About Average

About Average

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.19 $7.99 Save 10% Current price is $7.19, Original price is $7.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

About Average 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book could be one of my fav books i have ever read and im considered a book worm! Even though im 10 i still love reading books that r a little older for me soo this was kind of a mix. I think this is a must READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was very good it was all about this girl that is named jordan who is average everyrhing then comes a girl named marlea who isnt very nice to jordon and did a very mean thing to her which was how jordan made a list if things shes good at and things that shes bad at and the bad part of the list took up most of the page jordan then recycled the lists and marlea grabs it and she reads it out loud. Their teacher schedualed an extra band class so that they could practice for the concert and a tornado hits and jordan does something amazing but you will have to read the book to find out what jordan did this is a must read for ages 10 and on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is GREAT!!! It's a must-get! I was pretty stuck to it. Don't listen to the people who say it's "bad." 5 STARS NO JOKE! Just get it, you'll love it! For a book, it's not even that much ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It Is a great book for kids so get it. Yourkids will love it!
JAMuckley 9 months ago
"About Average" by Andrew Clements is a fun and engrossing Middle School chapter book for children between the ages of 8-12 years. It is a fictional and inspirational story written for kids about self-esteem, being true to who you are, and about showing others respect. The story follows Jordan Johnston, a 6th grader, who describes herself as "plain and average." She has some special skills like organizational skills, horseback riding, babysitting that doesn't help her get better grades, or make her more popular at school. Jordan also has to deal with mean and rude comments from fellow classmates, but she decides to "kill" these disagreeable classmates with kindness, rather than fighting back with hurtful words or her fists. These themes teach kids the power of kindness, of staying true to yourself when others don't appreciate you, and then teaches them to appreciate yourself and your attributes even when others may not. The book was a wonderful way to talk with my 8-year-old daughter about some of these ideas in a way she could understand. I loved the book and recommend it to everyone looking for positive sources to encourage their own children in these same areas.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Andrew Clements is a master of relating to children through his school stories. ‘About Average’ touches on the insecurities that plague every child and adult at some point in their lives. Self-worth is often determined by what others think of you, but even when it’s not, the toughest critic anybody can face is themselves. This book encourages kindness in the face of cruelty and shows that even the most average person can be important in the right circumstances. An excellent read for those struggling to see what they have to offer to the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It could like, describe more about the tornado, plus its only 83 pages. Usually my books that I read are like, way way longer. About 800 pages. So like, in all, it was like, a pretty good read but like, way better
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All of you who posted 5 stars have the right ideas
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample doesn't tell you anything but that she's bad at the violin in the elementary school band.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to read this book again and again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish i could give it zero stars yo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that this book is a really good for kids who like stories with social issues
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book! Better than what I expected. Really good book for a pre-teen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really good but it is really short and i finished it in about a day or two but other than that it is really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i saw the title and saw the front cover i thought it would be a really good book but it confusled me i really did not get it the book jumped all around from diffent places in a heart beat i was just thinking to myself that i must of skiped a chapter or something.this was the first book of andrew clemets really did not like atleast of the ones i read witch are..... Frindle , the last holiday cocert, the landry news, things hoped for and i probly read more but thats all i can remember right now so if there is some more andrew clemets books that arent really good please post and keep me updated so i dont waste all my money on not good books. THANKS bye. Haylee =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book rater