it at auction for a lofty price, Pepper can check money off her list of needs for her and her unborn child. Annabelle Dommerich has a few secrets of her own. Her husband was a Nazi. Her lover was Jewish and her flight from Europe would have never been successful without the help of both men. That part of her life is in her past. Is it? Without proper closure, her past continues to haunt her present. Who would have thought the sale of the vintage Mercedes would be the conduit of introduction between strangers Annabelle and Pepper? The auto auction unites the two women in an obscure town in coastal Georgia. Such is the beginning of the womens’ respective journeys to confront their complicated pasts and embrace a future that has the potential to wash it away ever more. My ‘go to’ preference for book reviews is ‘historical fiction.’ When I happen upon a golden nugget like Along the Infinite Sea, I’ve won the lottery! Beatriz Williams does a superb job of delivering a fascinating historical read in Along the Infinite Sea. Her voice lifts off each and every page with beautiful prose and nuance. Her characters are rich and sassy and manage to seep beneath the skin of the reader in a good way. This is a story that is difficult to put down until the last page has been read. There is a terrific balance between action and dialogue. Her characters have backbone and her scenes are vibrant. Williams breaks the story into parts and patiently steps the reader from one era to the next between her two main characters: Annabelle Dommerich, Nazi Germany survivor and Pepper Schuyler, ‘60s socialite bad girl. The chemistry she creates between the two women is electric and a joy to discover with the turn of each page. Well done Ms. Williams! Quill says: Along the Infinite Sea is a personal library must have. If it isn’t on your summer reading list yet, add it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes"- Oscar Wilde Pepper Shulyer finally finishes restoring the Mercedes Roadster she and her brother-in-law had discovered in an outbuilding on his farm in Cape Cod. It's 1966, she's not married and expecting a child, and ran first to Cape Cod and then to Florida to hide from that child's father. She has sold the restored car to whom she finds out was its original owner: Annabelle Dommerich, who after escaping Nazi Germany settled with her family near the Atlantic Ocean. For whatever reason Annabelle takes Pepper under her care, sets her up in the guesthouse on her estate, and disappears. Her son, Florian, comes home to find Pepper, but no Mother. He decides to go find her, and Pepper comes along. Both Annabelle and Pepper have secrets. Both have made strange choices they might not have made had the circumstances been different. Both women, we see from flashbacks, have monied backgrounds, but love and sex change their lives. The situation around Pepper seems more believeable. However, her story doesn't resolve, it just abruptly ends. Annabelle's story has so many holes in it, it just doesn't float. And that, for someone who loves historical fiction makes this a very unsatifactory read.
camilledimaio76 More than 1 year ago
If I have dark, baggy eyes this morning, Beatriz Williams is entirely to blame. If she had not written such an excellent novel (her best by far, out of many good ones), I might not have stayed up at 5am, thirty pages shy of finishing it, unable to stay awake another minute. Had the ending not been quite as captivating, I might not have reached for it s soon as I woke up to finish it, putting off other things I should have done this morning. So, if you value your sleep, by no means pick up this book. But, if you love a thrilling, romantic, historic page turner as much as I do, purchase "Along the Infinite Sea" immediately.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Beatriz Williams has amazed me with each and every offering and her latest literary masterpiece, Along The Infinite Sea; a powerful mix of suspense, ill-fated love and drama is no exception. She seamlessly sweeps between the swinging 60s and pre WWII 30s Europe trapping readers in her intricate web of fiction dotted with facts. Her backdrops are ostentatious and seductive, her characters unforgettably detailed and fans will recognize some of the character cameos. Her persuasive, time appropriate narrative eloquently delivers her breathtaking epic tale. The chutzpah of both her women stars plus the strong message of doing the right thing help set this apart. Along The Infinite Sea, is yet another for the keeper shelf. 1966 Florida and unmarried, pregnant Pepper Schuyler is hoping the funds from the sale of this vintage 1936 Mercedes Roadster she helped to restore will finance her much needed new start. Jaded because of the mess her life is in she didn’t think it was possible for anything to surprise her, until she meets the petite woman who’s buying the car. Annabelle knows this particular automobile but hasn’t seen it since she abandoned it on Cape Cod in 1938 soon after returning to the US from the horror that had become Europe. The car is an important reminder of her past, her mistakes and her successes; it’s what she made her escape from Nazi Germany in. She’s surprised to find it in the hands of this unexpected young woman, a woman who seems to be in need of help. Luckily Annabelle is feeling especially benevolent right now.
KOLGIRL More than 1 year ago
Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams As much as I love this author, and enjoyed this book I am giving it a four star rating. Let's start with the cover. It's gorgeous! The artwork lends a vintage feel that readers will find very attractive (just like her last three books, all beautiful!). I try to avoid giving a detailed synopsis in my reviews because I hate to spoil anything for readers. Instead I will share just enough to hopefully spark an interest and encourage others to discover this book for themselves. This is the third novel in the Schulyer sister;s trilogy. While each novel is a stand alone, readers will enjoy this book more if they read them in order. Our story starts in the fall of 1966 with Pepper, the youngest of the Schuyler sisters, who is coming to terms with her unexpected and unplanned pregnancy after an elicit affair with a high profile and married man from Washington. Pepper has fled to Palm Beach, Florida to escape her past and set in motion a plan to secure a future for both herself and her unborn child. When she restores a rare vintage Mercedes and sells it at auction for a sizable profit Pepper feels things are finally going her way. Until her past catches up with her and threatens her hopes and plans for a bright future. Help comes from a most unexpected source. When Pepper learns the woman who purchased her car wants to meet her she reluctantly agrees. When Annabelle Dommerich reveals that she escaped Germany on the brink of the second World War in this very car, Pepper can't help but be curious. As Pepper tries to uncover Annabelle's past, Annabelle shares just enough information to keep Pepper interested. Annabelle, however, seems to have her own agenda and soon after taking Pepper under her wing, she mysteriously disappears. Like previous novels by this author, she weaves her story by flipping back and forth between Pepper's present and Annabelle's past to create a beautiful tapestry. Annabelle's story begins in the summer 1935 on the coast of France where as an innocent girl of 19, she meets two men who are mortal enemies and who will both irrevocably alter her destiny. With a Jewish lover and a Nazi husband Annabelle's story is both tragic and triumphant. As their heart wrenching story unfolds readers will experience an intimate taste of both the glamour and rising tensions leading up to World War II that will lend an authentic flavor to this novel. As the threads from Annabelle's past become tangled in Pepper's present situation the two heroines are bound together in a sisterhood built on secrets and sacrifices that result in a new beginning for each of them. The magic of this novel is found in Annabelle's story. The plot is full of twists and turns but it's the 3 dimensional characters in her story that make it truly special. Their emotions and motivations are complex and it's easy for the reader to connect with them and become invested in their tale. Pepper on the other hand is rather 2 dimensional. Up until now she has lead a rather privileged existence and comes across as a little shallow. She is described as a very beautiful woman who thrives on the attention she receives from men. You will admire her independence, intelligence and untamable spirit and you will celebrate her progressive attitudes towards sex. But underneath her Bravado she lacking the confidence that she wears like a cloak. She seems to believe her appearance is her strongest attribute and relies on her power over men
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
A few months ago, I read three of Beatriz Williams' novels revolving around the Schuyler family- One Hundred Summers, The Secret Life of Violet Grant and Tiny Little Thing. All of the Schuyler women are intriguing, but I found myself drawn to Pepper, who had a prominent role in Tiny Little Thing. I hoped that the next book would feature Pepper, and lo and behold, we get Pepper's story in Williams' newest novel, Along the Infinite Sea. The novel picks up a little while after Tiny Little Thing, in 1966 Palm Beach, Florida where Pepper is selling the special vintage Mercedes that she, her sister and her sister's lover found in a shed in Cape Cod and restored. The buyer is a woman named Annabelle Dommerich who has a connection to that car- she and her husband escaped the Nazis in it in 1938. Annabelle takes the pregnant Pepper under her wing and into her palatial home to hide out from the baby's father, a connected and married US Senator from a prominent family. When Annabelle mysteriously disappears, her son Florian and Pepper go looking for her. We get alternating stories, Annabelle's from 1937 and Pepper's from 1966. While I love Pepper and her snappy talk and tough-gal attitude, it's Annabelle's story that truly fascinates. When Annabelle is 17-years-old, she falls madly in love with Stefan, a Jewish man, after nursing him back to health after an encounter with the Nazis. They spend a glorious time together, and when Stefan disappears, Annabelle finds herself in trouble. She ends up married to Johann, a general in the German government during the rise of the the Nazi party. Annabelle and Stefan cross paths at various times over the next few years, and she is torn between her love and desire for Stefan and her duty to Johann, who took her in and gave her a home and a life. There is so much in Along the Infinite Sea to love. There's a little bit of the Sound of Music (Nazis and a daring escape attempt- what a scene!), a little bit of Les Miserables (the Valjean/Javert relationship) and Williams rolls these all into her can't-stop-reading-it novel. The relationship between Annabelle and Pepper is terrifically done, they are such intriguing and strong women. Nick Greenwald and Budgie Byrne from One Hundred Summers make a few appearances, which is a lovely touch to readers of the Schuyler women books, and Williams made a pretty cool connection between Annabelle and Pepper and the mysterious car. You don't need to have read any of the previous books to understand and appreciate Along the Infinite Sea, it stands alone on its own quite well. But if you are a fan of the Schuyler women, you will fall in love with this one. I highly recommend it.
gaele More than 1 year ago
As I found in A Hundred Summers this book was a little slow to start for me, and combined two stories from two differing timelines and places. It is in the interweaving of these two stories, and the common elements in each story that have the two timeframes working to tell the tale. In 1966, we meet Pepper as she is introduced, in a roundabout way to the other focus of this story, Annabelle. From there, the storylines intersect and divide, taking off into a tale of life in pre-war 1930’s Europe as we move to the nearer dates of mid-60’s America. These two stories were a tad uneven, Annabelle’s character and her life in Europe were richly detailed and emotionally available, through threats, romance, struggles and heartbreak before immigrating to the US, Annabelle had experiences that clearly related to her present behaviors and attitudes, so many years on. Pepper was, for me, the less intriguing or engaging of the two: abrasive, headstrong and more than a tad self-centered, she was difficult to empathize with and engendered little sympathy. Not quite detestable, but just filler for me, only relevant in the moments where she and Annabelle interacted or her character moved the story forward. Of course there is a mystery to solve, some drama to overcome and romance, some good some could have been left aside to concentrate on balancing the two stories. With some over used phrases, a bit more tell than show and some gaps in the choices made in pre-war Germany, all presented but few explained. For me, the story would have been richer for that information and perhaps a few fewer romantic themed moments, as many felt forced. A story that is bordering on beach-side read, notable for the moments that sparkle, but not enough of those moments appear to truly rocket this read into a keeper shelf. I received an eBook copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book a whole lot and enjoyed reading it for the most part. The whole story about Annabelle was very good. Definitely romantic, torturing, and definitely jinxed. I could smell the ocean air while she was on the yacht and definitely after she had swam to the island of the fort where they held the Man in the Iron Mask. It was definitely a love story. But then, there was so much more. The war definitely got in the way as well as life. My favorite part of the book was the background of Annabelle. I really didn't get to know Pepper enough to form an opinion of her. Apparently, this book is part of a saga and I started reading in the middle. I guess that's why I was a little frustrated/confused at the end. I certainly did not get the whole Annabelle/Pepper thing at all. Apparently, if I had read the earlier books, I would know that the author and those that follow her knew what was going on. I was the only one left out in the dark. Let me end this by turning a blind eye to the ending and saying that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I seriously felt the heartbreak with Stefan. And the round of events that came about were extraordinary! I also have to comment on the cover, it is one of the most beautiful ones I've seen in a long time. I could just live there! Thanks Penguin Group and Net Galley for providing me with this free e-galley in exchange for an honest review.