Addition

Addition

by Toni Jordan

Paperback

$14.41 $14.99 Save 4% Current price is $14.41, Original price is $14.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Addition 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
“Addition” is a very funny novel. It’s also witty and clever and moving. It is insightful about OCD and also about life in general. “Addition” made me laugh (a lot, out loud), it made me cry, and it made me think. Oh, and just to round things off nicely, there were a couple of hot sex scenes. I was so sorry to reach the end that I read it again, and I hope we don’t have to wait too long before Toni Jordan writes another novel.
Koda More than 1 year ago
The pace in this quirky story is excellent. Counting, numbers, wittly retorts, love--all bouncing around through dear Grace's OCD head. While tempting to read in one sitting, try two--or three--as Toni Jordan's talent as a humorist needs to be savored. Think Fannie Flagg with a calcuator.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a read-the-whole-book-in-one-night kind of page-turner for me, which is rare. The author has managed to capture the combined sense of security and emprisonment of a compulsive disorder. The lighter sides (a la chicklit) help keep the novel from getting too weighty. Apart from a few turns of phrase, the style is captivating and clear. This is a book I will definitely re-read.
mollybee More than 1 year ago
I read ALOT but very seldom am moved to write a review...can't help expressing myself about this clever, yet poignant creation from Toni Jordan...written in first person by an intelligent woman who happens to have a weird obsession with 'counting'...but because the reader is in her head, the exact seriousness of this malady is often overlooked in favor of her unique slant on getting through everyday life...I found it intriguing, funny, eye-opening (at times cringe-worthy) yet overall, an amazingly entertaining trip toward acceptance and love!!!
charlottesweb93 More than 1 year ago
Addition is a funny, intelligent book. The razor sharp wit is so dry it may be missed by the untrained eye. But make no mistake, it is there. Compromise is a part of relationships, it is a part of love. But what happens when the compromises we make turn us into someone completely different? Toni Jordan's book takes you into Grace's world. And what happens when Grace decides that even true love is not worth the compromises asked of her.

This is a do not miss book & I can't wait to discuss it with others once it hits the shelves!
harstan More than 1 year ago
It started when she was eight years old and counted the ten steps in front of her family house. Over the next two plus decades schoolteacher Grace Lisa Vandenberg who is a nineteen counts everything to include steps to and from work, the number of poppyseeds on her morning orange cake and the letters in her family¿s full names. She lives life by the numbers as she has even assigned numbers to colors. Ten is her magic number unlike her hero the inventor Nicola Tesla who worshipped three.

However, her fine tuned world falls apart starting with swiping a banana from the shopper behind her so her bunch will be ten not nine; thus Seamus Joseph O¿Reilly, also a nineteen, meets the banana thief. He in turn steals her morning spot at the café, but asks her to have breakfast with him. Years of orange cake and seed counting turn into the trauma of pancakes, which seems like a miscalculation as computing syrup is somewhat limiting, but she likes the fact that they are both nineteen¿s.

Counting numbers rules how Grace lives with ten being perfect because of the number of fingers and toes. She obviously suffers from a form of obsessive compulsive disorder, but she functions quite nicely and is amusing when she discusses her affliction and how she hides it from others; a lesson learned at eight years old when her fingers were working calculations in public. Although at times her obsessions, for instance her hero Tesla, can become a bit overbearing, this deep look at a person with OCD is a well written character study with droll chick-lit asides.

Harriet Klausner
kittykay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked up Addition by australian author Toni Jordan for many reasons; the colorful cover reminded me of the upcoming spring, I was in the mood for a light read and the back cover¿s descriptions seemed like something I would enjoy. Happily for me, I can say I haven¿t been disappointed.* * * *Description taken from the author¿s website :"Grace Lisa Vandenburg counts. The letters in her name (19). The steps she takes every morning to the local café (920); the number of poppy seeds on her slice of orange cake, which dictates the number of bites she¿ll take to finish it. Grace counts everything, because numbers hold the world together. And she needs to keep an eye on how they¿re doing.Seamus Joseph O¿Reilly (also a 19, with the sexiest hands Grace has ever seen) thinks she might be better off without the counting. If she could hold down a job, say. Or open her kitchen cupboards without conducting an inventory, or make a sandwich containing an unknown number of sprouts.Grace¿s problem is that Seamus doesn¿t count. Her other problem is¿he does."* * * *Addition is a short read, and Grace was easy to get attached to. Her counting doesn¿t get in the way of her sense of humor, and I enjoyed watching her fall in love. While she tells her life through numbers, the reader gets a sense of how controlled is her existence, from the time she wakes up to what she cooks up for dinner. We get to see through her eyes, and while her perception is mostly different, she is also very aware that ¿counting¿ isn¿t something ¿normal.¿The story isn¿t an in-depth observation of mental illness and its consequences, but it does focus more on Grace¿s mental condition than on her romance with Seamus. The author talks with insight of healing and treatment, the text being the occasion to pop up some good questions; does Grace need to be treated and changed? Or does she only needs to learn how to live the way she is?In short, this was a book I enjoyed; a 258 pages ¿chick lit¿ with an out of the ordinary lead character.
byroade on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Could a chick-lit romance centering on a mentally ill woman be funny and succeed as a romance? In the case of Toni Jordan's Addition, yes! Grace, whose life is on hold due to her obsession with numbers and counting, meets Seamus when she nicks his lone banana while waiting in line at the grocery store to make up to the perfect number 10. The relationship blossoms and Grace faces the need to enter therapy. Medication soon resolves Grace's OCD--but is she still Grace? Will Seamus still love her? Will she still love herself? Can she overcome mental illness and find true happiness?
ut.tecum.loquerer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The main character, Grace, was wonderfully realized. I liked her, I felt like I knew her, and I really cared about her story. Now, the book wasn't action-packed, and you could write it off as chick-lit, but I think that would be a mistake. Toni Jordan has created a great set of characters here. Definitely worth reading. Plus, all the counting reminds me of my mom. :)
fig2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One smart, funny, OCD sufferer who can't stop countingPlusOne sweet, lovable guy who only wants to helpEquals Addition. It's adorable.
monzrocks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fun read about a woman with a compulsive counting issue, who meets a man who throws a wench in her carefully calculated days.
SugarCreekRanch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Addition is a witty romantic comedy. The main character, Grace, has an obsessive compulsion to count everything ¿ and it has interfered with life in a big way. Then she meets Seamus, and they try to figure out how to build a relationship. The book is at turns insightful, funny, and touching. The first couple of chapters set the stage for a ¿counter¿s life¿. They are kind of tedious and boring. But stick with it! By the third chapter, the plot begins and Grace becomes much, much more interesting. By the middle of the book, you¿ll find yourself snickering as you read. Grace has a wonderful dry sense of humor, and is happy to share her satirical thoughts with the reader. The conclusion fits well with the rest of the story. This book started as 2 or 3 star for me, but finished as a solid 4 stars.
SmithSJ01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is actually quite an odd book and I fluctuated between how I felt about it. Overall, it¿s not quite 4 stars for me as I feel it went on too long. As there isn¿t much product description the plot revolves around Grace Lisa Vandenberg who has an obsessive compulsive disorder ¿ for counting. Naturally this consumes her life, from the simplest things like the number of bananas in her shopping trolley through to things like keeping the speedometer level when driving. She doesn¿t work, she can¿t drive and isn¿t in a relationship with anyone, nor does she have any friends. As the book progresses we know when and where the counting started and we are actually informed early on in the novel, but it didn¿t make sense to me initially. The first chapter is quite difficult to read. If you can get past that then you are in for a decent read. It isn¿t brilliant but it is certainly different. She has an admiration for Nikola Tesla, the inventor of electricity and this is where the novel fell down for me. We spend far too much time reading about him and his life, how he made his discoveries etc, whereas I¿d rather have been reading about Grace. Her family have done their best to support her but the only one who really gets her is her niece Larry. She¿s actually called Hilary, the rest of the family call her Hilly but for some reason Grace calls her Larry. Early in the novel (the first chapter) in walks Seamus Joseph O¿Reilly who could play a big part in her life if it wasn¿t for the counting. This was more interesting than Nikola Tesla but still more information was revealed about electricity and its uses, it just wasn¿t interesting but it might be for someone. A novel I¿m pleased I¿ve read, one that¿s certainly different from the norm but one I won¿t be shouting from the roof tops about.
elsmvst on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Een aardig boek over een vrouw die alles "moet" tellen. Er is een relatie met het leven van uitvinder Nikola Tesla. De omgeving van Grace vindt dat ze iets moet doen aan haar manie, maar uiteindelijk voelt Grace zich het beste bij hoe ze is.
RobinDawson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The heroine's obsession with counting is an unusual and nteresting subject . This sounds a bleak or depressing topic but the story is written with great wit and humour, and there's a smorgasbord of interesting snippets about numbering systems and issues. It's basically a love story. At her boyfriend's suggestion Grace undertakes therapy only to find that it sucks the life out of her. She eventually tosses the therapy, regains her enjoyment of life, and at last regains her boyfriend. A light, frothy read.
librarygirl55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel was written from the point of view of the protagonist with OCD. She explains how she thinks and how counting and numbers rule her existence. Very inciteful about the condition and how some people live with it. The romance is delightful also. One comes to the conclusion that all people should be celebrated for who they are, and instead of trying to change them we should try to understand people with mental disorders. A very enjoyable read!
bearette24 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a really interesting and unusual book about a woman, Grace Vandenburg, who has a distinctive form of obsessive-compulsive disorder. She¿s compelled to count everything. Her life goes on in a very ordered fashion ¿ orange cake and hot chocolate at the same café, same time, every day ¿ until she meets Seamus O¿Reilly, a young man who¿s attracted to her originality. Unsurprisingly, their relationship meets some challenges along the way.I thought Ms. Jordan did a remarkable job of getting inside Grace¿s head and showing how interesting numbers can be. I also learned a lot about Nikola Tesla, Grace¿s idol.
coolmama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book!OCD meets better than average chick-lit.Grace counts everything - obsessionally. She meets Seamus when she needs one more banana to make a complete 10 at the grocery store.Quirky, humorous, wonderful dialogue and delivery.Can't wait for more from Toni!
Cats57 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Addition by Toni Jordan Addition is a debut novel by Toni Jordan and I certainly hope it won¿t be her last. This very clever novel tells 3 stories at one time - it tells us how someone lives with severe OCD and deals with the day to dayness of their lives, it tells us the history of Nikola Tesla; inventor and electrician, and it tells the story on how someone can fall in love with a person suffering from severe OCD, how they cope and what they can do or not do to help.Grace suffers from OCD; her compulsion is to count and time ¿everything! The seeds on her muffins, the steps it takes to get somewhere, the amount of things she needs to buy and that is how we meet Seamus Joseph O¿Reilly. If it weren¿t so tragic because of the OCD it would really make a cute ¿how we met¿ story to tell the grandkids¿on second thought even someone with a mental illness deserves a cute how ¿we met¿ story! Things may not be perfect between Seamus and Grace, not by a long shot, but they get much worse when Grace finally decides that she wants to change. When she starts thinking not about what the world may have lost with her being confined because of her illness, but when she starts thinking about how much she has to gain by healing and coming to terms with her OCD. Unfortunately she ends up being severely over medicated and treated by the wrong kinds of people. Luckily Grace realizes she would rather `count¿ than be a walking talking zombie. But never fear this story is written with grace, humor, wit, and compassion. It¿s never overly emotional even when it could be and it never goes too far for a cheap laugh¿¿Larry¿ a secondary character is an amazing piece of work.All in all, this is a wonderful book, that recognizes the fact that not all treatment is right for everyone and in this world there will always be square pegs trying to stuff themselves into the round holes of life. I finished in record time practically devouring this novel to satisfy my curiosity. At first glance I thought it was going to be too depressing for me to finish and by the time I neared the end I wished it were longer and I didn`t have to finish!
timothyl33 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very interesting book by Australian author Toni Jordan about a woman's quirky life as she lives with an incessant compulsion to quantify and count the things around her life. Things take for a different turn when a different unquantifiable variable is added to her life, a man.
BrynDahlquis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It is surprisingly easy to get pulled into the life of Grace Vandenburg. She made me growl when she did stupid things, and I actually laughed out loud several times. But only a 3 on my personal rating scale, mostly just because it's not really my genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this good!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very pleasant to read novel. 
Crytal More than 1 year ago
I am a numbers girl. I love the thought of them, the processes they go through, everything. So I figured that &quot;Addition&quot; would be right up my alley. And it was. At least it was at first.  Grace is a counter. Counts everything, from steps to the number of strokes per tooth with her toothbrush and the number of bites she takes to the number of groceries she buys. In the book, it was mentioned that she is Obsessive-Compulsive. It didn't seem that way to me, I thought she was leaning more towards someone on the Autism spectrum. Either way, she was portrayed as someone who needed fixing. And this is where the book lost me. Grace meets a boy and he good-intentionally 'helps' her overcome her 'problems.' The romance was sweet and I liked the characters, but for me, Grace's changes happened way to fast and way too easily for someone with her depth of diagnoses. The saving grace of the story was main character Grace's niece Larry. She stole the show for me. I loved the interactions between the two, it always felt real. None of Grace's other relationships had that same feeling. I would love to read more about either one of these two, as long as they are together. While I didn't love this book, the writing was pretty amazing. There was one particular passage towards the end that struck gold for me, it resonated with where I am in my life. Grace is musing to herself after stopping her meds cold-turkey. She thinks, <i>&quot;Weight gain is a common side effect of drugs, and usually considered a minor one. I would suggest that those who consider it minor have not experienced blowing up so big that, when you step on a talking scale it says, 'One at a time, please.' When there's not just a thin person inside you trying to get out, but several of them. I'm not talking about vanity. I'm talking about your sense of self. Consider the number of times you see your body. In the mirror and in windows as you walk. Your hands as you type or sort the washing...All these times, to be confronted by the sight of someone who is not you- not-your-hands at the end of not-your arms - can fill you with a sense of dislocation each second of each minute of each day.&quot;</i> Overall, a good read. But it did lose a star because of what I perceived to be fantasy (her ease at changing her lifestyle) in a contemporary novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago