A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

by Fredrik Backman

Paperback(Reprint)

$12.80 $16.00 Save 20% Current price is $12.8, Original price is $16. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Man Called Ove: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 272 reviews.
sierra2 More than 1 year ago
I haven't enjoyed a book like this in a long time. It is written is such a way that Mr. Ove becomes real in your life. The author lets you be upset with him, feel his pain and loneliness and sadness and then lets you see his heart and then his vulnerability. This is a book that I will give as gifts at Christmas and birthdays just because it is written in such a way that it captivates you. I couldn't put it down and I have reviewed quite a lot of books. To the point that I woke up and grabbed the book to see what happened next. I am going to read it again just for the sheer enjoyment of it. Thank you for an excellent book. I want to read more of this authors books for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of books on my Nook over the past 7 years but this is the first time i've felt compelled to write a review. What a wonderfully written and totally engaging book this was - funny and sad with fantastic characters. I rarely reread books but i will with this one, and i'll eagerly awaut the next book from this gifted author.
JOMONV More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book. If you liked the Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry you will love this book. It's heartwarming, heartbreaking, and humorous at the same time. Really enjoyed it - highly recommend.
BlueSpark More than 1 year ago
Anything I write about this book pales when compared to my wonderful experience reading it. So remember that if you read the rest of this. Most of the book was full of moments when I had to pause because I was laughing so much. On the other hand, at times something would suddenly happen that caused me to pause because the tears in my eyes kept me from seeing the page. Ove is a grumpy old man who seems older than his 58 years. The fun for the reader is meeting him and then slowly understanding him. You will have varying reactions to him. I would not dare give any spoilers; I want you to have the same experience as I did so that you get to discover for yourself the author's skill in creating and weaving the stories of these lively characters. (Notice the difference in the names of the chapters as all the chapters are named only two different names.) Trust me, you will value your experience reading this book. For me, Ove was an unexpected treasure of a book. I read all the time and yet, I can't think of any other book to compare it to. Maybe a bit of John Irving, but only slightly. When you are through reading this book, pass it along to a friend. Give it as gifts. I know I am.
Rita_in_NC More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book.  I spaced out the last pages because I didn't want the story to end.   It was absolutely heart-warming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the way to tell a story. I could not put it down and I did not want it to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting mix of characters Makes you smile, laugh, cheer and cry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a book that had me within the first few sentences. I could hear Ove's voice (the one I gave him) all the way through to the end. The humor is the dry sometimes sarcastic type that I love. When will his other books be translated???? I cannot wait to see if they are as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic
Fictionophile More than 1 year ago
Ove is a loveable curmudgeon in late middle-age. He is ever so slightly OCD and has a problem with the machinations of society. Ove is very set in his ways and is disdainful of almost everyone he meets. He has a fondness for rules and thinks that anyone who doesn’t follow them is a harbinger of chaos. He has always driven a Saab car and thinks that what car a person drives tells a lot about a person. His story is told in a series of flashbacks which makes the reader cognizant of all the loss and sadness that Ove has encountered in his life along with all the many talents he possesses. In the present, over the course of of several months, Ove, with a little help from his friends, gets a new lease on life. Poignant and hysterically funny in equal measure, “A man called Ove” is a heartwarming novel of life, loss, and our intrinsic need to be needed. Skillfully written with charm and wit, this debut novel is a fast read – and one you will remember for a long time. You know you’ve read a good book when after the last page is turned you are already missing the characters… I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed “The storied life of A.J. Fikry” or “The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry“. “A man called Ove” came about as a result of a blog post from Swedish author Fredrik Backman. His readers took to the character and requested more and more. The result was this novel. Like Frederik Backman’s blog readers, this reader believes that the world would be a better place with more people like “A man called Ove“.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone who needs a laugh, or a reminder that our life matters in ways we would never imagine. It's a light read. This book helped me to see how much helping others in reality helps ourselves. Letting people into our life can bring happiness. It was written in a humorous way. It was easy to picture each character with the authors description. At first I felt the neighbors were intruders on Oves space and privacy but I loved how they became like family. I couldn't wait to read what would happen next in the life of Ove.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so sad when I finished this book because I wanted to keep on reading about this grumpy old man that snuck his way into my heart. You will laugh, you may cry, but overall you will be happy you read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read hundreds of books and never left a comment or review until now. Read. This. Book. You won't be sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just as my headline states...Amazing read! I think we have all met and know someone just like Ove. Sure makes me appreciate that someone more and more! Loved this story!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many memorable quotes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book for several reasons. It is very well written. Structure wise the book is balanced and you end where you begin--plot line. However, the character of Ove changes full circle within that structure. The humor in the book is really sincerely funny,but it serves the purpose of highlighting Ove's sadness. It is a book you can find meaning in even in the things that are not told to you. It is a wonderful book about love, acceptance and more importantly, finding out that living is the best way to celebrate a love one--after they are gone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We all seem too know someone like this and it warmed my heart from the very beginning. I highly reccomend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story. They are each unique in their own way. But ove is a diamond in the rough so to say. He gives so much and asks nothing in return. As the saying goes, "Life is what happens when you are busy making other plans." A lot of people are very fortunate that his plans continue to fail.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very much enjoyed this book. Not your run of the mill story line. What a good guy! Kindness!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book that I've read in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have read in a while. A grumpy crusty old man who terribly misses his deceased wife. He wants to join her in Heaven but earthly things keep getting in the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a book that I've enjoyed as much as this one in a long time. You will laugh out loud as well as cry! I didn't want it to end. Fantastic !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed every word of this book! Best story I've read recently, and I read constantly! I will be recommending this book to everyone and will be eagerly awaiting follow-up novels from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is very well told and moves along quickly. The characters, who seem somewhat exaggerated at first, become quite real as the plot develops.
Ziggle More than 1 year ago
Ove was such a sweet-hearted man!  LOVED this book!