The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

by Michael Scott

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1451 reviews.
Double0Kevin More than 1 year ago
My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was dwelling a lot on pop culture like the new batman movies and cell phone and lap tops. Knowing my girlfriend would be disappointed should I not read all the books, I pressed on. Once the story started unfolding I got more and more into it and realized the pop culture references began to symbolize the link to the real world and became pretty important. The book became fast paced and really interesting. Scott does a great job connecting all sorts of real mythology and legends from around the world and brings them in as this connected universe. I spent a ton of time looking up characters, monsters and locations online just to see if the things they mentioned were real (well... really myths and legends). The Alchemyst is probably the least enjoyable in the series, but thats not bad, it just leads into some even more fast paced and epic stories that are the sequels. Scott's stories(just like JK Rowling did with the HP series) become more and more complex and well written, they just get better and better. I can't wait to read the remaining books as well as see the upcoming film adaptations.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I never thought that any book could ever be as nail-biting as this one. The Alchemyst is a little bit boring in the beginning, but it drags you in deep. Once you pick up this book, you can't stop reading. I have always admired fantasies, like Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, this book beats all of them put together. I hope all you read this love it as much as I did. And check out the sequel The Magician!
Aeylis More than 1 year ago
I accidentally got this book, but decided to try it out anyway. The first few pages of this book are absolutely horrendous. The storytelling is stiff and the action scene in the beginning is about as interesting as watching grass grow. It gets better though. Much better. Rather quickly, the rigid storytelling smooths out and the pages begin to flow. Sprinkled throughout the book are plenty of gods and goddesses (mainly goddesses) that I've never heard of before. And by the end of the book I was very glad that I read it. The only cons are a dull and rather stiff beginning, a gaping plot hole (that will probably be addressed), an irritating main character (*cough* Josh *cough*), and the fact that the book, during the first hundred pages or so, tries too hard to pander to teenagers. Other than that I would really recommend it. If you are looking to start a new series, then try this book out. Believe me; it gets better!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Two twins can change the world, but little do they realize their whole lives are about to change when Dr. Dee walks into the bookstore where Josh works. Sophie, who works across the street, senses something suspicious after watching the strange man.

After a magical fight that involves both siblings, they discover Josh's boss isn't exactly who he's claiming to be.

He is in fact the famous Nicolas Flamel, whose tomb lies empty. He and his wife have been on the run to escape Dr. Dee's clutches and hide a magical book, which holds more secrets than anyone imagines. When Dr Dee captures Nicholas's wife and part of the book, Nicholas reacts quickly. Since the twins have already been exposed, he allows them to accompany him as he sets forth to recover both Perry and the book.

Michael Scott pens the first novel in a new series with action-packed adventure and fantasy. Harry Potter fans will, of course, recognize the name Nicholas Flamel, but that's where the similarities between the two stories end. THE ALCHEMYST delivers a fresh spin on magic that is sure to please.
CY More than 1 year ago
I read the review here. Then I started reading the first few chapters at the store before I bought it because I am quite a picky reader. It is very well written. Best of all, it drew me in right away. I got the book and finished reading in 3 days.

The author managed to tie historical events, both historical and mythical figures, and real places in a creative way around the fictional teenage characters, Sophia and Josh. In addition to the rich characters, the places mentioned in the book allow my imagination to go wild with a sense of realism. The author writes well without too wordy but yet managed to include all the necessary details and vivid descriptions - which is difficult to achieve in any good fictional writing.

In terms of the richness of the characters and the fictional settings, I'd placed this book (this series) between Harry Potter and LOTR.

I finished the 2nd book in the series, "The Magician" in 2 weeks (part time reading). I can't wait for the next book and the subsequent ones to be released.

- A 30-Yr-Old-Grown-Up who Likes Good Fictions + All-Time Michael Crichton's + Some Amy Tan's
jake19 More than 1 year ago
When I started to read these books I bought it at the airport thinking that it would keep me till I landed and it did!! I do have to say it just doesn't ease it's way in to the climax like most other books that I have read. THIS BOOK just threw me into the mix. It took mythology and other things I already knew about and put it into a great story, I was stuck on the series and kept reading up till two in the morning seeing what would happen next. The book brings a lot of mythology and other things into the story and that is what makes it very exciting.
arianne321 More than 1 year ago
I love this book. but I have to admit that the first few chapters were boring but later on in the story, I got hooked to it and got so addicted. Trust me, once you start reading on to the book, you will get so hooked, that you wont be able to put the book down.So if you haven't read this book yet, go out there and buy it. also, when you finish the book, I assure you that you will be begging for the next book in the series. If you are wondering the next book in the series is The Magician. I haven't read The Magician yet, but I cant wait to buy it, read it, then see if it is as good as the first book. The Alchemist is the best book I have ever read in my entire life (so far).
Shawn31 More than 1 year ago
This book enticed me to read the series and I am on edge just like with the Harry Potter series I strongly suggest you read this book!
OlderGuy More than 1 year ago
The book was good, but certain parts were very frustrating to read. I'm not exactly the target audience (28) but I kept focusing on inconsistencies that made this difficult to push through.

There was a lot of extraneous detail provided that just didn't really seem pertinent to certain situations. It seems like the author talked about laptops/cell phones way too much, like he was trying too hard to connect with the younger generation. Pacing is thrown way off periodically, with long discussions or people doing stupid things when they should be frantically running for their lives etc. Josh says a LOT of really stupid, lame jokes at the wrong times. Somehow, when they are "grabbing their things" Josh is able to take the time to pull out his computer and do a bunch of internet searches. And Altavista? No one uses that anymore.

The brother/sister thing is creepy. They touch each other WAY too much. It's just gross. They're always holding hands and touching shoulders... it just seems a little too much. Maybe some kids are like that, but wow. Also, Josh is a football jock who is also a video gamer / computer expert? Seems like he's a little too specialized in too many areas to be realistic.

There are inconsistencies that I would think an editor who read the book ONCE would catch. Scathach tells the kids to not go outside, because dangerous things are out there. Stay in your room. Well, the kids go outside and then "realize that there were dangerous things out there", Umm, it just hurts my head sometimes.

I'm still trying to push through the book. It seems to get better as it goes on (I'm 3/5 through or so), like the editor skipped over the first half. I guess sometimes successful authors just need to push material out and the quality isn't checked enough.

Again, I'm not quite the right target audience, so some may not notice the same things I do. However, certain components of the story seem quite juvenile while other seems quite adult, so I'm not really sure where to place this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot was exciting as well as th fantasy in this. It has gods from every culture like mars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book uses mythology, but in a 21st century setting using ipods, cell phones, etc. The main characters are Sophie and Josh Newman. I recommend this book to anyone who likes action and adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is much more sophisticated than Harry Potter. The story is great and delves into mythology, horror and science fiction. The author does an excellent job of describing the shadow relms and mythical creatures and relating them to the present. Read or listen to this book (the audio version is amazing) and you will want to read the next 2 books to see how it all works out for Sophie and Josh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great book couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting if you like the Harry Potter series and the Septimus Heap series :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the concept of Alchemy, and was immediately drawn to this book. I expected a lot - and they were smashed. Very well done book, and I love how richly the author incorporated mythology, history and present day culture. Literally the only gripe I would have about this is the science behind it - because often the author would describe something scientific, but a bit inaccurately. I think this is justified, because the author did not want to make things overly scientific. Despite that minor gripe, I was able to suspend my disbelief simply from the superb writing from Scott. I would highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only 5 pages and you're already hooked within seconds! It's a must!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Look ive read a lot and i mean A TON ive read the whole percy jackson series in a week. I read this book in a day its so good. Its an AMAZING book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read three of this series and greatly enjoyed each one. I love the characters and all the mythology.
eowen_castle More than 1 year ago
Michael Scott has created a magical fantasy world that is filled with characters that are interesting, well-developed, and extremely engaging. He's blended reality with myth in such a skillful way that the story captivates the readers from beginning to end. You will be reading this almost greedily, turning page after page to see what happens next. There isn't a dull moment in this book. If you enjoy history, mythology, fantasy, science-fiction, then you are in for a treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I though this book was amazing. it was really fast paced and you never got bored. This book is really good if you like a fast paced action sdventure or if you like aceint gods/ goddeses. it seemed this book just keep getting more interesting and didnt even slow down on the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an okay book compared to the rest of the series, but still good :)
book_lover123 More than 1 year ago
Where to begin. At first I wasn't sure if I would like this book. I don't think I have ever loved a book so much! I saw, felt, heard, smelt, and even tasted everything the characters did. At the end of the book I was actually crying because I didn't have the next book at my side, like I normally do when i'm close to finishing a book. Anyone who loves a good action, adventure, and suspenseful book, will love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! I read the entire series and loved how all of the details came together
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally reccomend this book. I have it at home. Its wonderful. I luv it. At the library booksale i wasnt sure but then i couldnt keep my nose out of it and you wont be able to either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its the best book ever that talks about magic and myths (rick riodion and micheal scott are neck and neck now)