90 Minutes in Heaven: My True Story

90 Minutes in Heaven: My True Story

by Don Piper, Cecil Murphey

Paperback(Young Reader's Edition)

$11.86 $13.00 Save 9% Current price is $11.86, Original price is $13. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

90 Minutes in Heaven 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the arthur don piper who is also a minister was hit head on by a big semi truck and declared dead in the hospital and this preacher got to spend 90 minutes in heaven and for some remarkable reason was allowed to come back and share what God wanted him to see. I think this is a very inspirational book that will be able to help many people that will not only strenthen their faith but help those that are in times of hurting.this little book is small enough to fit in a persons pocket and has some peaceful Bible verses as well as some special comments by don piper. great gift idea for a friend or family member or soldier serving over seas.
Savannah34 More than 1 year ago
90 minutes in heaven is a very touching story about a preacher named Don Piper who gets in a terrible car wreck. Medical attention was sought as soon as possible, but when they finally arrived, they stated that Don had died instintaneously. However, another preacher stopped at the wreck and felt that he was supposed to pray for Don, even though he was already pronounced dead. So that's exactly what he did. During all of this, Don is getting to experience the amazing glory of Heaven. He gets to see all of his passed away family members and friends, all who welcome him with the purest love he has ever felt. He is awed by Heaven's beauty and its music, and he hadn't even made it through the gate yet! He only made it to the gate, before his 90 minutes in Heaven was up. He returned back to Earth, for reasons he himself did not understand, but he had faith in God, even when it was extremely hard to do so during his gruesome recovery. I absolutely loved this book. It makes you think and reconsider death, and wonder why so many people are afraid of it. It also serves as a little bit of proof for those people who are really struggling with believing in God and all his unseen (from the Earth atleast) glories. But this book is also more than just a story about Heaven. Its also inspirational and motivational. Most of us probably can't even begin to imagine the pain and suffering that Don went through during his recovery. At some points all he wanted to do was die. But he kept pushing through, and now he's changing many people's lives with his story. I would definitely recommend this book to pretty much anybody. It's a very good book and I'm so glad that I chose to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I nearly lost my mom and sister, and my whole life is falling apart. I feel what you feel. :(:(
plzdnr More than 1 year ago
The description of heaven as experienced by the writer is worth the price of the book. The remainder of the book, however, is the detail of his recovery and experiences following his accident, which is rather ho-hum.
CMash on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN by Don PiperPublished by Baker Publishing GroupISBN-13: 9780800733995This book was purchased by me, at the recommendation from my 2 cousins. Synopsis (borrowed from B&N): He thought it was going to be just another day. God had other plans.Don Piper died instantly when his car was crushed by a semi. While his body lay lifeless inside the ruins of his car, Piper went to heaven. Ninety minutes after the wreck, he miraculously returned to life on earth with only the memory of heavenly bliss. His faith in God was severely tested as he faced an uncertain and grueling recovery. Now he shares his life-changing story with you.If you've ever wondered what heaven was like, if you've ever questioned God's goodness because bad things happen, if you've had trouble believing that heaven is real--this incredible true story will change your life. My Thoughts and Opinion: This past December, while at a family funeral, my cousins and I started to talk about and discuss spiritual books we had read, such as The Left Behind Series. Two cousins mentioned this book and both gave very good verbal reviews on it. Once home, I hopped online and ordered it and since that time it has been in my tbr bookcase. Fast forward to September 5th when I received the news that my Mother had 2 weeks to live. But first a caveat and I apologize in advance if I offend anyone. I am of the Catholic faith and believe that there is an afterlife, Heaven, eternal life. However, I am and always have been curious as to the transition from this life to the next. That's when I felt I must and needed to read this book. I made the decision, and I have such comfort knowing that I was there, to be with my Mom when she made her transition.Don Piper, a Minister, retells his experience of the day he died. What he experienced, what he saw, what he felt. He also writes about the excruciating pain and 30+ operations he had to endure after the accident that took his life for 90 minutes. How for many months that turned into years of recuperation and dealing with anger, depression, hopelessness and wanting to return to Heaven again until he realized what God's plan was for him. If you are a believer, this story will strengthen and confirm that belief. It gave me great solace and reassurance in a very difficult situation. My Rating: 4
andrewfahler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
very good and moving
laws on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I actually read this book first. I read it in 2 sittings. It amazed me what Don went through during and after his accident. God had a purpose for him . Stroong faith and belief in God as well as prayrer will get us through our darkest and most difficult days.
historybuff1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
90 Minutes In Heaven by Don Piper is an EXCELLENT book that will renew your spirit and faith in God. The story is about Don Piper, a man that dies in a car accident. He is pronounced dead on the scene by paramedics. However, when a passerby hears God's voice telling him to pray for the dead man (Piper) and he obey's, Piper miraculously comes back to life. As the paramedics and police on the scene can not believe what they have seen, the paramedics rush Piper to the hospital. This book discusses what Piper experienced during his 90 minutes in heaven. The sounds of the angels and saints singing praises unto the Lord, the bright, vivid lights of heaven, the loved ones that met him at Heaven's gate, are all described in this amazing true story.
fit4life on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thought it was great, although the end ran on a bit long
dele2451 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To begin, I must confess that this is the first book I've ever read from somebody who was pronounced dead and it is not normally subject matter that I would gravitate towards. That being said, Pastor Don Piper's account of his personal struggles dealing with the emotional and physical trauma he experienced in the aftermath of a horrific collision with an 18-wheeler is inspiring to anybody who has had to deal with a life-changing injury. Only a relatively small portion of the book is dedicated to his actual recollections of Heaven which I found a little disappointing given the title of the book, but it is an interesting read nonetheless. The hook of this book might be the account of an almost-realized salvation, but the real miracle in these pages is how so many people bound together and sacrificed for so long to help this man and his family recover after the accident.
edawmik22 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was more about his recovery process and dealing with his depression during his recovery than it was about heaven. He does describe his heaven experience, and then tells how sharing it has affected people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose this book because i recently loss my kid brother Ron. Maybe I too need to believe I will see Ron again. But right now my heart is heavy with sorrow, I can only pray it won't last forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice book, nice splot, i can compare this one only with a crossing or the drop's history by Anatoliy Obraztsov. Because both of them were the best books I read this year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book thinking most of it was going to be about his experience in Heaven. In fact he discovers that he can not enter because it is not his time. He never goes in heaven; but his experience outside the pearly gates are much more than he has words for. It does talk about his recovery most of the book and towards the end it was more difficult to read, However I did get so much from this book. It shows us no matter where we are in life we can always learn more. Anyone has the ability to accept God into their heart and go to heaven, but that doesn't mean we cant learn more. I give it 5 stars because of the learning experience and excellent story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Life-changing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seems like a short visit to heaven, and a long recovery, of which seemed more of a "poor me" cry than much else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago