Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

by Mark Twain, Samuel Clemens

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The language dialect was difficult to read "quickly". Still the classic and well worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Simly one of the best books ever witten by an american author. I read this in high scholl and I read it again in my mid 30's.
mrjunuh More than 1 year ago
Once you get past the cultural/historical references between the inequality of blacks and whites and focus on the touching story of a young teenager setting out on his own to make a new life for himself while discovering a deep and meaningful relationship with a runaway slave, you will be thankful that you picked up this classic and spent time reading it. So many of us are educated by the agreed standards of our day: media, religion, secondary schooling but miss the daily wisdom of simply living our lives the best we can in harmony with not only our own needs but the needs of others as well. Huck Finn reminds us that when he set off on his own and helps Jim he broke many social mores and laws of his day but stayed true to his inner-voice, his conscience. No where is this contrast between society and Jim's conscience more clearly demonstrated than when he meets up with Tom and wastes so much time freeing Jim from his prison due to all the hoops and hurdles Tom has them perform because "that's the way it's done." After reading the text, it's hard not to ask yourself if in your own life have you been responding to difficult decisions like Huck, with your conscience, or like Tom, the way society wants you to. I believe, however, this is exactly what Twain wanted his reader's to ask and to become more like his protagonist in the end. Last thought, before reading this book, be sure to read Tom Sawyer first. Sawyer's book brings so much back story to Finn, Sawyer, and their relationship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Purchased this classic for my 17yr old son. He left his homework at school and needed to read a few chapters, lol. So glad I have a NOOK and Barnes & Noble.
kajita on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Huckleberry Fine lives with Widow Douglas.He doesn't like clean and tidy life there.Then his father comes to him to get a money.So,he and Jim travel together down the river on a raft.I know this book is a great american literature.And I have read this book once.I enjoyed reading this book.I want to read the original.
kokokoko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The father of Huckleberry Finn is a hoodlum who riots if alcohol is drunk. Huck has been confined in a hut when he betrays his father, in order to protect a family's money. He strives to escape from there.I found out that this story is sequel "The Adventure of Tom Sawyer".I recommend to read this book, after reading "The Adventure of Tom Sawyer".This story is very interesting!
pipipi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Huck's dad,pop was not a good father.He was always drunk and made many troubles in town.Huck didn'thave mother.Pop toldHuck togive money him and locked huck in a hut.Huck decided to escape and live in the wooods.There,he met Jim who was a black slave whohad run away.At first, I thought it is interesting.Actually,Ilike this story Until middle of this story.But I can't understand the last of this story as well.
parissea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story is good, but it is cookbook now. So this is boring for me.But characters are good. For example, Jim who is a Huckleberry's servant. When Huckleberry go on an adventure, Jim provide for him.This story is appropriate for a person who likes routine adventures.
Kaz2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Huckleberry adventured a various of the olace with slave.Seeing huckleberry's dirty clothes, she always scolded him,and he left home,and then his adventure has started.In the novel,there is the slave in home.This reflects the American society before the Slavery is abolished in 1865.This surprises me but he has survived under every circumstances.I think he is strong.
su-min on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have liked this book since I had been a child. This is a side story of ''The Adventures of Tom Sawyer''.And I like this side better than ''Tom''.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
soflbklvr More than 1 year ago
Readers of all ages will enjoy Huck's adventures in this tale. The formatting of this version of the book leaves something to be desired, however. Half way through the book several chapters were repeated, which was very distracting, and a few chapters contained a box at the end of each sentence. The story is 5 stars, but this nook book version, sadly, is not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
G gjbntugkqygj